We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 431: English reviews
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a weeks stay from Sunday to Sunday . On the Tuesday (9/8/16) night the resort burned down and we were left with no hotel, no contacts, and had to find and finance our own stay for the rest of the week. Expedia where our booking agent and failed to help at every level !!!! Until Tuesday it was lovely.

Helpful?
9 Thank micwaller
Choupana H, Gerente de relações públicas at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Since the incident that our general director, Ricardo Rodrigues has been in contact with you. However your comment on this page, may be misinterpreted by those who read it, so we can not fail to publish the e-mail that our director sent you: Dear Mr. Waller, Firstly, please do accept my apologies for only now reverting to you... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic stay. We came with high expectations we were not disappointed. The staff were excellent, always helpful and polite... nothing too much trouble. Quality of the breakfast and the restaurant was very good and we ended up taking evening meals 5 out of 7 nights in the resort. Facilities were good and pool area always very clean and well maintained.... More 

Helpful?
Thank howwasitforyou
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Choupana Hills for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon on Madeira. Upon arrival we knew we'd made the right choice, the staff were friendly and inviting and the welcome drink was a lovely touch. We were staying in a beautiful sea view room with a lovely balcony and four poster bed! A great and luxurious start to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they made a real effort over my special birthday celebration. The food at the restaurant is fantastic, especially for the evening meal and the views are superb. The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill so it can be a little chilly in the morning... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank snajers
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay .. Friendly staff even the manager himself 👍🏼 quite place suitable for relaxing and couples.. Highly recommended place to stay in Madeira .. Helped us a lot to discover the island and planned lots of activities.......

Helpful?
1 Thank mooza-kh
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our honeymoon at Choupana Hills and couldn't have asked for much more! The hilly setting is perfect and the view from our balcony was stunning. Situated in an excellent location for one of the less ambitious levada walks to Monte, we enjoyed two pleasant walks right on our doorstep. The complimentary shuttlebus to Funchal was fully appreciated, although... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ibasu09
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked at short notice after a short term serious illness meant cancelling other long haul holiday plans. From the outset, the hotel team were very helpful and responsive, lead by their hands-on General Manager, Ricardo.  The hotel is located in a fabulous place with stunning sea/Funchal views from the pool, restaurant, and indeed the balcony of our beatiful room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
chills, Gerente de relações públicas at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comment following the stay at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa. You're right, this is the ideal place to recover from the stress of a year of work or minor illnesses. Our team, led by Director General Ricardo Rodrigues, is always attentive to customer needs, treating each with the deserved individuality. We look forward to... More 

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the most memorable and amazing stay at this place. The location is stunning, away from central Funchal but only 10 minutes drive into town. The views are spectacular. It truly is a special place to wake up every day. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. And the food served in the restaurant was spectacular. Really, really didn't want... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaMaryP
chills, Gerente de relações públicas at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comment following the stay at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa. We were delirious to know that the work we do with so much commitment and dedication is appreciated and valued. You're quite right, there is no better view over Funchal and its bay. We look forward to your next visit. Choupana Hills Resort &... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Had a fantastic week at the Choupana. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very peaceful surroundings.If you are fussy about cleanliness like me then you need not worry at this hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank conrnaz
chills, Gerente de relações públicas at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comment following the stay at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa. It is true, we are also obsessed by cleanliness. Our housekeeper verifies in detail all the rooms once cleaned by the maids. Only then are assigned to clients. We hope your next visit See you soon! Choupana Hills Resort & SPA More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

A lovely hotel up in the clouds so as others have said it can be cooler here than in Funchal. During the week we stayed we had one good day of sunshine, the remainder was overcast and a tad chilly at times. However, this was good for us as we walked the fabulous levadas that run through the hotel grounds.... More 

Helpful?
Thank caravanners12
chills, Gerente de relações públicas at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comment following the stay at Choupana Hills Resort & Spa. You're quite right, there is no better view over Funchal and its bay. Nothing more relaxing then watching, the coming and going of cruise ships at sunset. We look forward to your next visit. Choupana Hills Resort & SPA More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,034 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (693)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (140)
Viewed
View from Room (89)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (240)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Deluxe Bungalow (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Bungalow (55)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite Bungalow (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Sea View Bungalow (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,344 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
Xopana Restaurant
Xopana Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Member of Design Hotels, Choupana Hills is located in Madeira Island Portugal and has one of the most beautiful views over the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled in a botanical garden the hotel provides a unique atmosphere. It's 62 rooms and suites are displayed in bungalows. Some African and Asian influences can be noticed in the unique decoration of this boutique hotel. The SPA has been awarded several times and exceeds the most demanding expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Choupana Hills Resort & Spa

Address: Travessa Largo da Choupana, Funchal, Madeira 9060-348, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $162 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Choupana Hills Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Choupana Hills Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choupana Hills Resort And Spa
Choupana Hills Hotel Funchal
Choupana Hills Resort & Spa Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Business Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay