We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Estrada Monumental 335 Prainha do Arieiro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-236 Portugal
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$150
View deal
Trip.com
$117
View deal
Hotels.com$161
eDreams$150
Priceline$150
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (511)
360
Panoramas (14)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Orca Praia Hotel
Updated 08/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#44 of 99 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level

Orca Praia Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Funchal, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with wifi offered by the hotel.

Orca Praia features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and free breakfast. If you are driving to Orca Praia Hotel, free parking is available.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Miradouro Pico Dos Barcelos (2.4 mi) and Holy Trinity Church (2.7 mi), guests of Orca Praia can easily experience some of Funchal's most well known attractions.

If you like Mediterranean restaurants, Orca Praia Hotel is conveniently located near Cris's, Armazem do Sal, and Il Gallo d'Oro.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Praia Formosa Beach Madeira (0.5 mi), which is a popular Funchal attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Funchal!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking garage
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Billiards
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Hammam
Massage
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
602Reviews57Q+A74Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 225
  • 266
  • 79
  • 20
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nicola M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just returned from a 14 night stay, l must say this hotel has amazing sea views, friendly staff, and exceptional clean. We stayed on a B&B basis, the breakfast was ample. The rooms were clean and modern no air conditioning but we just opened the doors and listened to the sea. For dinner we walked to the fishing village Camera de lobos which is about 25 min away there are many lovely restaurants to choose from. Next to the hotel there is a fantastic restaurant called Aconchego great food definitely worth a visit. The hotel offer a shuttle bus to Funchal great service, which we used on a few occasions. Overall great holiday and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurelio Rodrigues, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
alwaysneedsaholiday wrote a review Aug 2021
6 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We had an 8 day stay 17th July , the views from the hotel were amazing, the location of the hotel was brilliant for us , it wasn't in the hustle and bustle of Funchal , the hotel had a free shuttle buses on a morning and early evenings or there is a local bus stop outside the hotel approx 2 euros, it makes access to the town easy. We got a taxi back one night 15 euros. Funchal has many sites ,bars and restaurants to visit. The old town, cable cars and sledging is a must. The long walk into Funchal along the coastal path provided wonderful views, tunnels going through the cliffs are a surprise. In the opposite direction along the coastal path is the fishing village Camara de Lobos takes 20mins walk its quiet and relaxing in the.day and livelier atmosphere at night we loved it lots of local people. Near the hotels are beachfront bars serving a range of foods. The swimming pool is very relaxed overlooking the sea , lots of sunbeds , the pool bar is reasonable, food is good, access to the beach is a bonus which has its own bar that belongs to the hotel. The dinning room and public areas are all Covid safe , temperatures taken,hand sanitiser, masks are worn and regular cleaning can be seen. Breakfast was good very well organised. The bedroom was spotless , cleaned daily and the views were fantastic overlooking the bay. we slept.with the balcony door.open so we could hear the sea so relaxing. I had massage in the Spa ,again very professional and cleaning in between was to a high standard and Covid rules were followed. There are lots of steps and a very steep long slope down to the swimming pool which could be struggle. If you want to book a Covid test and you don't receive a reply from the madeira safe app , give them a ring , so helpful a booking was made very quickly at the local hospital it was free and we.only had to wait a few minutes . You can get free tests in some chemists in Funchal but you need to book your slot as soon as you can. I was nervous about my first trip abroad during Covid but from LBA airport, Jet 2 holidays and the Orca Praira, you made it perfect, so relaxing. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurelio Rodrigues, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded Aug 6, 2021
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
CarolineC wrote a review Aug 2021
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had an amazing time, staff are very efficient and helpful. Food and drinks were lovely. Breakfast was very comprehensive. Rooms with sea view were lovely and the ladies cleaned them thoroughly and regularly. Poolside bar has lovely salads and cocktails! Really easy to get into Funchal, hotel bus free and the bus stop only 1.95€ one way.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurelio Rodrigues, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We inform our dear guests that we are currently renovating our rooms. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, The management
Read more
It’s 5pm somewhere wrote a review Aug 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom16 contributions21 helpful votes
This should have been a great holiday but the hotel let it down. Whilst the hotel was fair and the views magnificent the staff (with exception of the chamber maids) were miserable and in short supply. After months of no tourism you would think they would be happier to be back at work and welcoming guests. We were certainly over the moon to be on holiday. If you’re staying here take cash with you. There’s a €50 deposit for the mini bar and they don’t take credit cards. There’s also a €10 per beach towel deposit. The hotel is literally miles outside of Funchal and it’s about €15-20 for a taxi in to the centre. There are maybe two bars along the walk way from the hotel but one is pretty poor with truly disgusting toilets. The hotel itself is on a steep cliff and the walk back up from the pool is a killer. The pool bar serves food until 3pm but the service is slow and the menu prices out of date. You won’t see much change from €30 for a club sandwich and a couple of beers. The breakfast is ok but nothing special. The restaurant is pretty small for the number of people crammed in there and there’s no terrace but it has cracking views. The only other bar in the hotel is tiny, over priced and again there is nowhere to sit outside. The entertainment leaves a lot to be desired. If you’re hoping the kids can runabout safely whilst you relax with a drink don’t. There’s a mobile DJ two nights a week at the pool but it’s not well attended and lacks atmosphere. Do yourself a favour and stay in town. Save on taxis and soak up the vibe of Funchal. We read the reviews before booking, and the rude replies from the owner!, and usually we write off some of the more damning ones as difficult guests but we should have believed them. The owner clearly shouldn’t be in the tourism business and doesn’t really care about addressing the concerns of unhappy guests. Perhaps his staff are miserable because he has no regard for them either - who knows!! We are well travelled, well educated, pretty laid back and respectful people but there were just too many issues with this hotel to not write a review and warn other people.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurelio Rodrigues, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded Aug 10, 2021
Why do you travel ?
Read more
Bex76250 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I actually don’t know where to begin, we came to this hotel which is beautiful, the view is amazing! The hotel ita self is clean and the food is also great. On day two we went to the restaurant in the hotel as it’s about €20 each way to go into town for food, we are also traveling with a one year old, we preceded to sit down when a member of staff come over and said we haven’t paid for drinks at the pool… we didn’t put anything on our room as we have been carrying cash.. but again they insisted we had got drinks! She wasn’t polite about it she was actually rude and bad mannered. As we were eating she walked passed and slapped the bill on the table before we had even fished our mains! Anyway it gets worse.. the morning after we go for breakfast and 3 members of staff followed me around looking what I was picking up… we come to our room and the house keeping knocks on the door… we said we don’t need it cleaning but she proceeded to barge in the room with or baby fast asleep, opened the mini fridge and removed our items (baby milk, water and my insulin as I’m type one diabetic) slams it shut and locks it?? We asked the reason at reception and they tell us there was an incident the previous day! We have never in our life been treated this way. To make matters worse they wouldn’t help us book our covid test to fly back to the uk so we had to ring around hospitals to sort it our self. We had the fridge open as we had to make a huge complaint and ask what the problem was. We had said we are going to write a review and this didn’t like this so they really opens the fridge but still continue to look at us like we are some prison thugs! If your are young parents with a baby I don’t recommend this hotel as they assume your doing to steal drinks. I wish to think they up their game with manners as I said at the start the hotel is beautiful. Just a shame about the rude staff!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Aurelio Rodrigues, Proprietário at Orca Praia Hotel
Responded Aug 6, 2021
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Aurélio Rodrigues Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel orca praia, orca praia funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Orca Praia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Orca Praia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Praia Formosa Beach Madeira (0.5 miles) and Anjo da Praca da Assicom (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Orca Praia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Orca Praia Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Orca Praia Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Orca Praia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aconchego Restaurante Bar, The Beer Garden, and VIANA Confeitaria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Orca Praia Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Orca Praia Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Orca Praia Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Orca Praia Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Orca Praia Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Orca Praia Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (2.9 miles), Santa Clara Convent (2.7 miles), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (2.8 miles).
Does Orca Praia Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.