We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Royal All Inclusive

Traveler (811)
Dining (184)
Room & Suite (93)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#34 of 91 hotels in Madeira
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Pestana Royal is an All Inclusive hotel (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages) located in Funchal, Madeira. It sits 2 minutes on foot from Formosa beach, the city's largest beach, with panoramic views of the Cabo Girão hillside, 10 minutes from Funchal’s city centre. During your stay, you can enjoy 2 outdoor swimming pools,an open-air solarium, a SPA with indoor swimming pool, gym and 3 treatment rooms where you can book you Magic SPA treatment/massage. The youngsters can have fun at the Kid's Club or in the playground, while the adults play pool, mini golf or use the tennis court. The hotel offers 4 restaurants (1 open buffet for all meals and 3 themed restaurants, open at dinner time, alternately), promenades and 2 bars. All of them have a very relaxed atmosphere, this being one of the main features of this resort. All rooms offer pleasant views, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room amenities
Air conditioning
Room types
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Ocean View

Location

Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,177Reviews
181Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 564
  • 379
  • 141
  • 61
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A room with a sea view preferred floor 9 or above. Some times a bit cramped in the main dining room.cigarette smoke unpleasant when sat in the front part of the dining room. Pool area very good but beds around the Adult Pool very hard and not user friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Great hotel with fantastic views. Staff are incredible nothing is too much trouble, always smiling and helping. There were only 2 a la carte restaurants that had to be booked immediately as got got busy, there was no 3 speciality restaurant. We arrived on a Friday and left on a
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
A quality venue which we enjoyed no end. The entertainment was good but could have been more varied. The food was excellent. I must however compliment the staff. They were both efficient and extremely Good humoured and friendly
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Response from FORoyal, Manager at Pestana Royal All Inclusive
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Pestana Royal for your holidays in Madeira and for taking your time to write a review on your recent experience with us. We are delighed to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you for the special comment on our staff, we alreday passed it on to the respective departments! We thank you for your contructive critique regarding the entertainment and take this very seriously. We hope to welcome you back soon at the Pestana Royal! Best Regards, Maria da Paz Garcia Unit Manager
Read more
The food was horrendous ate every night, nothing whatsoever choice wise for children, on our last day of our holiday 10 mins before the taxi picked us up from the airport we realized that 2 of our passports had been stolen out of the safe in our room, which meant all kinds of
Read more
Response from FORoyal, General Manager at Pestana Royal All Inclusive
Responded 3 days ago
Dear guest, On my behalf and all of my entire staff I am sincerely sorry for your most recent bad experience within our unit and we would like to express that everything was done in order to minimize the losses and damages presenting an immediate assistance. Considering the occured, a 50% discount was made towards our daily online rate, bearing in mind that the booking placed was for 3 people under an all inclusive basis on a high season. We were all astonished when reading your review and realizing that all of the support and assistance given were not recogned and once adressing to us never was the item delcared as stolen. All the assistance needed was provided, over four hours a colleague assisted you on filling in online documents, reaching to the British consul and reorganizing your flight schedules and travel documents. The security department was asked to intervene and putted on practise all of the procedures that follows a delicate situation like this. Allow us to clarify that the access to the room once you check in is made entirely by you or by the assigned housekeeper and no other unauthorized person, since this access is controlled rigorously through an access key card and by that we keep a register of them all. We provide safety deposit box within to rooms which is locked digitally by a PIN number of your choice. Having this said, our guest's safety and well being are always our top priority and are not put up in question on anytime and we strongly hope that the same kind of assistance and customer service on any other hotel could be provided in the future, when needed or requested. Warmest regards, Maria da Paz Garcia Unit Manager
Read more
Don’t bother ! Bland cold food ,restaurant/bar staff in jeans and trainers The guest liaison young woman strongly accosted me outside the restaurant to comment about me putting a bad review on tripadvisor On our last day a couple arrived and took one look at the hotel and the
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Response from FORoyal, Manager at Pestana Royal All Inclusive
Responded 5 days ago
Dear guest, We would first like to thank you for your recent stay in the Pestana Royal Hotel and for taking the time to leave us your review. It is very disappointing to read your words since we continuously strive to meet our guest’s needs and expectations. We would like to state that all our staff members always try to create the best holidays possible for all of our guests and therefore finding solutions for any complaint made online / in person to our staff. We take great pride in every of our guest´s concerns and expectations reason why we approached you once placing your insatisfaction on the online platforms. A solution was promptly presented and by that we are sorry that we were not able to meet you halfway. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for the fact that their service did not meet to your expectations and for any service inconsistencies you have found while you were visiting us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in our unit to provide you an experience that better reflects our services and better represents our name. Best Regards, Maria da Paz Garcia Unit Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
324
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing