We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Residence

Save
Share
Rua Gorgulho 2, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$154
Travelocity$154
Prestigia.com$158
Orbitz.com$154
CheapTickets$154
Tripadvisor$154
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (549)
Room & Suite (281)
Dining (214)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 98 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Hammam
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German, Portuguese
1056Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 883
  • 136
  • 23
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John S wrote a review Jun 8
Brighton, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Porto Mare Hotels offered excellent facilities and had a lovely feel. The room and facilities were excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Especially two (man and woman) working on Saturday night that helped us with our covid requirements to fly. We will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cláudia Bettencourt, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence
Responded yesterday
Dear John S, First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback and preference in Portobay Hotels and Resorts! We are glad to know that you had enjoyed our hotel's facilities and especially your room! It is very gratifying to read such a lovely comment, as it recognizes our Team's effort in providing the best service in order for you to feel absolutely relaxed and glad to be with us! We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future! Best Regards, Cláudia Bettencourt, Guest Relations Team
Read more
Avril Middleton wrote a review May 2021
Wolsingham, United Kingdom3 contributions
We arrived at The Porto Bay Residence on the 6th of December 2020 for what we thought would be an 11 week holiday, in fact, we stayed for 24 weeks, this entirely due to the on-goung Covid pandemic situation. Airlines decided to withdraw flights back to the U.K until further notice, then the U.K. government decided that any persons traveling back to the U.K would have to quarantine for 10 days in a hotel of their choice at our expense £2,350 or thereabouts, at that point we decided that we preferred to stay where we were. This is where Porto Bay Group really showed what a caring & compassionate company they are, they came to ours & other guests assistance when kindness & understanding of our situation was required, all members of staff deserve to be congratulated for their kind & caring devotion to ensuring our extended stay was as comfortable & stress free. Mum to Obrigado to Alex, Luis ,Suzano,Sylvia,Pedro, Cecelia, Sophia,Mary,Carlos,Fernando,Paulo,Dina,Zeta,Fatima,Maria,Rosario, Clare,Sabine, John, Steve, & everyone else who made our stay MEMORABLE!!!! James & Avril Middleton.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: All rooms have excellent facilities
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cláudia Bettencourt, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Middleton, First of all, we would like to let you know that it was a real pleasure to welcome you for 24 weeks at our Resort Vila Porto Mare! We hope you have felt at Home, even though you were far from yours. It is with great pleasure that we read your words of appreciation, which reflects the commitment and dedication of the entire Team in doing everything possible to provide a wonderful stay, in a pleasant and safe environment and a memorable experience! For this reason, we would also like to thank you for your kind words towards our entire Team and so we will make sure we will forward your feedback to them! We really look forward to welcoming you back for what we hope will be another memorable experience at our Hotel! Warm Regards, Cláudia Bettencourt, Guest Relations Team.
Read more
Checker51 wrote a review May 2021
Southwold136 contributions54 helpful votes
Just left our beautiful apartment after a week in heaven. We were on the first flight from Gatwick All very easy no problems, at Gatwick or Funchal If your looking for a special place to enjoy your holiday this is the place to come.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandre Esnarriaga, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Residence
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Checker51, Many thanks for sharing your experience with the travelers’ community. Feedback like yours are very helpful at these times when travelers are not so sure where to enjoy a safe and pleasant holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again. With best regards, Alex Esnarriaga Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Ágnes V wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
Excellent location, professional staff, great hotel services. Restaurants (especially the italian one) are outstanding! Next to the beach. Happy hours in the afternoon is fun! Would recommend to families, couples or friends. Only cats are a bit noisy nighttime :-)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Cláudia Bettencourt, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Connector554031, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your fantastic feedback! We are glad to hear that the Hotel's facilities, our Team's service and the location were the perfect recipe for a well-enjoyed holiday! We are also pleased to know that our restaurant options had pleased you and therefore we hope that they have contributed to delicious meals and lovely moments. We look forward to welcome you back to The Residence Hotel, perhaps next time with friends. Warm Regards, Cláudia Bettencourt, Guest Relations Team.
Read more
Matilde wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom138 contributions36 helpful votes
My review is obviously influenced by covid times given we all have to adapt our standards to the current reality. That said, the hotel has beautiful grounds, several pools, gardens and amazing views. The staff is very kind and friendly and the rooms are very spacious. We stayed at the Residence with an ocean view and balcony which was very pleasant. Our room had a small kitchen with all the necessary amenities, including small fridge, pantry, cutlery and dishes, and a stove stop. They provide cleaning products for the dishes as there isn’t a dishwasher (at least in the studios but I think they do I’m bigger rooms). The room itself is a bit outdated as is the hotel overall. The breakfast is ok. A nice variety but a few things that made it disappointing: the fruit isn’t great which was surprising, the eggs are not good (they’re from powder, not fresh), the cheese is sticky and the espresso is paid extra at €2.50 which is a bit of an outrage. However, good choice of pastries and bread. Only one restaurant is open on the premises and it has great Italian food and affordable prices. The staff is very friendly and they also bring it as room service at no extra charge. Overall a very pleasant stay for a full week!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandre Esnarriaga, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The Residence
Responded Apr 13, 2021
Dear mati437, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent visit to us. We are glad to learn that your overall experience was pleasant, however we regret that breakfast left something to be desired. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with the head of F&B department. We thank you for also mentioning Il Basílico, our Italian restaurant as a positive experience. We are currently renovating the rooms at The Residence, and if you have the chance to visit us again in the near future you will feel a touch of freshness in the room. We look forward to welcoming you back again. With best regards, Alexandre Esnarriaga Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
porto mare residence funchal, porto mare residence hotel funchal
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Residence
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Residence
Which popular attractions are close to The Residence?
Nearby attractions include Madeira Mandolin Orchestra (0.3 miles), Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.08 miles), and Jardim Panorâmico (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Residence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Residence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Residence?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Residence?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Residence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, MadMarket, and Sabor da India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Residence?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Residence have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Residence offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Residence?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Residence offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Residence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Portuguese.