We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Gardens

Orbitz.com$392*
View Deal
#35 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
06/05/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
Panoramas (28)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Gardens
 Click to rate
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

A excellent Hotel. Spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 102. No road noise at all and spectacular views. The room had a daily maid service and towel change.Courtesy bus into Funchal ideal , so was the local No.39 bus which stopped directly outside. Definitely not a hotel too far. Although, fully booked the hotel seemed empty during the day, Used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JONES709
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

What an amazing hotel, spotless, staff were extremely helpful and friendly, we couldn't fault it. Nothing was too much trouble. Courtesy bus ran to Funchal 2x daily, but local buses were also frequent and inexpensive. Have not visited Madeira before but will certainly come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina44110
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First and foremost, this is a quality hotel from top to bottom. It was spotless and all public and room areas were of a high standard. The rooftop pool, gardens and public areas are really excellent and the hotel never felt busy. The views of Funchal bay are amazing and all rooms get a sea view with some getting a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
Ocean G, Front Office Manager at Ocean Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your reviews and detailed comments

Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is spotlessly clean. The rooms are all sea facing but as the hotel is so close to the road noise can be a problem. The Staff are efficient and very friendly. The gardens are beautiful. However, although only a ten minute drive out of Funchal town and the Hotel provides a courtesy bus twice a day, plus the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Ocean G, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your words, we have taken note of your comments and we hope to see you soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 14, 2017

The Hotel accommodation was spotless everywhere. The only real gripe was the lack of Tea and Coffee available in the room. I would expect this in a four star hotel and as the weather was raining for most of the week it was a sorely missed item in the room. I admit that you can get coffee in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SherrySaunders
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 27, 2017

What a wonderful little hotel this is. Sat on the side of the hill the views of Funchal from all of the public areas are stunning. Each room has a Ocean view with sun on the balcony for most of the day. Rooms are a good standard and the whole hotel spotlessly clean and well maintained. All the staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank branstonimp
Blackpool, U.K.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

This hotel is situated on a cliff 10 - 15 mins drive to Funchal. We got a bus pass for 16 euros 17 c for 5 days, the bus stops right outside the hotel. There is no pavement to walk on outside the hotel therefore a car or bus is needed to be transported safely to any location. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank biddyblackpool
suffolk
Reviewed February 20, 2017

This hotel has a lot going for it. It has a lovely position. Far enough, but not too far from the city centre. A €2:20 bus fare away. The rooms are clean and stylish. The pool and gardens are fabulous and well-kept. Ok, there is no jacuzzi when one is advertised and the sauna didn't work. Telly also was hopeless...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank swergis
Ocean G, Gestor de Front Office at Ocean Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We constantly work on improving our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, your feedback, positive or negative, helps us to see our product through the eyes of our guests and is highly valuable to us. The sadder I am to hear that you did not like the breakfast buffet provided in the Restaurant...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 15, 2017

This hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean. We were delighted to find an ocean view from our room and stunning views from the lounge and pool areas. The pool looked so inviting although being February we didn't have the nerve to try it out. The breakfast was superb with an amazing choice. The staff were excellent. The adjoining restaurant had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveWassall
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here five nights while visiting the island. The hotel was very clean, the room is very good size and has a balcony that looks out onto the ocean. The higher floors will have a better view than the lower ones. The pool on the top floor has a great view of Funchal. The hotel does have a shuttle that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dylan L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

600 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (349)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (199)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Twin Room with Bay View (26)
Viewed
Twin Room with Sea View (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
06/05/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
3.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 86 in Funchal
525 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
407 reviews
4.0 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
452 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,836 reviews
3.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ocean Gardens Hotel with a privileged location on the top of a cliff, offers amazing ocean views and views to the Bay of Funchal. This charming Hotel, offers to its guests comfort and well-being in a welcoming and familiar atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Rua Conde Carvalhal 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $68 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#33 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ocean Gardens staff and other travelers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There are only two floors with rooms. The majority face the sea with some facing the sea and Funchal bay (west side). All have great views.”
14derekr, 6 days ago | Read review
“All room have Ocean view”
branstonimp, Feb 27, 2017 | Read review
“A room on the 2nd floor over reception would have a better view”
biddyblackpool, Feb 21, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are lovely”
swergis, Feb 20, 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have ocean view, some not accessible by the 2 lifts”
W3900ACstephenh, Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Orbitz.com
$392* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$392
Travelocity$392
Hotwire.com$392
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates