We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira

Save
Share
Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098 Portugal
E-mail hotel
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$444
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/18/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$442
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/15/21
Destinia.com
$450
$308
View deal
SAVE $142
Free cancellation until 09/18/21
Expedia.com$442
eDreams$444
Prestigia.com$450
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1500)
Room & Suite (563)
Dining (290)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#11 of 98 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Badminton
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Boating
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Squash
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Squash offsite
Walking tours
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more

Location

Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
61Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2094Reviews83Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,770
  • 217
  • 77
  • 14
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AppleJaq wrote a review Yesterday
Redhill, United Kingdom86 contributions59 helpful votes
We stopped by here for a pre dinner G&T just because it was good enough for Churchill. We had great service, the waiting staff were really attentive, the views over the harbour superb and the ambience just right! We were served some little canapés and purple crisps with our drinks and the bill was comparable with International hotels. Definitely scores as a ‘to do’ on the Madeira holiday list.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
pcfialho wrote a review Jun 14
Lisbon, Portugal935 contributions161 helpful votes
+1
I was just reading the last reviews given to this Hotel in order to understand what I could add to the mostly excellent reviews already received. Service is absolutely beyond what is expected, including being greeted on arrival by the General Manager, that took the time to meet us while we were having breakfast on our arrival day (we arrived hours before regular check in and were amazingly accommodated). A hand written letter was waiting for us in our room. All our requests were considered. Yes, they took the time to read them. Our daughter had a toy left in her bed, the Hotel's mascot. Both pools are heated, so if the weather is so so, you can still enjoy them. Direct access to the beach is such a nice treat, and it's right there, you just go down the stairs or take the elevator. Our room was in perfect shape, large enough to accommodate the three of us, and had a private terrace. All non alcoholic drinks from the mini bar are free and 2 bottles of water were delivered daily. Breakfast was incredible, a lot to choose from, especial hot dishes every day, and different natural juices. My only minor issues was not having a coffee machine in our room. I missed my espressos, but I survived :). If you want a modern design room or Hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want the best possible service, excellent pools and sea access and the picture perfect hotel, don't hesitate to book. There is no comparison possible with any other hotel in Funchal. I was almost forgetting the incredible gardens that are worth a visit by themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 2 days ago
Dear pcfialho, Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your feedback and for choosing Reid's Palace. We are glad to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you described it as a wonderful experience. Indeed, delivering experiences is our core business, and is from comments like yours that we find the motivation to work harder in order to exceed our valued customers’ expectations. Once again, thank you very much for your nice words, which for us are the right payback for all our efforts. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back possibly soon. Kindest regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reid’s Palace a Belmond Hotel Madeira
Read more
travelproEssex wrote a review Jun 14
Essex244 contributions146 helpful votes
Reid’s is the Grande Dame of Funchal, steeped in history and oozing charm. The staff throughout are excellent and make the experience work well. The pool complex and the pool terrace restaurant and bar is exceptional and the staff in particular are first class. We booked a deluxe sea view room which was just large enough but let down by the small balcony and furniture and a hugely disappointing and dated bathroom. These fittings and ceramics were probably luxurious in the 30’s but badly outdated now. Frankly if I had realised the shower was over the bath with a shower curtain I would have upgraded (they were full) or booked elsewhere. With the right room and no COVID restrictions for the cocktail bar our stay would have been first class; unfortunately it was a tad disappointing- but offset by being abroad during current travel restrictions!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 2 days ago
Dear travelproEssex, Thank you very much for having taken the time for writing your feedback, I really appreciate your constructive comments. We were pleased to learn that you overall experience was a pleasant one. On the other hand, with some regret, I am very sorry to learn that you did not have a good impression about your room. However, I would not like that you keep such a memory of our hotel and therefore, should you intend to return to Reid's Palace in the near future, I will be at your entire disposal to assist you with your reservation and provide you a room that meets with your wishes as our room categories are all different even within the same category. Once again, thanks you very much for sharing with us your comments, and please do not hesitate to contact me in case you think I might be of any help. I look forward to hearing from you, and in the meanwhile, I remain, with my kindest regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reid’s Palace a Belmond Hotel Madeira
Read more
Tom Cox wrote a review Jun 11
5 contributions13 helpful votes
DO NOT BOTHER! We heard a lot about this hotel and bar before we booked anywhere in Madeira and were close to booking to stay for 11 nights, thank god we didn’t!! Instead we opted for Les suites at the cliff just down the road which I thoroughly recommend as a luxury hotel! On our 5th night and wedding anniversary we decided to go to Belmont Reid for a drink before dinner and expected to be wowed by old school service and quality on a par with the Savoy in London! Not a chance!! We walked in to go to the terrace bar where a young man barely older than 20 met us and seated us to our table, the service was fine, I can get fine in Nandos in the uk! Then we ordered the drinks! My wife ordered a take on a martini which was 16 euros, it was average at best and no where near the 9 euro drinks elsewhere! I ordered an old fashioned, something I’ve ordered pretty much every where I’ve ever been, It was 13.50 and at this price point the worse I have ever had! It was served in a small glass that Im used to having my orange juice served at in a cafe in manchester, the sugar cube that is served in and old fashioned was whole and left in the bottom of the glass with no attempt to being muddled or mixed!! It looked and tasted pathetic! I got straight up and walked to the bar and as expected was treated with contempt by the bar manager as I was younger than them and obviously had no clue what I was talking about, and he told me “that’s how they do it”utterly pathetic, I didn’t pay the bill and walked out, I would rather go to McDonald’s than waste any more time and money in this bloated, antiquated hotel that is now living on its previous glory! If you are below 60 and still want the finer things in life then trust me and go to any another 5 star hotel in the area that are at least trying to keep with the times and push forward with service and quality! An old school masterclass this hotel is not!! It is a disgrace. I’m sure Mr Ried is turning in his grave as drinks are severed out of IKEA looking glasses to a standard of a Weatherspoons, in his once iconic hotel! AVOID!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Tcxmma, Thank you for visiting Belmond Reid's Palace. I am sorry to hear that your very brief visit to our cocktail bar did not meet your expectations. It is sad to hear that our service and drinks did not meet your personal taste and it would have been great if you would have given us a chance instead of instantly leaving. We thrive on the feedback and therefore I shared your feedback with the team to further improve in the future. Nevertheless I sincerely hope you will give us a chance to prove our hospitality on your next visit on Madeira and I wish you a pleasant rest of your holiday. Best regards, Ciriaco campus General Manager
Read more
Liz S wrote a review Jun 7
1 contribution
just returned from a blissful 7 nights here.Low key non-intrusive excellent service everywhere. beautiful location and a haven of peace and quiet Help given on getting all covid paperwork in order and sorted would absolutely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Responded 1 week ago
Dear lizsE1945IX, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback! We have all been flattered by your kind words. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, which without any doubt are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Reid’s Palace, a Belmond Hotel, in a not too far future. Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Reid’s Palace a Belmond Hotel Madeira
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$304 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
reid`s palace by orient-express hotel funchal, reids palace funchal, reids palace hotel funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira
Which popular attractions are close to Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Nearby attractions include Hole in One (0.2 miles), Trap Music Bar (0.2 miles), and Monumental Experience (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cris's Place, Casal Da Penha, and X Tonel Restaurante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Reid's Palace, A Belmond Hotel, Madeira?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.