We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Cancelon$145*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$286*
$145*
Great Deal
$169*
$169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 279: English reviews
Monteverde
Reviewed February 23, 2017

We stayed 5 nights & received a special discount that made this place even more of a great deal. The former monastery is part of Portugal's "pousada" system which adaptively reuses historic landmarks as hotels. This one on the outskirts of Guimaraes is typical-- wonderful setting, great staff, very nice rooms, and a fantastic breakfast included! Beautiful gardens too ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotty23
Maria S, Diretor-Geral at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for the time available in completing the questionnaire. We were delighted to read the kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team and their services as our facilities provided by the Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães. We pride ourselves on our product and we work daily to achieve the lawful expectations of our...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Stayed for one night in Feb and could not have been any happier. The staff are friendly and the room and hotel were just perfect. We spend ages just exploring the many public rooms and marvelling at the surroundings. Don't forget to explore the gardens as well and find the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Maria S, Diretor-Geral at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Washougal, Washington
Reviewed February 11, 2017

The town has lots to offer--a castle, a palace, nice shopping and eating areas--a car would be needed to get from the Pousada to the main part of town. BUT, it is an elegant property with a huge garden and forested area behind the building. The hallway of rooms is as long as a football field, and there are many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drkiki2015
Maria S, Diretor-Geral at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 1, 2017

The Pousada itself is beautiful- lovely garden, pool etc. The building is vast. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. However, the bar was not open when we went for drinks which was disappointing at the end of a day sightseeing. On our second night we bought wine and had drinks on the balcony at the end of the building overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherjanice
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all your expectations. We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, The Management

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 17, 2017

This was the first stop in our Saga tour 'Postcards from Portugal' and was a scary drive to the top of a hill. The hotel is a former monastery so was very beautiful and well maintained. The lounges were very well appointed but the rooms were either modern 'cell' refurbishments which were tiny and along a very long corridor or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DuchessofJericho
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all your expectations. We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, The Management

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We were travelling through Douro Valley and had stayed in a very modern hotel , then a lovely traditional family hotel and finally this a Pousada. We chose it because of its history and location to Guimares old city and the cable car. It really is the most beautiful old building with beautiful formal gardens. The desk staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megeenmurray
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you! We were delighted to read the kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team and their services as our facilities provided by the Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães. We pride ourselves on our product and we work daily to achieve the lawful expectations of our guests, so it pleases us to...

Reviewed December 27, 2016

Almost everything was excellent. We had a lovely room at the front in the modern section of the hotel. The room was spacious and had a large window with a view. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was adequate but not spectacular, gardens were beautiful and defiantly worth a look. The large lounge area had an inviting open fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pammelb
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Sta. Marinha and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously and we hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes.

Hendaye, France
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Everything was just perfect, the historical building can be a destination on its own. There are many corners inside the building where you can just sit and relax or read and it feels like walking through a museum. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly with an excellent knowledge of English. The rooms are the former monk cells, and include...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helmut F
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed staying at Pousadas de Portugal. We would love to welcome you again, Kind Regards

Reviewed November 15, 2016

This is a remarkable place to stay. Together, the grounds and the pousada are vast. Everywhere you have the impression of being rather lost in huge spaces and high ceilings. Nevertheless, it is a human space, brilliantly remodeled with a perfect harmony between history and a large degree of modernity and comfort. The grounds were certainly magnificent in their time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Belfast, Maine
Reviewed November 5, 2016

We truly loved our stay at the pousada, and wouldn't have changed a thing. The beauty extends far past the monastery itself. Stroll through the gardens and along the pathways to experience peace and tranquility. Our dining experiences were exceptional, and the staff was flawless in their attention to detail. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregszumilas
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

We were delighted to read the kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team and their services as our facilities provided by the Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães. We pride ourselves on our product and we work daily to achieve the lawful expectations of our guests, so it pleases us to know that we were able to provide a...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

791 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (748)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (280)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (273)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guimaraes
0.8 mi away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
#9 of 19 in Guimaraes
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Toural
Hotel Toural
#5 of 19 in Guimaraes
255 reviews
10.0 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the city of Guimaraes, the Culture Capital of Europe 2012, you find the majestic Pousada de Santa Marinha, National Award of Architecture in 1985. The Pousada is a result of the restoration of the Monastery dos Agostinhos from the twelfth century. It is around 2 km from the historical centre of the city (classified as a Heritage Site by UNESCO). The Pousada de Santa Marinha is a fantastic escape, where tranquillity is an absolute certainty. Possessing a magnificent view of Guimaraes and considered the cradle city a cultural capital in 2012, where the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques was born. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool or take walks through the scenic gardens of the Pousada or through the mountains of the historical city of Guimaraes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Address: Largo Domingos Leite Castro | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Price Range: $120 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the newer section has bigger rooms”
600dougp, 1 week ago | Read review
“The rooms in the old part where the monks lived in earlier times are the most charming ones.”
546ErikR, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“If you can, make sure to ask for the junior suit. It is really spacious and quite beautiful!”
laureanoc2017, Apr 19, 2017 | Read review
“Inquire about larger rooms if desired”
DavidB90744, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front have better views. Rooms to the back yard are more quiet”
SalvadorC423, Mar 26, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Cancelon
$145* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$169
Booking.com$169
AMOMA$286
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates