We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Porto Bay Serra Golf

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Porto Bay Serra Golf
Porto Bay Serra Golf
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived in Madeira early so phoned the Hotel on the off chance of checking in early and the immediate response was yes. We found the Hotel easily,it is located about 10 minutes from the airport but high up so a bit of a twisty up hill drive to get there. We received a warm welcome and had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Godders2006
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. We look forward to see you again. Warm Regards, Marília Dias

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to get away for a bit of peace and quiet this hotel is ideal. Stayed here for 3 nights before dropping down into Funchal. Rooms very clean. Facilities very limited. There's a nice small indoor pool but a soulless 'bar' area consisting of a few sofas next to the dining room. Very limited chances to eat anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank therunners055
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Muito Obrigada, Marília Dias

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Porto Bay Serra Golf is located at the heart of Madeira Island. Beautiful place, the hotel is cozy and the building is beautiful. Everything else was a disappointment. From the room which was in the 1st floor with a view to a fence to an nonexistent WiFi with no signal, fitness center with a very limited schedule and a very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miguel2770
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that your stay did not match your expectations. However, we hope that you will allow us to regain your confidence on your next stay with the PortoBay group, when we shall be entirely at your disposal! Warm Regards, Marília Dias

Moscow
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Good: Old, beautiful building in the mountains, very cozy, totally quiet, surrounded by a forest and next to a breathtaking golf resort. Attentive and helpful hotel team. Coming late from excursions, we used pool off-hours several times, no one made a note. At the day of departure we had late golf lesson, reception arranged extra 1.5 hours for us. These...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russian_Santa
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mention regarding your stay. We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations. Best regards Marília Dias

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Serra Golf before our week in the Porto Bay Residence. It's a lovely place to wind down - not a lot of tourist attractions up in the hills, but the hotel has charm and character - especially if you stay in the rooms, or suite, in the old building. Some small mistakes made with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your opinion is very important to us. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon, here or at another Portobay hotel. Warm Regards, Marilia Dias

surrey
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

This is a charming small hotel built in the 20's and was originally the clubhouse for the Santo da Serra golf club when the course was only 9 holes. As golfers playing all week we selected Porto Bay Serra based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is cosy and intimate with a neutral decor. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SURREY16
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it. We are very pleased to hear that our hotel and team were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in a near future. Muito Obrigada Marília Dias

Penarth
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

A small well kept period hotel high above Funchal. We stayed four nights prior to moving down to our regular timeshare in a sister hotel. Our superior room in the old house was large and well appointed with a large balcony. Views are limited all round by tall firs. Staff young and obliging. Restaurant homely if small with v high...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loveabreakPenarth
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments and am sorry that we were not able to provide our usual standards of service during your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Marília Dias

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Our first stay at 'Serra Golf' on half board and we were not disappointed. I would have rated "excellent" but for the rather unimaginative vegetarian menu offering that was "pasta heavy" ! The accommodation is located behind the main 'house' in a purpose built annexe and our room (209) had a comfortable bed, sitting chairs, flat screen TV, en-suite facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArcticExplorer51
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments and regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations on the vegetarian options. We shall analyse closely the points you have mentioned. We hope you will visit our hotel again. Warm Regards, Marília Dias

Funchal, Portugal
Reviewed September 28, 2016

+ price + location + indoor pool + breakfast + confort + atmosphere It's a nice hotel in a rural landscape, near Santo da Serra's center. It´s ideal for a weekend break for locals, or turist that are looking for a relaxing vacations or that look for a stay in a natural environment, with class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RFaia
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Marília Dias

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Fantastic room with view on the trees, excellent toiletries, tea-coffee facilities (but like anywhere outside the UK bring your peppermint tea) robes and towels for the pool, beautiful gardens, and lovely service. Really nice place to relax with a gorgeous breakfast. Lovely parc a hundred meters away but apart from that it's in the middle of nowhere so fantastic if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
Marilia D, Gerente at Porto Bay Serra Golf, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your Kind review on tripadvisor, I'm so pleased to see that the hotel and the services offered were up to your expectations. I´m sure all the team will be pleased to read your review. We hope to see you soon Muito Obrigada Marília Dias

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

346 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (175)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
Suite (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madeira hotels
7.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
6.3 mi away
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
8.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,009 reviews
23.0 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
282 reviews
9.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Porto Bay Serra Golf is a small charming property surrounded by nature and by the traditions of Madeira, with decoration that is both elegant and comfortable and with the golf course nearby!! Enjoy a stay in the middle of the country, with luxurious greenery, and a welcoming atmosphere. The main house dates from 1920, was restored in 1999 and is classified as part of the regional heritage. The facade, with decorative elements from the Art Nouveaux period, the frieze in floral tiles, windows with white wooden slats, and its fish-scale roof are unique features . .. 22 rooms, living room with fireplace, traditional restaurant, heated covered pool, sauna, library, games room and gym ... in the heart of nature!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Porto Bay Serra Golf

Address: Sitio dos Casais Proximos | Santo da Serra, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-255, Portugal (Formerly Estalagem Serragolf)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Price Range: $76 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Serra Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Porto Bay Serra Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Serragolf Madeira
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Porto Bay Serra Golf staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Porto Bay Serra Golf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you dont like climbing stairs rooms on the floor level with the dining room are best”
 of 5 bubbles Godders2006, 1 week ago | Read review
“We stayed in the main building in the suite, very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles therunners055, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms in the 'annexe' are at the back and these are nice and quiet. Also, these rooms offer easiest access to the Pool, Gym and Spa.”
 of 5 bubbles ArcticExplorer51, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms the same I think”
 of 5 bubbles neighboursKent, Sep 14, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are basically the same unless you have a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles dollychops, Aug 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay