We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lisboa Central Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lisboa Central Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 292: English reviews
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 3rd time at this hostel, and everything is still high standard. Helpful and friendly staff, well organised and clean kitchen, nice patio, eating and sitting areas. Pancakes for breakfast :-) in addition to fruits, bread, cereal, juice. Many events organized from the hostel, ie walking tours, pub crawls. Very friendly interactions between staff and guests - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alma W
München
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Compared to other hostels this was not the cheapest one. So you pay for the good location (it's not close to the old town), but that's all good about it. In this hostel there is totally no atmosphere. It's not the fault by the host but the staff really wants you to go away after 10pm and is not wellcomming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max D
MiguelCruzSantos, Owner at Lisboa Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. We don’t want our guests to leave the hostel after 10pm. I understand that you wanted to have fun and make a party in your room, but please consider that there are other guests in the hostel that want to sleep at that time and were complaining about the noise you were doing in your...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hostel is actually awesome, and would I would have given it a much higher rating had the owner and some staff not pestered us about making noise in our "private" room. The facilities are great, they make great free soup and have a nice breakfast, but if I wanted to be nagged by my mother I would have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seth K
MiguelCruzSantos, Owner at Lisboa Central Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. I understand that you wanted to have fun and make a party in your room, but please consider that there are other guests in the hostel that want to sleep at that time and were complaining about the noise you were doing in your dorm. We don’t like to upset guests warning them about noise,...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed December 8, 2016

This hostel is located in the heart of Lisbon, so much so that many main tourist spots in downtown Lisbon are within walking distance (ex. Rua de Augusta Arch, Praca do Comercio, Rossio Square, etc.). It is located near the Marques de Pombal train station (2-5 minutes by walking). Also near the hostel there are some branded stores, restaurants, pastelarias,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gilbert_que
United States
Reviewed December 4, 2016

This is not your typical rowdy ragtag motley crew of people going bananas in this hostel. This is more for of a hybrid between backpackers and people who stay there for extended periods of time, including families. Therefore at night we were quiet and got to actually have conversation with each other and made deeper connections with one another. Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish N
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Well, i stood there for weeks, and I have NOTHING to complain. Everyone is friendly and looking forward to help you. Also, the hostel is pretty close to everything... metro, sightsee tour, markets, restaurants, etc. Oh, and the breakfast is awesome too! Haha You will not regret! ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Large rooms, tastefully furnished; Lockers incl locks provided Nice breakfast Friendly staff that provides you with lots of information about Lisbon Quite a walk from downtown (10-15 minutes) uncomfortable, soft matresses

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acai24
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Sometimes you want a fun hostel that makes it easy to meet new friends, and sometimes you want a quiet place to sleep. Lisboa Central Hostel manages to combine both. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the other guests were friendly too. The hostel has several common areas perfect for making conversations. We ended up going on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kobi_and_Ilya
Cannes, France
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed a couple of days in this hostel and I have to say that you feel like home! It's a good place to meet people, the staff is awesome and Odette the owner makes a delicious soup every night, and she does it for free. The breakfast is included which is very good. Rooms are large and comfy, commons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iroquois666
singapore
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Room was spacious despite sharing with 5 others, comfortable and clean beds and sheets with individual charging ports and lamp. Only a few showers and toilets, so might be a queue when people happen to want to shower/use the toilet at the same time, otherwise the showers and toilets are very clean and well maintained. Good breakfast, with helpful staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjamazon
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

272 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Four Bedroom Mixed (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Twin Bedroom Suite (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
2,081 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,410 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 379 in Lisbon
506 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#3 of 379 in Lisbon
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you’re looking for a fun, fresh and friendly place to stay then look no further: Lisboa Central Hostel is the ideal place for you! Excellently located in the heart of city in Marques de Pombal and the famous Avenida da Liberdade this international hostel provides you with the perfect base for sight-seeing by day and partying by night. All of Lisbon’s major hot spots are easily accessible on foot thus saving you the cab fare home at night.Our friendly, local staff will be more than happy to provide you with plenty of information about the city and how to get around, ensuring you are able to make the most of your stay in Lisbon. The hostel is owned and run by a local Portuguese family and travellers who are able to offer you a good insight into this magical city as well as some insider’s tips on the best places to go and where to eat out.In short Lisboa central Hostel is the perfect place for any traveller, whether they be the student backpacker, the young family or the more mature couple looking for a relaxing stay. As well as dorm style rooms the hostel also caters for groups and families looking for private rooms complete with en suite bathrooms.The Hostel hosts a number of activities and cultural events including weekly film nights. And be sure not to miss out on Milkshake Monday where we will be providing each guest with a free tasty milkshake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lisboa Central Hostel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 160, Lisbon 1150-282, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Price Range: $19 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisboa Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisboa Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lisboa Central Hostel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lisboa Central Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We've stayed in 3 different rooms and all were good -- 205 is our favourite :-)”
 of 5 bubbles almaw2014, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The private double room at the first floor is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles alib916, Jun 7, 2016 | Read review
“The rooms of the first floor are more quite!”
 of 5 bubbles martrabalho8910, May 27, 2016 | Read review
“Heard that there was a pretty female only dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles jiaxuan1, May 7, 2016 | Read review
“Great stay; I will be back for a longer stay :)”
 of 5 bubbles 340mitrah, Mar 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay