We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel

Save
Share
Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
$66
$48
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com$56
Trip.com$66
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (532)
Room & Suite (207)
Pool & Beach (73)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Updated 07/13/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#65 of 98 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Idyllically situated on the hillside in the heart of Madeira’s renowned Lido area and commanding spectacular views of the surroundings from its high vantage point, the 4-star Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel is the perfect destination for a comfortable and relaxing holiday in the magical island of Madeira. Lying a short distance away from the city centre, the hotel has easy access to the popular Lido swimming pools and sea and is surrounded by the selection of shops, restaurants, cafés and bars that abound in this lively area. The nearby coastal Lido promenade, lined with a colourful array of typical Madeira flowers, also provides plenty of opportunity for picturesque strolls along the sea front. Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel provides all the comfort and well-being of a newly refurbished hotel that has earned a solid reputation for welcoming visitors to the island.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Airport transportation
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
1038Reviews59Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 192
  • 423
  • 275
  • 105
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Daniel K wrote a review Nov 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom285 contributions105 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel only for 2 nights and room only but room which we had was good with fantastic views for sunrise , sunset and sea and mountains from balcony (room 1006) .only lack of TV ( there was only small desktop monitor) was strange but I guess they replacing it for new one.good location .close to buses to city centre nr 1 and 2 and one to Monte ( I think 48).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Muthu Raga Hotel. It is our sincere endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience. We will be happy to welcome you again at our Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel. Warm regards Alwyn Vaz
Read more
koko222 wrote a review Nov 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
We had to stay in hotel room as I was awaiting covid 19 test result from test taken at airport (took over ll hours to get negative result confirmed). The hotel would not allow us access to purchase liquid (soft drinks) or purchase food (restaurant open virtually all day to early hours). It was INHUMANE and DISGUSTING. We were gasping after and eventually I had to plead with water. Next day instead of complaining , I wanted to kick-start the holiday (not complaining is often a big mistake). Correspondence with hotel has resulted in long pathetic response. Management at customer service level should be ashamed ! If the treatment wouldhave been humanr, I wouldhave given a better rating. All this over-shadows the friendly helpful ladies (breakfast staff) who were a positive.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback regarding your experience here at Muthu Raga Hotel. Please let me apologise for issues you had to face during your stay with us. I can understand the inconvenience you faced due to the COVID restrictions in place due to current situation on island. I am sure you will agree that government has given clear guidelines for quarantine for all guests who are waiting for test results. As a hotel it's our responsibility to inform all the guests of the guideline and try with our reasonable control to enforce what the health department is expecting. We as hotel staff cannot force a guest, but are obliged to report any break in quarantine. Other hotels do not follow these procedure as they are not really bothered about everyone's health. So, I hope you agree with our viewpoint on the situation. Having said that I sincerely would like to apologise, if you were left with no water. If you would have told the reception about delivering the water to the room, we would have gladly done it complimentary. Our bar has instruction to not serve drinks to guest who have not been cleared by Maderia Safe (i.e. Negative test result). We have clearly mentioned on our website that the hotel is open for Breakfast meal period only and no other meals are served including room service. And the timings of the services were explained to you by the reception staff on arrival. This is done to reduce the interaction and I apologise again if this created inconvenience for you. In regards to the food delivery, if you would have asked our receptionist to call or help you with placing the order, he would have gladly done it for you. I understand that you did not raise the issues while you were at the hotel, but it is virtually impossible for us to rectify anything, unless you would have told us. Just to highlight here that your partner had a negetive test resut which allowed her to access all the facilities in the hotel or even access the restaurants/supermarkets close by to procure your requirements. Mr Koslover, please understand that I am not blaming you for the events of your first day of stay, but just trying to convey the fact that we are following health and safety guidelines provided from the government in order to keep our staff and guest safe. I agree that some of the restrictions are extreme and not expected in hospitality, but this not normal times and safety and security of our staff and guest is paramount. Please be assured that we are not liking this situation either and are hoping that all this is behind us soon. I hope to see you back after the Covid situation is over. Best regards General Manager
Read more
Itony wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
The swimming pool is freezing no one in it very quiet hotel was told by reception staff that this hotel will close on 1st November room has no sink or microwave this is a deluxe would not like to see a normal room will use a different hotel next time
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Muthu Raga Hotel. It is our sincere endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience. There are different categories of rooms available at the hotel. The superior rooms have a microwave and a sink in the room. As you have booked the deluxe room category which does not have these facilities, however on your request we did provide you with an microwave. I would suggest you to please checck the available facilities in each room category in the hotel websites for further clarifications before you make your reservation which would avoid any dissapointment. With regards to your feedback on the heating of swimming pool, I would like to clarify that the swimming pool is temperature controlled between 18-22 degrees from November to March (winter months). The information is available in all the booking websites. Just for your reference, the average daytime temperature in October is 22 degrees. I sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations and assure you best services. We will be happy to welcome you again at our Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel. Warm regards Alwyn Vaz
Read more
Manoliu A wrote a review Oct 2020
Bucharest, Romania4 contributions
Thank you for the lovely 6 nights dinner in Muthu Raga hotel.We enyoyed the cooked lamb, octopus, chicken and beef with tomato sauce made by the chef Mustafa Ibrahim.Lovely thanks from me and the 14 other romanians!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Muthu Raga Hotel. It is our sincere endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience. I have shared your feedback with the chef and he is delighted to recieve this positive feedback. We will be happy to welcome you again at our Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel. Warm regards Alwyn Vaz
Read more
Ioana V wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Me, my husband and our 2 years old boy spent a week in this hotel. Although it has 4 stars, in reality it's very outdated. If you have a disability i would not reccomend this place as you don't have access to get even to the 1st elevator. The same for pushchairs if you don't have someone to help you. However,we checked in without any problems, the person from the reception gave us a kettle when we asked for one, we had a lovely sea view from the 11th floor and we had the pool mostly for ourselves. The water in the pool was always nice and clean. Our room was cleaned every day, we had breakfast included, could choose from different varieties, the coffee wasn't good but that wasn't a huge problem for us. The only problem we had was with laundry service, we didn't had a price list but we were advised to leave all the clothes in a bag on the bed so the cleaning lady can pick it up. We used this service twice to clean all our clothes, to find out later that they charge €3,40 only for a t-short. You have to insist to get a price list. They lost my husband's trousers so we ended up paying only one bill of €32. The big plus i want to mention here is the SPA they have here. There is a Venezuelan lady named Nancy that is doing slimming treatments and the best massage i have ever tried. I will be coming back in Funchal if only just for this massage. She is absolutely amazing, i had a sports deep massage twice and she managed to fix loads if my foot and back problems. I think the hotel doesn't advertise this service enough and this is something you will want to come back to. All in all, nice people around, we had a nice holiday here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel, General Manager at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Muthu Raga Hotel. It is our sincere endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience. I have made a note of your constructive feedback about the laundry and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. We will be happy to welcome you again at our Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel. Warm regards Alwyn Vaz
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$45 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
raga aparthotel funchal, raga aparthotel hotel funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Madeira Mandolin Orchestra (0.3 miles), Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.2 miles), and Jardim Panorâmico (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, MadMarket, and Sabor da India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Raga Madeira Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (1.6 miles), Santa Clara Convent (1.4 miles), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (1.4 miles).