We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Save
Share
Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!BEST PRICE AT MELIA.COM
Agoda.com
$145
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/27/21
Booking.com
$136
View Deal
Free cancellation until 05/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$164
$103
View Deal
SAVE $61
Free cancellation until 06/28/21
Hotels.com$114
eDreams$136
Prestigia.com$164
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1354)
Room & Suite (562)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Updated 09/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#28 of 97 hotels in Funchal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Meliá Madeira Mare Hotel & Spa is a modern 5-Star hotel overlooking the sea and a privileged location in the center of Funchal and 20 minutes from the airport. Has 220 elegant rooms and suites all with private balcony mostly with ocean view. The hotel offers a wide range of facilities: outdoor and indoor pool, Spa, Health Club, bar, restaurants, parking and 6 meeting rooms.
Read more
Room & Suite (562)562
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Price:BEST PRICE AT MELIA.COM
2,381Reviews122Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,301
  • 753
  • 258
  • 51
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GMnemonic wrote a review Jan 4
1 contribution
We went to this hotel after a cancellation of our trip by our tour operator. We still are inside Melia Madeira Mãre, We got in contact with the hotel on dec 15 2020 before booking with Susana Silva who mistakenly informed us that the spa and all of its facilities where open. So on arrival we where unpleasantly suprised to discover the facilities where closed due to covid. As this is tge reason we booked this hotel specifically. Fortunately for us after some talks eith the staff and manager the hotel offered us a good solution to our troubles. Ehich we thought was fair. We could have the vacation we wanted, they even offered us two free umbrellas on a rainy day. The breakfast at the hotel is one of the better ones that doesnt feel heavy on the stomach. We thought the beds where a bit though but that too was easily solved by the staff, in 2 goes. Unfortunately due to covid you should expect the hotel to have some facilities closed. It was more rainy and still is then usual for this time of year, all in all Melia Madeira Mãre offered us a good stay and helped us get a solution to our troubles with some effort and even offered us 2 free umbrellas on rainy days, like a savehaven for a boat in a storm and they kept our heads away and safe from rain. This is what you expect your hotel to offer, we had some problems but all where resolved by staff in a try or 2, it is not the best hotel on our list but we we had a good stay. Everything comes in doubles, thank you melia for helping us getting the vacation we booked and expected and the stay we wanted. It took you some time to figure it out but it was a fair solution
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking time in reviewing our hotel and for your detailed comments. We're truly sorry for the misunderstanding/miscommunication relative to our Acqua Sensations area of the spa. As explained to you during our meetings earlier on this week, the Massage treatment section is open and operational, however, our wet area is closed as we are awaiting current legislation in terms of Covid19 protocols and procedures for this section of the Spa. Our number one priority is the safety of our guests, hence this section of the Spa will only be open once we receive the legislation from our local health authorities. Regretfully due to this unprecedented pandemic, you will find that certain services are more restricted, however, we do try our very best to ensure our guests not only feel safe but as comfortable as possible during their time with us. We are pleased we were able to organize an alternative option for the Wet areas for you and that this met with your satisfaction. We assure you we take all our guest feedback and constructive criticism seriously as this is vital and fundamental in our ongoing efforts in achieving complete guest comfort and satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the not too distant future and hopefully at a time when things will return to some kind of normality!. Best wishes to you and yours for a Happy and Healthy 2021 ! With kind regards Tina de Nobrega GEX MANAGER
Read more
UkDean wrote a review Sep 2020
Essex, United Kingdom28 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
COVID ALL GUESTS FELT SAFE IN THIS HOTEL. Arrived Sunday 13th Late pm. Had the Airport Covid test. We had to check in then quarantined in the room ROOM SERVICE Huge choice of room service, freshly cooked, and excellent quality. Great start. Had a couple of minor details to iron out with the reception guys, well what a pleasant experience that was! Seriously nothing was too much trouble, we asked if there were other rooms available as we preferred a full sea view, and by the afternoon we had been moved to a lovely room directly at the front of the hotel. Superb. POOL great area to relax. They were constantly cleaning the beds once vacated, the umbrellas were sprayed and wiped, all the areas which had been touched, or even may have been touched were disinfected and wiped down, Pool immaculately clean, there was a lovely ambience to the area. FOOD AND DRINK We thoroughly enjoyed every bit of food we had at the pool bar, and in the restaurant. The al a carte food was also superb, and not very expensive, and the local beer, wine great. STAFF Well what can we say but a MASSIVE thank you. Every single member of staff here were in our opinion very hospitable. Main reception included Marco, Paulo, Artur, and everyone who we spoke with, the f and B team Tomas, Lenine, Dinarte, Mendes, Dulchi, Simone, Fatima, Angelo, and all you other hard working lovely people, thank you for looking after us so well. Running around to make sure everyone is happy. SPA We had a few treatments, very good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Dear Valued Guest Many thanks for your positive review and for your comments. We're certainly all smiles this end and appreciate your positive comments relative to our team!!! We will surely share with them! We pride ourselves in ensuring we provide warm, welcoming and friendly hospitality services to all who choose to stay with us, and it is most certainly rewarding to be recognized for same. We're pleased you enjoyed our services and facilities and happy we contributed to a memorable holiday experience for you during your time in Madeira. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Madeira Mare in the near future and thank you for your preference. Kind regards,
Read more
cannylad1973 wrote a review Dec 2020
Sunderland, United Kingdom62 contributions188 helpful votes
Due to ongoing travel restrictions, we ended up in Madeira over Christmas 2020 somewhat accidentally. However, it proved to be an excellent destination, so much so that we were genuinely astonished never to have hitherto given it serious consideration. The island is beautiful, clean, safe and offers a very wide variety of places to see/visit, eat/drink. The Melia Mare is a brisk, pleasant 20 minute walk from the centre of Funchal or less than 10 minutes in a bus/taxi located close to the hotel. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff were extremely friendly, courteous and professional. We had a room on the 5th floor with a 'side sea view'. The rooms were cleaned and bedding/towels changed every 2 days. Everything was very COVID-19 safe, including plenty of sanitiser stations, self temperature checks, mask wearing etc. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful, and very well organised for everyone's safety and comfort. The outdoor and indoor pool areas are very spacious, with constant cleaning and sanitisation of loungers, chair, tables etc. The hotel is in a lovely area, very close to the beach, surrounded by lots of shops, bars, restaurants as an alternative to going into Funchal centre. We would rate this hotel highly and would definitely include it as an option when we return to Madeira.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea View on 10th Floor
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina Nobrega, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest Thank you kindly for taking time in posting your detailed and very positive review of both our island and Meliá Madeira Mare. We're delighted you enjoyed our services and facilities and sincerely hope we contributed to a memorable, safe and relaxing experience during your time with us. Appreciate you very kind comments too relative to our staff which will be shared internally and only serves to further motivate us all to continue to provide warm, friendly, welcoming and efficient hospitality service to all those who choose to stay with us. We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future and thank you for your preference. For now our very best wishes to you and yours for a Very Happy and Healthy 2021 ! With kind regards Tina de Nobrega GEX MANAGER
Read more
Thenovicetravellers wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom23 contributions14 helpful votes
We are currently moving around Madeira staying at different hotels whilst working remotely, so I will be writing reviews of each of them (along with restaurants) as we go. The Melia was our first hotel, where we stayed for four nights. Good Points: Large room with lounge and desk area. Stunning balcony view over the sea. Excellent WiFi in the bedroom. Good shower pressure in the bedroom. Good size indoor and outdoor pools. Lennie one of the waiters at breakfast was very attentive and had a wonderful positive attitude. Negative Points: Small double bed. Weak air conditioning - we had to keep the doors open at night to cool the room (bearing in mind it is November). Thin walls between the bedrooms - there was a toddler in the room next door and we could hear everything. The plug in the bath did not seal properly, so you were unable to have a bath without losing the water. The rooms are only cleaned every other day. Excessive COVID measures in the gym - you are watched like a hawk for your entire work out and constantly told what you can and can’t do. There are numerous personal trainers so we got the impression that they are less accommodating if you just come in and do your own workout. Overall this is not a five star hotel. We booked this hotel at a significant discount, so I have increased the review from three to four stars to reflect the price/value.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Responded Nov 16, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for your comments! It is with our guest’s comments and suggestions that we can improve our services. In a pandemic phase, unfortunately some of our services have suffered some restrictions, such as the room cleaning and the use of the Gym, both in accordance with the Directorate-General for Health’s guidelines and with certification ‘Stay Safe with Melia’ by Bureau Veritas. The room cleaning is scheduled for every other day, however if requested by the guest we will provide this service daily. We do hope to return to normality in a near future. Your special mention of Lenine will be shared internally with all and much appreciated. We do hope to have another opportunity in a near future to welcome you back to Melia Madeira Mare. Kind regards,
Read more
Belinda T wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
I was expecting a really great hotel experience. But The room cleaned only every other day, but refreshed for one day, so we ran out of coffee and loo roll on a regular basis. No bath robes in the room ‘due to COVID’ but aren’t towels more personal, it seemed that they were just cutting costs. The outdoor furniture was piled up in a heap, on the upper sun deck, so the hotel looked to be closed. Thank goodness for Carlos (trainee) on breakfast reception and Lennie a server at breakfast who were terrific and actually spoke, and were interested. The breakfast was good and all precautions possible taken including mask wearing, using disposable gloves and temperature checks whilst you were there. The main reception staff either ignored customers or were hidden in the back office. Everywhere was very quiet and soul-less, far more could have been done create a warm welcome for so few guests, so very disappointed with the Melia. But loved Madeira even if we were forced home by the tour operator 6 days early.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Responded Nov 16, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for your comments! It is with our guest’s comments and suggestions that we can improve our services. Your special mention of Carlos and Lenine will be shared internally with all and much appreciated. We are glad to hear you have loved our beautiful Madeira island, and we are sorry that you had to leave earlier than expected. In a pandemic phase, unfortunately some of our services have suffered some restrictions, such as the in room amenities and the room cleaning, in accordance with the Directorate-General for Health’s guidelines and with certification ‘Stay Safe with Melia’ by Bureau Veritas; we do hope to return to normality in a near future. The room cleaning is scheduled for every other day, however if requested by the guest we will provide this service daily. We have removed all bathrobes, slippers, notepads and pens from guests’ rooms. Should guests require any of these items they are available upon request at the Hotel Reception Desk. We do hope to have another opportunity in a near future to welcome you back to Melia Madeira Mare. Kind regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia madeira mare hotel funchal, melia madeira mare resort and spa, sol melia funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.1 miles), Jardim Panorâmico (0.07 miles), and Orchid Gifts of Madeira (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, Sabor da India, and MadMarket.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.