We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 704: English reviews
Start your review of VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived and was slightly "scared". Exterior does not look very appealing. Rooms are not ordinarily ready until 2pm so word of warning if you have an early flight - we were lucky as our rooms had just been finished so were ready. ROOMS - Ours was quite spacious with 2 good sized beds - as mentioned in other reports they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katie12065
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Katie First of all we want to thank you, for taking your time to value us. We are pleased to know that upon arrival you will find your room ready. We make every effort to meet the expectations of our customers. We inform you that Snaks of the all inclusive system is served at different times of breakfast, lunch...

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel fine but needs a revamp def not 4 stars, food and drink ok. TV very limited and old fashioned. Pool area reasonable although rowdy behaviour is not controlled. Receptionist likes to make advances to the men so wives and girlfriends beware . On complaining nothing was done . Not a very nice experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo f
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Jo F, We want to thank you for taking the trouble to appreciate us again. We take our customers' comments very seriously to ciberrir all expectations. Referring to the comments of the reception department, we have informed. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and drinks. The Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol team is made...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I wouldn't describe this as a 4* hotel no room service and very basic. Good location but wouldn't stay there again. Staff friendly breakfast ok but had better. The pool area isn't very nice especially for a hotel with this rating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah B
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, We want to thank you for taking the time to value us. The comments of our customers are fundamental to meet your expectations. We will take note of your suggestions. The team of Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol works daily so that all our clients leave with an unforgettable experience. We will comment your suggestions with the...

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was hands down the WORST establishment I EVER set foot it. Filthy rooms, ridiculously old and faded bedsheets, RUDE STAFF and the 'pool view' I requested turned out to be what I affectionately name the 'rat sewer'. When I went to ring to complain the phone in the room wasn't working(surprise surprise) and when I went to the counter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louiselannin
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Louise Lannin, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate us. We regret that we have not met your expectations. We will comment your suggestions with the different departments. The team Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol works daily to cover all the expectations of our customers. We hope you had a...

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were very clean and lovely views of the beach.The rooms could be updated but are very comfortable and spacious,lovely bathroom with shower and bath.Nice pool area with a bar and plenty of sunbeds. The food is typical buffet style,not very exciting and sometimes not very hot.Had a very enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qlinda
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Linda We want to thank you for taking your time to value us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location, professionalism of our staff and our facilities. For the team Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is very rewarding. We hope you had a good comeback and we want to see you...

Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

THis is a great place to stay whislt visiting La Cala. Location is everything. So close to the beach, bars and restaurant. The rooms are quite nice although there was no kettles in the rooms meaning that you couldn't make tea/coffee. Bit disappointing for that. Also the breakfasts were good but I wouldn't advise the evening buffett. Some of the...

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenSkull
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Benskull, We sincerely appreciate your rating and the time you have spent to value us so positively. Certainly, our obsession is to meet the needs and expectations of our customers. We will communicate to all our team Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol your satisfaction. We are sure that this will cheer, encourage and motivate in order to...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean rooms but very tired, dated and poorly equipped. The hotel claims four star status but does not provide kettle, iron, ironing board in the room. Furniture is dated and old, tv from the ark with very pooor choice of viewing. Food is really bad. Don't go inclusive! It is better to take a short walk into La Cala and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen M
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, We want to thank you for taking your time to value us. We have kettles at the reception, on request and deposit. We also have laundry service. For security reasons we do not have irons or ironing boards in the rooms, but we will take note of the comments. The comments of our customers are very important to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

sleep at all bathroom plug broken bath very small big enough for a child and as for the soap 1nch by 1inch what else can you say the food breakfast the same day after day evening meals bland the same night after night i woundnt reccomend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, We want to thank you for taking your time to value us. For the team Vik Gran Hotel Costa is very important the comments from customers to meet all expectations. We regret that we did not cover yours. We will take note of your comments and the links to the kitchen department. We hope you had a good...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for a long week end and although facilities comfortable they are rather faded and perhaps a make over is required; plentiful food and drink and apart from one of the staff most very pleasant however Ladies beware one of the receptionists at this particular hotel likes to be rather families with husbands/boyfriends - I was not amused at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlf186273
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us. For the team Vik Gran Hotel Costa is very important the comments from customers to meet all expectations. We are pleased to know that the restaurant buffet has been on the heights. Regarding the comments from the reception department, we regret what happened. Our staff is very professional. We...

Marple
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I shall not be returning to this hotel by choice: The hotel is very dated and in need of a makeover The rooftop illuminated hotel neon lights have letters missing Parts of the car park surface are cracked and broken Large coaches drop off at the bakery opposite the hotel(excellent pastries) but is then about 100yard walk with cases down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Maxted
TeamVIKGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review

Dear Alan, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate us. We take the comments of our customers very seriously, to be able to cover all your expectations. We regret that it was not so. We will take note of everything you have said and tell the different departments. We compalce to know...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

604 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (421)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (189)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard (18)
Viewed
Suite (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 72 in Torremolinos
3,125 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#27 of 72 in Torremolinos
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
88 reviews
14.4 mi away
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
Marconfort Beach Club Hotel
#26 of 72 in Torremolinos
2,993 reviews
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Price Range: $65 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol staff and other travelers.
112 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (112)

Questions? Get answers from VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room 205 on 2nd floor cool late afternoon - views over residential area & "river/sea inlet" - not the best - but we could see the sea”
katie12065, 4 days ago | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
jof893, 6 days ago | Read review
“sea view from the balcony”
qlinda, 1 week ago | Read review
“Needs reclassifying this is not a four star hotel!”
J5889PCstephenm, 1 week ago | Read review
“they advertise a sea view and charge you extra but every room seems to have a sea view so why charge extra”
Q1081FJstephenb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
travelup.com
* /night
View Deal
Elvoline$88
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates