We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,046: English reviews
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is fantastic, the views and gardens are exceptional. Our room had all the facilities, including double basins in the bathroom. It was a very spacious room with balcony overlooking both the sea, gardens and pools. The hotel staff were friendly, polite and very helpful at all times. We loved the heated indoor pools, Jacuzzis, steam rooms and saunas....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela R
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments. I will share them with our team. It is always good to see you again. Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned to Eden Mar after a gap of two years (stayed at another Porto Bay hotel in between). We needed to recover from a stressful year of severe illness and operations. This is exactly what we achieved after two weeks at the Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed as friends. We had asked for a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doodsllaneilian
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. We have taken note of your suggestions and we will do everything to make your stay even better next time. We hope to enjoy your company soon at a PortoBay hotel. Ana Teresa Matos

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 3rd visit to the Eden Mar in the last 16mths, and I am glad to report it is as good as ever. Great service from all the staff as usual, and standard of the rooms, public spaces and gardens is always immaculate. It seems that although the outdoor pools were a bit too cold for us, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark L
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for the time you spent giving us your opinion of your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel and paid for a seaview. On arrival we were given a room on the ground floor. When you were sat on the balcony the only view we got was off the swimming pool. If you stood up on the balcony you could just make out the seaview. Apart from this we had a good holiday, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL D
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We regret that we did not meet your expectations, and we will take your experience into consideration in future. Our priority is to ensure the total satisfaction of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon, here or at another PortoBay hotel. Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

Lincoln, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

thet best gardens I have ever seen ,stayed, b an b.first class you name it they have it .breakfast was a joy .we eat in the restaurant and had a t bone steak very classy which we liked cooked to perfection ,also you get a free starter .the room was well equipped ,well stocked with soap /shampoo.beds so comfy best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antony2406
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests’ needs. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Ana Teresa Matos

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second stay in this hotel and it certainly won't be our last ! When our timeshare at The Residence ended in 2015 we moved across to the Eden Mar for another week and we have not been disappointed. Fantastic choice at Breakfast, extremely helpful and friendly staff, nothing too much trouble---very impressed by often seeing the Manager...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phwardman
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. See you soon at a PortoBay hotel, Ana Teresa Matos

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely week at Suite Eden Mar booked through Thomsons. We had a spacious mini-apartment on the fourth floor which had a full sized fridge, microwave, sink and mini hob, ideal for preparing the occasional lunch or supper to eat on the balcony. There is a Pingo Doce supermarket situated nearby for fresh bread, fruit, milk and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a4b4
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was with great pleasure that we read your words of appreciation. Thank you for sharing your experience. We were very happy to hear that you made the most of your holiday. See you soon! Ana Teresa Matos

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a mini-suite/apartment with a kitchenette. The room was very clean if a little dated. The complex has a hotel and some time-share accommodation around central gardens and pools. The facilities re excellent and there is a good range of restaurants in the complex A supermarket next door is very handy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort has everything you would need , spacious room with kitchenette and sitting area, buffet breakfast was also included with room that was great.I do think so updates and paint touch ups were needed in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdg00
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comments. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Eden Mar. We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again in Madeira. Best Regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first stay in this hotel though we are very well acquainted with this complex. Our room on floor 6 was quiet, comfortable and clean but a little short of storage space. Shower over bath not ideal. Being 'vertically challenged' the crockery storage is too high to use safely. Super views from the generous size balcony over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheila T
AnaTeresaMatos, Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Best Regards, Ana Teresa Matos

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,314 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (665)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (181)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
View from Room (81)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (626)
Viewed
Amenities (96)
Viewed
Eden Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Eden Pool (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Kids Pool (6)
Viewed
Porto Mare Indoor Pool (29)
Viewed
Porto Mare Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (180)
Viewed
Studio (37)
Viewed
Studio Superior (32)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (116)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
1,805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $104 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Suite Hotel Eden Mar staff and other travelers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Suite Hotel Eden Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The rooms were all quiet and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles pamelar758, 1 week ago | Read review
“If you do not want sun all day go for west facing rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles doodsllaneilian, 1 week ago | Read review
“Third floor or above for seaview”
 of 5 bubbles D1142LTmichaeld, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Sea views are lovely---large balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles phwardman, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“room with an ocean view was best”
 of 5 bubbles jdg00, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay