We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paço Real, Obidos 2510-999 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$305
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$306
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Destinia.com
$166
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Hotels.com$305
Pestana$270
Travelocity$305
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (737)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (208)

About

#2 of 45 Specialty lodging in Obidos
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.6
Value
3.8
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Pousada do Castelo de Óbidos is located in Vila de Óbidos and is one of the 7 wonders of Portugal. This Pousada is of enormous historical importance and includes medieval features from the 9th century. The castle was given as a wedding present by King D. Dinis to Queen Santa Isabel during their wedding that took place on site. This castle is one of the most impressive and romantic sites you can visit. It includes common areas such as the restaurant and Castelo bar. Don't forget the impressive esplanade together with the reception. At the Pousada de Óbidos you can choose to stay in the castle and have an authentic medieval experience or stay in the Casa do Castelo (located right next to the castle), where you will have an experience closer to that of living in town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Horseback riding
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
891Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 511
  • 211
  • 93
  • 49
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
falala wrote a review Sep 2022
Montreal, Canada373 contributions122 helpful votes
Great service, great location, room was the usual size. We loved our stay. Breakfast and supper was included in the stay. The restaurant area had a beautiful view on both the sunrise and sunset. Make sure you arrive early to get a table with a window. If we were ever to come back, we will definitely come back as we enjoyed the over all experience. There is no parking offered by the hotel. However, there is a free nearby parking around 7 min away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
italy-nuts wrote a review Sep 2022
Castle Rock, CO246 contributions137 helpful votes
This castle is very unique and enjoyable compared to other European “castles” that we’ve stayed in. If you are driving, you should know that you can only drive inside the walls of the old city to unload and re-load your luggage. Everything is cobblestone…sidewalks and streets, so that can be a challenge with big bags for a 3 1/2 week European stay. So we repacked what we needed for our 2-day stay in small bags, and left the big ones. Many steps to get to the castle reception, and even further to get to the lower-level rooms, then even more to the restaurant. No lift, of course, so be prepared for some hiking. Nevertheless, the hotel provided help from our parking spot just outside the walls. Morning coffee unavailable until breakfast at 8, so with not even a kettle in the room, I mentioned on my welcome survey that the castle should have at least a kettle…I left to buy one the day of our arrival, since my wife was nursing a cough and wanted hot tea. The hotel responded instantly with a brand new Nespresso machine and pods, explaining that they had been waiting for their order of these for all of the rooms for quite awhile. In any case, we were very impressed with their responsiveness, and willingness to purchase the kettle I’d bought…Bravo! Tourists can view the outside of the castle, have lunch or dinner at the beautiful restaurant, but that’s about it….all of the interior has been renovated for the hotel rooms or restaurant. The town of Obidos doesn’t appear to be that old, but is very touristy, with many cars parked in limited parking areas near the castle. It is not at all like other European “old towns,” many of which are UNESCO World Heritage sites.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. italy-nuts, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence. Hospitality is our passion! It is also great to see that you embraced the spirit of Óbidos, with its challenges. Once you accept it, you love it! We were waiting for such a long time for our coffee facilities, it was an amazing coincidence to may put the first one in your room. Now we are happy to announce that all our rooms have Nespresso machines for our guest's free use. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael B wrote a review Sep 2022
13 contributions5 helpful votes
Obidos is a special place, a survivor of thousands of years of human interaction. The castle is still nearly complete, and an effort is made to keep things original while still providing modern hotel conveniences. That said, things are old, so have proper expectations. Accessing the hotel is difficult, with somewhat distant parking down a hill with a cobblestone road walk up. Accessing rooms requires climbing old and worn, imperfect rock stairs with your bags. Staff is ready to help, which is nice. Rooms are fairly large but with old doors that may need help closing. A/C is adequate, beds are a bit hard. Breakfast is good, and dinner is excellent (make reservations). We stayed 2 nights - one might have been enough to say we stayed in the castle, but 2 nights allowed us to visit the surrounding area and explore all the fortress walls and the entire village, as well as have a local dinner in a village restaurant. Must see / stay if possible while in central Portugal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. michaelbM9248IK, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. We take great pride in being able to offer a great experience to our Guests and your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. We were glad to read your comments about your medieval experience in Óbidos, you really need to embrace it if you want to enjoy it! That's the spirit! It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kurt I wrote a review Sep 2022
Edmonton, Canada83 contributions94 helpful votes
It was amazing to stay at this hotel, truly. To have full access to the castle with the little black card and the quaint town just beside, amazing. The staff were very good and eager to please. The breakfast buffet is generous with great service and a fantastic view (with the correct table). They do need a bit more signage for finding the reception area though. The GPS brought us to the other side of the castle (which is the best place to park) but it took me some time to figure out where to go after that. Our room was large with a big bed and there were some welcome food/drink items waiting for us. I would have given this hotel 5 stars but we had troubles with our A/C, it was noisey outside our room because the pop up wine bar was just next to us and the electrical in our room was a challenge (lighting, plugs for charging devices, etc...). I would come back to this hotel again though, it was great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear M. 496kurti, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gadi S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We choose this expensive hotel which cost us 220 EU, the highest price we spent in Portugal/Spain, since we wanted the experience, as described in the website, of a nice room in the castle and were willing to pay this expensive price for what is presented in the website. A "cottage at the castle" for this expensive amount looks very promised (on the website). We checked in and payed. Then we were taken to the smallest hotel room that we have ever experienced. One cannot open the suitcase there. Not present in the castle (perhaps this was the servants’ part). Not any equipment in the room, nor nearby parking, not any view of the valley or the castle. And all this for 220 EU? How could have we know all that from the website. This is a completely misleading and cheating the tourists. We complained at the office but were told that this is what we ordered and therefore they cannot help. Be aware of that cheating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Read my note above. Be aware of the misleading website.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear M. BoardingPass100585, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Regarding the room of your choice, Standard Cottage room, at Casa do Castelo, please note that the explanation on our site is pretty clear and right in the front page: "At the Pousada de Óbidos you can choose to stay in the castle and have an authentic medieval experience or stay in the Casa do Castelo (located right next to the castle), where you will have an experience closer to that of living in town". We appreciate that you chose Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, The team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
734gerardog wrote a review Jul 2022
San Antonio, Texas6 contributions1 helpful vote
Great views of the town, did not have any issues during my 2 day stay. I did not stay in the castle tower rooms (there's rooms in the actual tower). Fast check-in and out, good breakfast and service. Pricey but worth it for the experience. Had family room for 4 (2 separate rooms which connected). Walk wasn't as bad as I expected, as long as you don't have very heavy luggage or any physical impairments you should be fine. (steep walk and some steps, cobblestone streets). I saw few elderly ppl who managed just fine.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear Mr. 734gerardog, We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pousada Castelo Óbidos was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. Many thanks for choosing Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel. Kind regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bethpindc wrote a review Jun 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia737 contributions433 helpful votes
I loved the town of Obidos and am glad I stayed here at the base of the castle. I didn't stay in a castle room and was in the more modern section. The room was quiet and the bed was ok. This is a good one-night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear Mrs. Beth P, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Den wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
A small group (4) of us had the please of staying at Pousada Castelo Óbidos on our way from Porto to Alvor in the Algarve. Service was excellent and everyone made sure we had everything we needed. Rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was in their restaurant which was a lovely location. Selection of food and quality was great. Tomas was very helpful during check-in and check-out. The lady who checked us into the hotel was also very helpful and made a reservation at a great restaurant for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded Jun 17, 2022
Dear M. Denqr, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jtodd4 wrote a review Jun 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina19 contributions9 helpful votes
We very much looked forward to our 25th anniversary at the Pousada. Let me start by saying that it is a stunningly beautiful property and the staff upon check in was fabulous showing us to our room and even carrying our luggage up the stairs to our premium tower room. We booked the most expensive room in the property at 450 Euros/night and thought that very fair for the experience we expected...in the tower of a Medieval castle. The room was dated and quite spartan which didn't bother us that badly at first. Upon returning from dinner however, we found that the air conditioner had shut off and had not cooled the room down. Someone from the front desk came up and got it to start working but after about 10 minutes, it turned off again and the room was very hot. In addition, we could hear every step and every voice from the room next door (the tower was divided into two rooms). Not the fault of the guests as they were just going about their evening as we were but in addition to the hot room, it made it unbearable. At 1230am, we called the front desk again and requested another room. Fortunately, there was one room available in another part of the hotel that we were moved to. It was a very nice room and the a/c worked so we settled in after 1am to get some rest. But, the adventure continued. When my wife got out of the shower the next morning, we discovered that the shower didn't drain and the entire bathroom floor was flooded. We used every towel in the room to soak up the water but there still remained a mess and I was unable to shower that morning for fear of the same mess and not having any more dry towels. So, off we go to check out since we were only there one night and were offered a whopping 10% discount off the 450 Euro tower room, which we didn't even sleep in, four our trouble. Breakfast was fantastic, the grounds were lovely, and except for the hostess checking us out, the staff was very accommodating. We really wanted to love this place and feel that it was very capable of doing so, but it fell well short of the mark. Perhaps experiencing the authentic privations of Medieval castle life is part of the experience but it was not as advertised and I expect far more from a brand like Pestana. I absolutely will not advise people to not stay here, but this was our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the tower rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded Jun 17, 2022
Dear M. jtodd4, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex V wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Óbidos is a great medieval town with ramparts around it, and the castle is attached to the ramparts. Our castle double room was not very big but comfortable (and rather dark, but that's expected from a castle), and the bathroom was a good size. Breakfast in the restaurant was varied and stylish - we got up rather early on the Sunday to make sure we could sit next to one of the beautiful windows with a view. Exploring the common areas, especially going up one of the castle towers, was definitely a plus. Staff was helpful and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLeiria DistrictObidos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Which popular attractions are close to Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Nearby attractions include Obidos Village (0.1 miles), Castelo de Óbidos (0.2 miles), and Porta da Senhora da Piedade (Porta da Vila) (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pontinha, Real Casa Do Petisco, and A Nova Casa de Ramiro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Pousada Castelo Óbidos located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Obidos.
Does Pousada Castelo Óbidos offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Capela De São Martinho (0.2 miles).