We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On approach to the Old Fort Hotel, I was struck immediately by the two pillars at the entrance. Vacationing with kids, an educational opportunity arose. I pointed that atop the pillars were canon balls! This is what's striking, what I appreciate about this property, the history! The entire property is rustic in nature with many interesting architectural details. This also... More 

Helpful?
Thank SewKiran
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at Port Elizabeth by ferry from Kingston, 50 min crossing to be met by Lennus and driven to The Old Fort. It was just on sunset and the drive up the winding road to our accommodation was very interesting until we arrived at the old building itself. The position and the view was spectacular, quite isolated and charming.... More 

Helpful?
Thank tallowbeach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

I stayed at Old Fort June 3-5, 2016 and it was great. I appreciate the sincere charm of King and his staff. The food was great and the property clean and cozy. Lennis is very pleasant and hospitable. I look forward to my next stay.

Helpful?
Thank Terri H
st helens, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We visited the Old Fort for lunch and were blown away by the setting & the food. It’s only a 10 min drive from Port Elizabeth up Mt.Pleasant but is a world away and a great spot to relax & unwind. Our table overlooked the spectacular pool, with views over other Grenadine Islands beyond such as Mustique…..and the cool breeze... More 

Helpful?
Thank smullys
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Dearest Quirin, I would like to thank you and you staff for such an unforgetable stay with you all. Your hospitality truly made me feel like family. I tavel quite a bit and have travelled throughout the Caribean extensively and the Old Fort charm was everything I was looking for. First of all I would like to thank you for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benjie G
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest,  Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.   We have a great team here at the Old... More 

Salcombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

My wife and I booked The Old Fort, after looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were travelling the Caribbean for 6 weeks starting in St.Lucia, and then moving onto Bequia, we booked The Old Fort for a 3 week stay , we have been to Bequia before and really enjoyed the island, so really looked forward to returning.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Simon P
TheOldFort, Owner at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you for your review which we sincerely appreciate. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you would have liked, which is very disappointing to us, as we always try to offer all our guests the best experience possible. The reviews and recognitions the Old Fort has received over the years stand... More 

Bradford West Gwillimbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at The Old Fort for 4 glorious days. I wish I could have stayed longer but it was booked up during our Christmas stay In Bequia. We have been to the island many times and it is by far my most favorite destination on earth. The Old Fort staff were very accommodating and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy S
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest,  Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.   We have a great team here at the Old... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

My husband and I had dinner recently at the Old Fort. The historic hotel has a spectacular setting overlooking the sea and other islands. The food was great, the service excellent. Quirin and his staff should be congratulated. It is a perfect place for a privat get away. Quirin and Sharon, also arranged, through Blue Grenadines, a private charter for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzy G
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Based on tripadvisor reviews and hotel photos, I had high expectations for Old Fort. I visited Bequia in March 2016 for 5 days. I was in the Honey room and at first, I was neither here nor there with the accommodations. My disappointment stemmed from things advertised that were not provided: high speed internet - we were barely even able... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marenne M
TheOldFort, Owner at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review which we sincerely appreciate. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you would have liked, which is very disappointing to us, as we always try to offer all our guests the best experience possible. The two reviews your group left about a month after leaving have indeed... More 

Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

Been island hoping and heard that Bequia is one of the newest chick islands in the Caribbean to visit. A friend of mine from London said that I should definitely stay at The Old Fort, Historic Plantation in Mt. Pleasant. At first I was a bit reluctant due to the fact that it is located a small distance from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzalo M
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest,  Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.   We have a great team here at the Old... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 18 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
9.5 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate is the only fully restored historic plantation in St. Vincent and the Grenadines dating back to the eighteenth-century when the French first started settling the West Indies. Set high atop Mt. Pleasant with an estate that stretches over 28 acres all the way down to the Caribbean Sea, it features acres of orchards and views to beat anything you would find out on the open ocean. Its lush grounds are covered in traveller's palms, breadfruit, tamarind, banana and mango trees, surrounding one of the most beautiful pools in the world, happily slip sliding its watery way over the edge. Recommended over years by numerous international media, it has been transformed into the kind of hotel you never want to leave! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate

Address: Historic Estate, Mount Pleasant, Bequia (Formerly Old Fort Country Inn)
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay