We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Golden Residence

Show Prices
#25 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Golden Residence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golden Residence
See the most recent reviews
Showing 433: English reviews
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed May 16, 2015

Positive: Good looking hotel, new and modern. Good staff, helpful. Maintenance replaced our broken fridge in 15 minutes. Location near Forum Madeira with Pingo Doce food market, 5min walk. Nice 45min coastal walk to the Funchal. Beautiful and well kept garden. Nice view to the sea and Praia Formosa beach from the garden and our room. In our C block...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Henesuo
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your review regarding your experience at the Golden Residence Hotel. We were sorry to know that you were not very happy with our breakfast, however, we would rather prefer you had presented your complaint while still staying with us, because then we would have had the possibility to take action according with your dissatisfactions....

Warnsveld, The Netherlands
Reviewed May 8, 2015

The Golden Residence is a weird hotel. Rooms are good but bare. No pictures, small balcony, no coffee machine, small pool. Staff very businesslike. No change of room possible. Seaview actually only in Block C uneven numbers. Loud noises at night round Block A and B. If you want something extra, please pay!! Fresh orange juice T breakfast? € 4,50....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Harry S
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

We would like thank you for your comment, which has deserved our best attention. Concerning our swimming pools, they are 15m x 5.50m (inside pool) and 20m x 6.20m (outside pool), which are considered as good sizes. About our Staff, we were really surprised with your comments, as the majority of Hotel’s guest’s feedback about our team is very positive....

sheffield
Reviewed May 5, 2015

The hotel is beautiful and our room was superb. We were given an upgrade to a suite which was absolutely lovely plus we had fabulous ocean views Staff were really helpful especially the young man on reception who was kind, helpful and gave us good advice We used the spa twice. It is lovely but is only free between 1700...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cazSheffield
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. Definitely it was a great pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable time in our Hotel. Please be sure that we’ll always keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of...

Reviewed May 5, 2015

I spent three nights at this lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, most of them were multilingual too. The room was clean and spacious (I was upgraded to a suite. The fitness and pool facilities were top notch too perhaps I didn't make the most of this while I was there. The hotel is also a 15...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nnamdi U
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers we were very happy to acknowledge your experiences about our services and facilities. We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and extraordinary moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 4, 2015

Very friendly hotel. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. On arrival advised that we had been upgraded to a suit. This consisted of a small kitchen, behind cupboard doors, a dining table and a sofa and a seperate bedroom with a wet room. All very clean, however we never used the kitchen facilities. This was in block A, which over looked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shropshire1973
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers we were very happy to acknowledge your experiences about our services and facilities. Our guest’s opinions are always most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve. Sincerely hoping that you consider our Hotel for your next holidays, we remain wishing you best regards. Best regards,...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 19, 2015

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol L
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed April 18, 2015

Well situated in a quiet part of the Lido walk of Funchal. Efficient and pleasant staff, well equipped and superbly cleaned surroundings. Beautiful view from grounds (and balconies) of building C. This island is a place to visit again and again. The landscape, vegetation and the friendliness of the inhabitants is far superior to the Canary Islands. For those of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank botanikus
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having chosen the Golden Residence Hotel for your stay in Madeira. Your compliments towards our hotel as well as towards our team and hotel standards of service were very much appreciated by all of us. It is always a great pleasure for us to have the opportunity to provide positive and memorable experiences to our...

london
Reviewed April 12, 2015

We were advised we had been upgraded to a room with kitchen etc. This was fine with us as one day we had lunch in the room. It was block A which is the furthest from the pool, reception but it was ok. We had a view of the sea and a banana field. It also had access directly to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank colcall
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel. We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and extraordinary moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira! On behalf of the...

Reviewed April 10, 2015

Really enjoyed our stay in Golden Residence. The pool was nice, the room was very clean. We got upgraded so we got a nice living area with small kitchen!!! But no wifi at our room is slightly annoying. Over all very good hotel, but perhaps it can be improved.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chihyin H
arcilia, Gerente geral at Golden Residence, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which are most valued to us, it is very important for us that you know that our guests opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve as our main goal is to let our Guests feel how special they are to us. Kindly note that all throughout our...

Vigo, Spain
Reviewed April 9, 2015

Positive: The hotel has a good location, good and modern facilities that I would emphasize as positive aspects as well as cleaning. The room was very neat and it was perfectly cleaned daily. The common areas are great. This is a new area with Madeira Forum shopping center within walking distance and all kinds of services nearby and good communications...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Gzalogg
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,004 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (624)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (134)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (74)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (248)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (321)
Viewed
Amenities (100)
Viewed
Apartment (36)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (14)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard Room (17)
Viewed
Suite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 86 in Funchal
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 86 in Funchal
321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $66 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Golden Residence staff and other travelers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Residence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The room was very good”
 of 5 bubbles 554kjellh, yesterday | Read review
“Lovely view on floor 6, spectacular scenery over the bay, especially at night.”
 of 5 bubbles msj2016, 3 days ago | Read review
“Suites are very roomy”
 of 5 bubbles ajjohnston1956, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Block A has the larger rooms. Block C has the best room locations”
 of 5 bubbles 723MikeF, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Suites are large and roomy”
 of 5 bubbles 761elaine, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay