We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Hendaye, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was just perfect, the historical building can be a destination on its own. There are many corners inside the building where you can just sit and relax or read and it feels like walking through a museum. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly with an excellent knowledge of English. The rooms are the former monk cells, and include...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helmut F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a remarkable place to stay. Together, the grounds and the pousada are vast. Everywhere you have the impression of being rather lost in huge spaces and high ceilings. Nevertheless, it is a human space, brilliantly remodeled with a perfect harmony between history and a large degree of modernity and comfort. The grounds were certainly magnificent in their time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Belfast, Maine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We truly loved our stay at the pousada, and wouldn't have changed a thing. The beauty extends far past the monastery itself. Stroll through the gardens and along the pathways to experience peace and tranquility. Our dining experiences were exceptional, and the staff was flawless in their attention to detail. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregszumilas
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

We were delighted to read the kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team and their services as our facilities provided by the Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães. We pride ourselves on our product and we work daily to achieve the lawful expectations of our guests, so it pleases us to know that we were able to provide a...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is also listed as the pousada mosterio when you are booking. We were very glad we had google maps to find this place as it entailed some narrow one way streets located outside the downtown centre of Guimaraes. Beautiful gardens and pool, great view over the city, huge public rooms with antiques. Actual bedroom (a superior room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães and for taking the time to post this review. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Up a windy road sits a magnificent monastery.The cloister adjoins a church and behind ,a sprawling garden with woods beyond. The views are superb. The pousada belongs to a chain and, thanks to lots of money and some clever architects,it is a good hotel. The rooms in the old wing really are cells, double cells as the walls have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fkm20142014
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Montreal
Reviewed October 23, 2016

The hotel setting is great historic building with amazing gardens. Breakfast was good. Didn't took dinner there since we found it expansive so we drove in town. The only downside for me was getting there. It's a bit tricky, with a uphill drive through narrow roads and sharp turns. I would strongly advice to get familiar with google before going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martfw20
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães and for taking the time to post this review. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management

Reviewed October 20, 2016

Guimarães is a great place to visit! The hotel is an average hotel, with a great location, nice stuff, clean and children friendly. Price is also good. I would stay there again. Right beside, there is a meat restaurant called Migas, worth a visit!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renata R
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and treated ourselves to a suite. The addition of a small lounge was wonderful when other friends joined us for a pre dinner drink. There are however many places in this wonderful building to sit so it was an indulgence. The grounds are lovely and there is plenty of parking. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães and for taking the time to post this review. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management

us
Reviewed October 16, 2016

wonderful old historic building...soaring ceilings, opulent furnishings, generous breakfast and great dining...lovely grounds near a charming old downtown and reasonably accessible to the Douro Valley wine district

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvlr09
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed staying at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães. We would love to welcome you again, Kind Regards

Allen, Texas
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Guimaraes is the birthplace of Portugal and has a tremendous amount of history. This Pousada is a former monastery and attached to a church. The main areas of the hotel are beautifully appointed. Blue and white ceramic Portuguese tile can be found throughout the building. During the winter, you have to go to the cocktail lounge and have your favorite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to know you had a pleasant stay in Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães, located at one of the most historical cities in Portugal, being considered the birthplace of Portugal, as you well said. Thank you very much for your nice regards on the staff, the room, the view and the breakfast service. We hope you were...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

708 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (665)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (235)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (245)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guimaraes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#2 of 18 in Guimaraes
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#4 of 18 in Guimaraes
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#3 of 18 in Guimaraes
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Toural
Hotel Toural
#5 of 18 in Guimaraes
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
#8 of 18 in Guimaraes
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Guimaraes
Ibis Guimaraes
#9 of 18 in Guimaraes
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the city of Guimaraes, the Culture Capital of Europe 2012, you find the majestic Pousada de Santa Marinha, National Award of Architecture in 1985. The Pousada is a result of the restoration of the Monastery dos Agostinhos from the twelfth century. It is around 2 km from the historical centre of the city (classified as a Heritage Site by UNESCO). The Pousada de Santa Marinha is a fantastic escape, where tranquillity is an absolute certainty. Possessing a magnificent view of Guimaraes and considered the cradle city a cultural capital in 2012, where the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques was born. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool or take walks through the scenic gardens of the Pousada or through the mountains of the historical city of Guimaraes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Address: Largo Domingos Leite Castro | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Price Range: $90 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Torrance, California
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There is a modern wing where tour groups stay but it lacks the charm of the older portions of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 528denisee, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The rooms in the old part of the building have lots of atmosphere and good views”
 of 5 bubbles Fkm20142014, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“I would request a room facing the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles robhW6714ED, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are small but our superior historic room had great views and was near to a large terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles Geoffmount, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“The old part is a unique experience.”
 of 5 bubbles janice390, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay