We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dorisol Buganvilia

Cancelon$53*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$60*
$53*
Great Deal
$58*
$58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Dorisol Buganvilia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 187: English reviews
Start your review of Dorisol Buganvilia
 Click to rate
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We cannot fault the Dorisol. We know it's basic, no frills accommodation, but that suits us. We've stayed at the Savoy Gardens and Pestana Grand (both of which are lovely), but we like the freedom and flexibility of the Dorisol, with the studio layout, including mini kitchen. The views we had from our balcony were priceless - we could see...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank susanhancock2013
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for such a positive review of our Hotel Dorisol Buganvilia! We highly value our repeat guests, and can not wait to welcome you back again in the near future.

Toronto
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located in Lido and is a short walk from the seaside walk along the coast with a great view of the ocean. It has a swimming pool and a good breakfast full of hot meal, bread, cheese and cereals. The staff are very friendly and helpful.The place is clean and close to bus stops. You can take...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WonderguyToronto
DorisolHotels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review of our Hotel ! We try our hardest to please our guests and are happy to note that you were satisfied with your stay with us. We are very glad to see that you remark our hotel´s swimming pool and the perfect location around. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Merseyside, UK
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have seen some poor reviews of the hotel and have to wonder what some people expect for the price. Yes the building is showing it's age somewhat and is a little 'frayed-round-the-edges', but it is clean, friendly and excellent value. The upper floors (we were on the 10th) have fantastic sea views, the rooms are surprisingly roomy and have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LesLovesGreece
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review of our Hotel Buganvilia! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was good value for the package price we paid. It is up a slight hill but close to good cafes restaurant supermarkets and bus stops into the center. It has free WiFi in a public lounge but you have to pay for your room access. There is an outside pool which was clear and uncrowded. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grey_Friars_Bobby
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Buganvilia! We apologize for not being able to give you your rooms upon your arrival, but we were fully booked and had to wait for clients to check out, in order for the rooms to be cleaned and finally assigned to you. We do our best to accommodate our guests, but when...

west yorkshire
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Very disappointing to say the least . Hotel very dated , one of 3 . Indoor pool being between bottom and middle and main bar lol outside the top one ! Rooms grubby and outdated more for walkers not holidaymakers . The buganvilia is a disgrace to Madeira and I will never ever return there . Food disgraceful and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoothyWestYorkshire
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

We are very sorry to learn that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us! We are a good 3 star hotel and offer many amenities, and we represent very good value for money.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 14, 2017

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Dorisol Burganvillia. Late deal very good price. Our room was 1004 10th floor. The view from this room was absolutely breathtaking we were on the corner and therefore had views of Funchal and also right down the coast on the other side. Every morning the view of the cruise ships approaching...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review of our Hotel Buganvilia! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Just drop us a line with your room request and we will do our utmost. See you soon!

PRESTON
Reviewed April 13, 2017

Maderia - if you like mountains go - if you dont like hills give it a miss. a place more for older couples, the island is fantastic - stunning scenery - bars and restaurants galore, we booked this hotel as a last minute get away for the wifes birthday and were so glad we did. most of the reviews are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David D
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review of our Island and our hotel! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and can´t wait to welcome you back next year!

Wales
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

There are 2 pools available and one indoor pool. Lovely closed in sunbathing area. The staff are friendly and rooms cleaned daily. All clean and tidy every where. Friendly staff. We were on 7th floor west facing overlooking the pool. Very happy with that as could sit on balcony for the late day sun. Wifi only in lounging area by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisgog
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review of our Hotel Buganvilia! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Do not be put off by the negative reviews as we found our stay here to be more than adequate for the price that we paid. We found all the staff to be friendly & the room was cleaned daily with fresh towels.There is a choice of hot or cold breakfast with fresh fruit which again was quite sufficient. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lam2889
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Buganvilia! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

Having embarked on a surprise birthday treat to Maderia for a week to the Dorisol Buganvila i thought it would be useful to give the following review The hotel is located in Funchal and is a short bus ride from the city centre or a good walk depending on your preference. The Hotel itself is one of three that are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 321lmk
Filipa T, Diretor de vendas at Dorisol Buganvilia, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Hotel Buganvilia! Your comments regarding the staff will be passed on to our F&B manager, and are very appreciated. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

222 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (187)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#51 of 86 in Funchal
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#84 of 86 in Funchal
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#72 of 86 in Funchal
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#43 of 86 in Funchal
717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 86 in Funchal
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#63 of 86 in Funchal
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel located close to the promenade. Offers facilities like indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court, spa and wifi. Studio apartments with balcony and kitchenette. Shuttle bus to city center. Restaurante/bar open untill 2 am. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorisol Buganvilia

Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $51 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Buganvilia 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorisol Buganvilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Buganvilia Funchal
Dorisol Buganvilia Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dorisol Buganvilia staff and other travelers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Dorisol Buganvilia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms on ground floor near the elevator, it has a lounge where people access the wifi for free and chat and it can be noisy.”
WonderguyToronto, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher the floor better the view”
LindaW283, Apr 14, 2017 | Read review
“the higher the room the better the view.”
176DavidD, Apr 13, 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better”
lam2889, Apr 10, 2017 | Read review
“High rooms have sea views”
diane4kent, Apr 9, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Cancelon
$53* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$58
Hotels.com$58
Booking.com$60
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates