We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,263: English reviews
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

We stayed here for 9 nights having been in Lisbon first. It is a lovely hotel with great staff who work so well together and take a pride in their work. The room we stayed in was spacious and had a balcony and small kitchen which was good if you fancied a night in or a cup of tea. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helendc1
Esher
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a superior room with sea view and the room size was fine and the view over the pool and promenade lovely. Because I suffer with neck and shoulder problems, I sent an email over a week before my arrival to ask for a memory foam mattress topper and feather pillow for my bed. I was assured, by reply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. Our room was superb with great views out to sea over the pool area. Very friendly staff who all seemed to be working very hard night and day. A wonderful breakfast selection was available. Many bars and restaurants near by and the bus into Funchal ( and other places) stopped right outside. Property was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katyfoodie53
PestanaPromenade, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest and Member Kathyfoodie53 We would like to thank you for your recent holiday spent in Madeira Islands and for your choice in the Pestana Group and to stay at the Pestana Promenade. We are deeply honored to have received You in our Resort has our guests on the time of your visit to the Island. We thank...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We came here with our 4 year old daughter. The hotel is really lovely, food is great and the hotel grounds and pool are fantastic. Also has an indoor pool. Our 1 bed apartment was really spacious and very clean with daily maid service. We had cooking facilities, with a fridge, microwave, hob and oven and full size dishwasher! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bartons2009
PestanaPromenade, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Bartons2009 We thank you for your recent family holiday spent in our property on this ocasion of your visit to Madeira Islands. We are extremmely pleased to know that we have managed to provide You and your family with a memorable holiday all through out the time that you have spent in our property. Comments such as...

Willebroek, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a superior room with sea-sight. The terrace was so tiny you could not get on to it with 2 persons. When we checked out, I told the receptionist. She just told me, I should have complained earlier. So they just push people in the worst rooms and the one who complains gets better. I totally feel deceived and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris B
Cumbernauld
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel 2 bedroom apartment was lovely with every amenity. The balcony was a huge L- shaped design overlooking sea & had ample furniture. We did not eat in hotel so I cannot comment on food. There are many lovely restaurants & cafes nearby plus supermarkets. A local bus stop is beside hotel & service is frequent although a courtesy bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizCumbernauld
PestanaPromenade, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Member lizCumbernauld We would like to thank you for your recent holiday spent at Madeira Islands and for the choice in booking our Group and Hotel property. We are truly glad to know that you have troughly enjoyed your stay with us. We do sincerely hope that you may return for another holiday taken at our resort, as...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I decided to visit Funchal after first visiting there in 2006. We were not disappointed ! We decided to stay at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel and we could not have been more pleased. The hotel was absolutely excellent. We had a room on the ground floor which faced out to the garden and the open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis h
PestanaPromenade, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer and Traveler dennis h Firstly, let us provide our sincere thank you for your recent holiday spent in this wonderful holiday destination and most especially for the choice in booking both our Group and Hotel property. Words cannot express the contentment for which you have delighted us with this review, as our main aim is to provide to...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second visit to the Promenade, yet again we had a lovely large room overlooking the pool. The staff are all very friendly and helpful but the entertainment again let it down. Whenever we looked in on it it was extremely quiet, it only appeared to be busy during happy hour when i feel the drinks were still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terryterry1
PestanaPromenade, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest and Traveler Terryterry1 We present our sincere thanks for your last visit to Madeira Islands and for the choice taken in your holiday retreat to be within the Pestana Group and most especially with our property. It is with a sense of good hosts and conscience of enormous ability of dedication of our resort Team that we...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 7 days in this hotel. We had a room with balcony facing the sea. Large and comfortable, the room could have done with decoration and specially a kettle and cups. The breakfast was really fantastic! Fresh fruits and excellent breads and plenty of other delicious things.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bergeje
PestanaPromenade, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Member bergeje We thank you greatly for your recent holiday spent in Madeira Islands and for the choice taken in booking the Pestana Group and our property in particulary. We could not be happier to acquire this excellent comments by your holiday experienced in our property . Nonethless, we will look upon the aspect of our rooms decoration so...

Dunfermline
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have been to Madeira six times now, four of them at a Pestana hotel. This one, the Promenade we think is the best so far. We are a member of the Pestana options scheme so get to stay in nice time shares within the group. The hotel/resort is modern in design with lovely airy, bright and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheena59
PestanaPromenade, Unit Supervisor at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear esteemed Guest and Traveler sheena59 We would like to thank you for your recent holiday spent in Madeira Islands and for your continuous choice in both our Group and Hotel property. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have received such nice words of appreciation from You towards the level of our facilities and its services. We can only hope...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,341 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1020)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (209)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (229)
Viewed
View from Room (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (304)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Standard Sea View Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $108 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel staff and other travelers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Fantastic views from higher rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , yesterday | Read review
“Complain when you get a bad room, do not wait like we did - it is what they want you to do”
 of 5 bubbles chrisbN8923TV, 1 week ago | Read review
“Higher level rooms may be a little quieter as sometimes entertainment could be heard at night.”
 of 5 bubbles lizCumbernauld, 1 week ago | Read review
“I think all rooms have a sea view, we were on the ground floor opposite the pools”
 of 5 bubbles 457dennish, 1 week ago | Read review
“The higher your room the better and west facing”
 of 5 bubbles Terryterry1, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question