We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belmond Reid's Palace

Save
Share
Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098 Portugal
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$386
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/07/21
Trip.com
$384
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/08/21
Snaptravel
$395
$349
View Deal
SAVE $46
ZenHotels.com$364
Orbitz.com$387
travelup.com$395
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1460)
Room & Suite (448)
Dining (282)

About

#10 of 96 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Badminton
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Boating
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Squash
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Squash offsite
Walking tours
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more
2,073Reviews79Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,756
  • 211
  • 77
  • 14
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Colin B wrote a review Nov 18
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom133 contributions96 helpful votes
Our first trip to Madeira and where else to go but the historic and widely revered Reid’s. On arrival we were ‘upgraded’ to a central room near reception. First pet hate-a shower in the bath-. We were then moved to a sea facing room in the ‘new’ block with a walk in shower. The room was fine although the fabric is ‘tired’ stains on the chair fabric. The room housekeeping was brilliant. Every day when we returned from breakfast the room had been cleaned and made spotless. The hotel is in a good position with a long walk down the hill to town or a flat cliff top or promenade walk in the other direction. Plenty of small shops and restaurants locally to the hotel. The hotel staff are lovely, friendly, helpful and informative. Ok why 4* and not 5. The hotel dining options are appalling. The only option for a normal is the cocktail bar which is a barn like, freezing cold, soulless space with no blinds or curtains. A great view but that’s not enough. Room service as alternatively. So we ate out every night, universally good and often excellent. Probably the poor dining offer in the hotel did us a favour, ‘forcing’ us to go out. The worst aspect of the hotel is the nonsensical inability or unwillingness to serve tea or coffee anywhere other than in your room or 6 floors down at the pool before 3pm. Any worthy 5* hotel should comply with any reasonable request wherever and whenever it is made. The staff’s excuse was I’m sorry that’s a management decision! Well dear management, if you want to retain your hard won elevated status, get your act together and remember what it’s about. Talk about ‘spoiling the ship for a ahapprth of tar’. Now to the coffee, if you are fortunate enough to secure one it is a ridiculous 5 euros plus a tip so 12 euros for two coffees! That’s nonsense. I suggest offering guests free tea and coffee in the lobby lounge during the day. Fortunately there are nice local cafes delighted to see you and 3 euros for two coffees maximum. When one is paying 300+per night in the hotel, I ask you!!!! Would we go back, yes of course we would, Reid’s is lovely, it maybe needs a wee spruce and polish to its shabby chic but it is immaculately clean, friendly and very comfortable. Most importantly the food and beverage service needs an overhaul and made guests friendly because that’s what matters most. Breakfast apart which, under COVID rules, was absolutely ‘spot on’, friendly with great, generous, table service. Nice place Madeira, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lynn W wrote a review Nov 14
Kochi (Cochin), India10 contributions3 helpful votes
Arriving at the airport and receiving a covid test immediately was incredibly efficient and well organised - hats off to the Madeira government, airport authorities and tourist board. We felt that we were almost able to take this in our stride as the medical staff were quick and efficient Once our result arrived by text we felt we could relax about covid for a few days, although every precaution was taken subsequently. On arrival at Reid’s we felt had gone back in time to traditional values of customer service, personal attention was fantastic by our lovely concierge manager and at the connected restaurant Villa Cipriani where food was very very good and service excellent. We couldn’t eat at the Michelin William Restaurant for our anniversary as it was closed, but did not feel that this was a disappointment at all. We enjoyed the pool and gym facilities and massage was excellent but limited facilities meant less than relaxing payment arrangements and having to use poolside changing room rather diminished the post massage relaxation. I’d advise management to sort that out ASAP. Thank you to all, hope to be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Belmond Reid's Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear lynnwO, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback! We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and dinner at Villa Cipriani. Indeed, delivering experiences is our passion, and it is from comments like yours that we find the motivation to work harder in order to exceed the expectations of our valued guests. Once again, thank you very much for your nice words. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Belmond Reid’s Palace Madeira
Read more
Jet603002 wrote a review Nov 11
United Kingdom6 contributions
Sadly, didn’t make it in the door. When I received the confirmation of the booking for afternoon tea, it stated “no shorts, t shirts or sandals. So I went into Funchal, bought a shirt and was very much looking forward to our visit. Was about to leave when I thought I’d better check trainers were okay and the guy on the phone gave me a firm no which was a huge disappointment, particularly given that this wasn’t mentioned in the email confirmation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Belmond Reid's Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jet, I am sorry to hear that you did not get to enjoy our Afternoon Tea. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by our dress code and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. The confirmation email is mentioning a casual dress code which usually does not include trainers. We do however accept smart sneakers. I will make sure our communication regarding this issue will be more clear in the future. I hope you enjoy your remaining time on the island. Best regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager
Read more
hazelcompton wrote a review Nov 10
Dunstable, United Kingdom1 contribution
Nice hotel. Holiday completely ruined by numerous mosquito bites. This was despite purchasing spray and repellent plus making sure insect screen was constantly used. Breakfast was a bit of a lottery. Whatever you ordered it rarely arrived as ordered. Weather was very changeable. No problems with sunbeds, always available and very comfortable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Belmond Reid's Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear hazelcompton, Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and your review. I am delighted to see that your overall enjoyed your stay and you were able to experience the charm and beauty of our property. Thank you as well for your candid remarks regarding breakfast. Service is our top priority and your feedback is very valuable in helping us to pinpoint deficiencies. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with mosquitos during your stay. We are doing our best to reduce the number of mosquitos in our garden and surroundings and equipped all our rooms with mosquito-proof curtains. I do hope next time you visit you will consider giving us another opportunity to prove our hospitality. Ciriaco Campus General Manager Belmond Reid’s Palace Madeira
Read more
Y2CLL wrote a review Nov 10
London, United Kingdom974 contributions140 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for 6 nights Rooms - stayed in a superior room - old world charm is what we wanted and this is a wonderful old style hotel. Bed was comfortable, room a good size and lots of wardrobe space and probably the most power sockets I’ve seen in a hotel! They also refill the minibar with complimentary non alcoholic drinks each day which was a nice touch. The only thing missing was an in room coffee machine. Gardens - lovely oasis yet so close to the town centre. The gardens are lovely and tranquil to walk around. Breakfast - we had a B&B rate and currently it’s a la carte but lots of choice and well served on the pool terrace. Service ok, could be more accurate with the orders but was laid back and great tasting especially the omelettes. Wi-Fi - very good and easy access all over the hotel Pool - 2 pools and a sea pool at the bottom of the cliff (closed currently) one of the two main pools is sea water (salty) the other is fresh (and warmer). Lots of beds and very comfortable- could be more bar service around the pool - had to wait a while sometimes to get someone’s attention. In summary a lovely old world charm. Service could do with a slight upgrade to really make this special. That said we’d return anyway hence the star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciriaco Campus, Other at Belmond Reid's Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Y2CLL, Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your detailed review. We are flattered by your comments. These type of feedback is indeed the fuel, that makes us step up and walk the extra mile meet our guest's expectations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future. Many thanks and best regards, Ciriaco Campus General Manager Belmond Reid’s Palace Madeira
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$304 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
reid`s palace by orient-express hotel funchal, reids palace funchal, reids palace hotel funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Belmond Reid's Palace
Which popular attractions are close to Belmond Reid's Palace?
Nearby attractions include Hole in One (0.2 miles), Trap Music Bar (0.2 miles), and Monumental Experience (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Belmond Reid's Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Belmond Reid's Palace?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Belmond Reid's Palace?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Belmond Reid's Palace?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Belmond Reid's Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Habemus Vinium! Wine Bar, Grocery & Soul, Cris's Place, and Casal Da Penha.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Belmond Reid's Palace?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Belmond Reid's Palace have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Belmond Reid's Palace offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Belmond Reid's Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Belmond Reid's Palace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Belmond Reid's Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.