We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua Gorgulho 2 Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537 Portugal
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!LAST MINUTE DISCOUNT: 10% OFF
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Official Hotel
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1074)
Room & Suite (419)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 98 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence.
Read more
Room & Suite (419)419
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Mini golf
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Squash
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Price:LAST MINUTE DISCOUNT: 10% OFF
1758Reviews105Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,376
  • 332
  • 36
  • 10
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Oliveoyl59 wrote a review Jun 13
Fareham, United Kingdom34 contributions56 helpful votes
We have just got back from a relaxing week at the hotel and I have to say the hotel exceeded our expectations. This was our first visit to the Suite Hotel Eden Mar and our first trip abroad since January 2020. We were made to feel very welcome from check in at Reception and right through our stay. The room was very clean and spacious with a balcony view of the sea. Lovely full size Rituals toiletries in the bathroom which was very nice and a powerful hairdryer. We didn’t use the kitchenette other than the fridge, but there’s a small hot place and microwave which is handy. Breakfast was excellent with so many choices both hot and cold and all the staff were very attentive. The snacks at the Varanda Pool Bar are well worth the money, freshly prepared and tasty. If you like prawns I recommend the shrimp wrap, Happy hour at the Portofino Bar is a must too. We also had a meal at the hotel’s Italian restaurant Il Basilico, and I recommend trying it as again the food was excellent as was the service. There are several pool areas and plenty of sun beds dotted around not just by the pools but overlooking the gardens and again all well maintained and cared for. I will definitely go again as the location is great, with a choice of restaurants nearby and a lovely promenade too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
jill b wrote a review Nov 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom10 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Just had a wonderful week at this amazing hotel, everything was perfect, the indoor pools were fabulous and the gym had some great equipment. The sunbathing areas, sun beds and outdoor pools were fantastic and the outside bar/restaurant had lovely food at lunchtime. The Med Restaurant and the Basilica (Italian Restaurant) which are both within the complex are both excellent restaurants serving delicious food reasonably priced and the wine selection at all the restaurants was very good and also a good price. Everything was immaculately clean and it felt very COVID safe everywhere in the hotel. We upgraded to a Junior Suite and it was really big and spacious for not a lot more money. We will definitely go again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I asked for a sea view when I booked and was delighted to be given one
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cláudia Bettencourt, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Responded Nov 11, 2020
Dear jill b, First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in Portobay Hotels & Resorts and also for your fantastic feedback! We are very pleased to know that the indoor and outdoor pools, the sunbathing areas, the gym, the delicious meal at our Varanda Bar, were really appreciated by you and turned out to be the perfect recipe for a memorable stay, that is worth a 5-star review! Obrigada, it is very gratifying to be recognized! We are also glad to hear that you have enjoyed your meals, both at Med and Il Basílico Restaurant. Our purpose is to provide a true experience, from the service, to the simple wine choice, to a delicious meal and, of course, leading to a memorable moment, where the happiness of our Guests is Queen. It is undoubtedly one of our goals to provide a memorable stay to our Dear Guests, where they feel comfortable, relaxed and safe. That said, we are glad to know that we had fulfilled that goal. We are looking forward to welcome you back! See you soon! Best Regards, Cláudia Bettencourt, Guest Relations Team.
Read more
Tricia N wrote a review Jun 7
Oxford, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
This is such a terrific resort - we had a great week and loved every part of it. The breakfast is amazing, the rooms were a nice size and very clean, and the pool and bars were perfect. We loved the happy hour specials and all the entertainment. The location is excellent and the staff were perfect! Thanks for such a fun week.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandre Esnarriaga, Outro at Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tricia N, We are delighted to learn that you had an amazing family holiday at Vila Porto Mare and that our facilities, location and specially the staff contributed to your complete satisfaction! We truly hope it is not too long until you next visit Madeira. With best regards, Alex Esnarriaga Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Trail142980 wrote a review Jun 7
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom2 contributions
We have compared several hotels on Madeira and this hotel looked quite good in comparison with others. We selected it based on the pools which are important as we went on holidays with a child. Madeira does not have great beaches and most hotels have small pools only. This hotel has a nice large pool plus few smaller ones as well including indoor pools. First of all if you go to Madeira please avoid June. We learned from local people that June on Madeira is, similarly to California a "June gloom", the most cloudy season. The sun came out only occasionally and we had practically only one really sunny day (the day of the departure). The pools were great indeed however the water was not heated. Taking into account that Madeira has a very moderate climate just slightly above 20 degrees, if the clouds are there, the water is too cold to enjoy the pool. The hotel itself in realty does not look as great as in the advert photos. In reality many aspects of the hotel were outdated, carpets or bathrooms looked old. However, it is clean. Our first impression was a disappointment, we paid half of the money for a much much better all inclusive hotel on Crete with weather guaranteed. In the end this hotel was nice and if the weather was sunny we would really enjoy it. We like visiting new places and we don't regret choosing this hotel. The location of the hotel is nice. Near the popular swimming facility Lido (keep in mind there are practically no proper beaches on the island). The hotel advertised they have free shuttle to Funchal but they didn't. The excuse was the Covid of course. However there is a taxi stand next to entrance as well as supermarket. Taxi to Funchal cost 7-9 euro one way, never over 10 euro. There are plenty of restaurants and some shops just outside the entrance. The room we had was spacious with a little kitchen. Great cleaning service. Kind people at the reception. Brilliant spa. In the restaurant, again only one was open, but the buffet offered a great selection of the food. Great quality. Most of the time the service was great. There was only one lady who was unpleasant, I had to ask her for a tea three times, and once she complained that we took too big table, although other waiters usually offered us a larger table themselves. The Covid measures were, like everywhere, a bit funny. In the restaurant there were plenty of arrows on the floor which were contradicting each other, and yet some waiters tried to enforce them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandre Esnarriaga, Outro at Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trail142980, Thank you for taking the time to review Suite Hotel Eden Mar, we appreciate all comments and endeavor to improve our services based on feedback from our customers. The decoration of the Suite Hotel Eden Mar was recently renovated, however we regret that we have not lived up to your expectations in this matter. I am happy to hear that the selection of food at Atlântida was great, but I would like to point out that this was not the only restaurant open in the hotel, as our Italian restaurant Il Basilco has always been open. Please accept our apologies with respect to the service you felt less friendly by a member of our F&B team, we always strive to serve our guests with great courtesy and attention. Lovely to read that the swimming pools and the hotel's location, the kindness of our reception team and the effectiveness of the cleaning team, as well as the spa were to your liking. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. With best regards, Alex Esnarriaga Rooms Division Manager
Read more
barblouise wrote a review Jun 6
Swansea, United Kingdom2 contributions
Booked last minute as original holiday cancelled due to covid regs. Eden Mar did not disappoint, a lovely hotel with beautiful, immaculate gardens, mutilple swimming pools to choose from. Staff take such obvious pride in their surroundings. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Hotel very clean, staff friendly. Covid regulations were followed well and we felt protected and safe. We enjoyed a great stay on a beautiful Island.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandre Esnarriaga, Outro at Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear barblouise, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future. With best regards, Alex Esnarriaga Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suite hotel eden mar, suite hotel funchal, eden mar madeira
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
146
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Which popular attractions are close to Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Nearby attractions include Madeira Mandolin Orchestra (0.2 miles), Hole in One (0.3 miles), and Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, MadMarket, and Sabor da India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Suite Hotel Eden Mar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Suite Hotel Eden Mar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Colégio dos Jesuítas do Funchal (1.6 miles), Santa Clara Convent (1.4 miles), and Blandy's Wine Lodge (1.5 miles).