We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Chateaux

Save
Share
Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750-642 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$264
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/03/22
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$247
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/03/22
FindHotel
$209
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Hotels.com$247
Travelocity$248
Prestigia.com$281
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (771)
Room & Suite (174)
Dining (126)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Updated 07/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 45 hotels in Cascais
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Leaning over the Atlantic Ocean, the Fortaleza do Guincho welcomes a charming five star boutique hotel - integrated into in the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association - with a range of services that focus on the well being and peacefulness of the customers. The Hotel's restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star, offers an unforgettable dining experience of Portuguese cuisine, made from the finest national products. The Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho has a warm and personalized service, making it the ideal place for a family holiday, board meetings or the perfect refuge for a romantic getaway. Located just seven kilometers from the town of Cascais and 30 kilometers from Lisbon and the International Airport, the cultural and leisure offer in the region is rich and full of varieties. Along the cost line you will find Sintra and its magnificent monuments and natural landscape, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. For sea lovers abound beaches along the coast and all kinds of water sports and outdoor activities . The Hotel is surrounded by the best golf courses, while the Estoril Casino, the largest in Europe, is just a few minutes away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Boating
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Tennis court offsite
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
64Somewhat walkable
Grade: 64 out of 100
16Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
746Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 503
  • 155
  • 54
  • 24
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jennifer R wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions
I was a little nervous because of a few recently bad Trip Advisor reviews, but I am so happy with our stay. This is an elegant hotel in a fortress from the 1600s. It was a 5 minute walk from 2 beautiful, iconic beaches in Cascais. There is a little beach shack with food and drinks at one beach, and a restaurant at the far side of Guincho beach (more of a trek). Everyone we encountered was pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed speaking with all of the staff. They are available yet not intrusive. The tasting menu with the wine pairing at the Michelin Star Restaurant was out of this world - the quality, freshness, creativity of the chef and service from the staff was second to none. The breakfast spread was unreal and extremely generous. They have a little bar area with a fireplace and TV, and games. If weather permits there is an outdoor balcony to dine on and also an outdoor patio which was so relaxing to have drinks and look at the sea. The one major issue we had was our air conditioner did not work, and while the staff were very obliging, no one seemed surprised, and we were pretty much told it wasn't going to be fixed . It became stuffy in the room. We had a beautiful balcony and breathtaking view that more than made up for this, however, there are no screens so we couldn't leave the door open for fresh air. We were provided with a standing fan which we were thankful for. The minor issue we had was that the bed/mattress/frame/pillows left a lot to be desired. With improvements in these areas and perhaps a shelving unit in the bathroom below the sink, it would have been 5 star. Some might say the rooms are small but that is expected and we did not have an issue - it is an intimate hotel with only 27 rooms in an old fortress so the footprint is expected to be limited. It was very romantic and quiet. It seems remote but really there is a big surfer gathering spot next door and it's just a quick taxi into town for a night out, shopping or to get to the marina. We had the hotel organize a private tour of Sintra for us and it was amazing. I would definitely recommend a stay here because of its charm and stunning location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Peter B wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
This is a beautiful property with great views but the service level is not of Relais quality or cost. On the upside: - Vitor at the door is wonderful - the views, rooms and breakfast are very good Shortcomings: - the lady in the (often empty) reception area who brought us to our room was impersonal/indifferent and explained very little including where to find the tucked away beach towels - service as Spot restaurant was fair to poor; certainly not near Relais standards; only three choices of red wine, one of which wasn’t available, thick wine glasses - public beach near property is fine but I’d have expected Relais to provide some amenities (lounges, umbrellas) but leave that to a local operation - wonderful view from balcony but the smell of restaurant below is off-putting I rarely treat myself to Relais & Chateaux but expect top notch service when paying their prices. Fortaleza does not qualify as a Relais property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t spend the money.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear PeterbY9827FV, First of all accept our sincere apology for the bad experience you had in our Hotel. Your comment will be shares with all my colleagues in order to improve our service. I really hope you have enjoyed your time in Portugal regardless the bad experience you had with us. With our best and warm regards, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux. Tel. : +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt Mariana Franco Director of Sales
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danylux0412 wrote a review Aug 2022
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg58 contributions25 helpful votes
I stayed two nights at Fortaleza do Guincho and cannot recommend it. The hotel is totally overpriced and is clearly not up to the five-star standard that it claims for itself. Certainly the location on the cliffs above Guincho beach is spectacular, but the place is pretty lonely, there is no swimming pool and you need a car unless you want to stay there the whole day. Admittedly, the hotel lobby is nicely decorated, but the rooms are pretty small and basic and offer no luxury whatsoever. Bathrooms are clean but tiny and desperately need to be renovated. WiFi is very weak anywhere outside the main lobby. The staff at the reception desk are helpful but the waiters in the breakfast and lunch areas are not up to the job at all: service is slow and lacks attention for the guest. On the positive side, breakfast - which is included in the room rate - is of high quality, very rich and tasty. But overall, value for money is pretty poor. I would not come again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear guest Danylux0412, We are extremely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do apologize for not being able to offer a pool, a SPA and gymnasium, but the Hotel is built in a fortress from the 20th century, a protected building; on the top of it we are located in a natural park where the environment is really protected, therefore we were not allowed to make any changes in the building and surrounding area. Knowing, that it can be really important for some guests to have those facilities, we have signed an agreement with a club close by ( 5 minutes away driving from the Hotel ) where our guests can go and use the facilities. Taking in consideration our location, ( a natural park, just in front of the ocean ), a quite quite place, where you can enjoy the nature, the Atlantic ocean, the cultural live we have to offer around ( Sintra / Lisbon only a few minutes away driving) and the gastronomy we strongly recommend our guests to have a car, nevertheless we always can provide a private driver or to call a taxi. Once again we do apologize very much for not being able to reach your expectation. We hope you have enjoyed your time in Portugal, and really hope to welcome again in Portugal. We remain at your entire disposal for any further information. With our best regards, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Tel. : +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt Mariana Franco Director of Sales As for the size of the room and bathroom, again I am afraid in the XVII century rooms where not that big, tha
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sil S wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
The view is magnificient and the breakfast excellent. However lacking basic facilities such as a place to lie on the sun and a Spa. Staff is friendly ( especially Anabel at the breakfast) but some of them could be more professionnal especially for a five star hotel. Room was average in size but was expected. Prices at the restaurant are very high and in addition they charge taxes. We had overall a nice time despite the heavy wind- we were lucky that wind stopped for one day so that we could enjoythe beach
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear guest Sils667, Thank you very much for your visit, time and comment. We are extremely pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed your time in our Hotel. We are sorry that we are not able to offer a SPA or a pool, but the Hotel is built in a fortress from the XVII century a protected building, and on the top of it, we are located in a natural park just in front of the Atlantic Ocean. Nevertheless, knowing that it is important for some guests to have those facilities available we have signed an agreement with a club close by the Hotel ( 5 minutes away driving ). We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again, and once more we will do as much as we can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. With warm regards from Fortaleza do Guincho, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Tel. : +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt Mariana Franco Director of Sales
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
christophebroncard wrote a review Jul 2022
Paris, France1 contribution
Unforgettable ! Unique view over the ocean, elegant bedroom, warm, professional staff, exciting experience at the restaurant and the Chief, exceptional moment of life. Choose room 210 if you can afford it ! Thanks to the team
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear Mr. Christophebroncard, Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. It really means a lot to the staff, since they work really hard to make sure that guests have a pleasant time. We are extremely pleased to acknowledged that we were able to provide you an unforgettable stay. We hope you will give us the joy to welcome you again; once more we will do as much as we can to make sure you will have another very pleasant stay. With warm regards from Fortaleza do Guincho, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Mariana Franco Director of Sales Tel. : +351 214 870 4912 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine F wrote a review Jul 2022
Naples, Florida48 contributions52 helpful votes
We spent the last 2 days of our honeymoon there. The views are amazing! Surfers in the morning, kite-surfers in the evening. The staff are all very friendly, and knowledgeable. Breakfast was very nice. The dinner menu was not our style. But, there are other restaurants close by. Our room was clean & spacious, we didn’t want for anything. We plan on going back at the same time next year
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear Mrs. CatherineF350, First of all our congratulations. Thank you for letting us be part of such a especial moment of our life. Some other beautiful moments will come, and really hope to be part of them again. We will be waiting for your visit next year. With warm regards from Fortaleza do Guincho, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux, Mariana Franco Director of Sales Tel. : +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andgreg wrote a review Jul 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
After a trip including Evora, Obidos, Porto in 4/5 star hotels this was our last stop. The hotel itself is lovely (with a great setting) if getting a little dated in the bedrooms. We ate in The Spot, as the restaurant was fully booked. It was just extremely average for the prices charged. I just felt underwhelmed and feeling €175 euros for two people and as really not worth it. The setting is beautiful and I was extremely looking forward to staying here to finish our trip before a week in the Algarve but I just felt disappointed. 3.75 rating for view and setting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear Mr. Andgred, We are extremely sorry to hear that your trip to Portugal didn't end as you have expected. Please accept our sincere apology for not being able to reach your expectations. Nevertheless we hope you had a beautiful time in Portugal and really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Portugal. We remain at your entire disposal for any further information. With our best regards, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Mariana Franco Director of Sales Tel. : +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan Joy wrote a review Jun 2022
Naples, Florida18 contributions4 helpful votes
Wonderful hotel on a beautiful location! We were heading to the Algarve from Madeira and our flight to Lisbon was changed so we had to spend the night locally. Having spent time in Lisbon already we wanted to stay on the coast. We arrived at 1am and were greeted with a smile and handled with efficiency to our room exhausted. We awoke to an incredible view and fabulous breakfast. The front desk manager Victor was so helpful so we saw some great sights on our way to Loule!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear guest B3063FGsusanj, Please accept my sincere apology for such a late answer. We are extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time in our Hotel; it is always a pleasure to help our guests to discover the country, therefore we really hope you have enjoyed the suggestions given by Victor. It would be an honour to welcome you again at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux, and we hope to be able to offer you another beautiful stay. With warm regards from Fortaleza do Guincho, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Mariana Franco Director of Sales Tel. +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annotated2018 wrote a review May 2022
British Columbia, Canada16 contributions30 helpful votes
The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist us. The dinner at the hotel was exceptional. The hotel is located between two beaches and provides spectacular views of the surfers, kite surfers, etc. The rooms were large by European standards. There was lots of convenient free parking. The entire experience was first class.We look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We recommend that you reserve well in advance and Also make a dinner reservation at the time of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear guest Annotated2018, Thank you so much for giving us the pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux. We are extremely honoured to learn that you have enjoyed your time and stay with in our Hotel. Thank so much for taking the time to make a comment, and to share with the TripAdvisor community your experience in our Hotel. We really hope to welcome you again soon. With warm regards from Fortaleza do Guincho Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Tel. : +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt Mariana Franco Director of Sales
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elaine M wrote a review May 2022
57 contributions40 helpful votes
This authentic feeling Fortaleza is right on the ocean, with stunning views of the Guincho beach. Booked a room with open balcony from which to gaze at the ocean and magnificent sunset. Situated close to the Cresmina dunes, there are many beautiful foot paths right down to the surf. The restaurant offered interesting options for lunch. We did not dine at the Michelin restaurant as only tasting menus were on offer. It is a beautiful place to spend a night on the coast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There are no elevators at this hotel, so visitors with mobility issues should be aware.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mariana Franco, Marketing at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear Mrs. ElaineM179, It was a pleasure to welcome you at Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux. We are extremely pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the beautiful view overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the sunset. We thank you very much for sharing your experience in our Hotel, with the TripAdvisor community; I am sure that will help some other traveller to visite us. We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. With sunny regards from Guincho beach, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Tel. : +351 214 870 491 @ : reservations@guinchotel.pt Mariana Franco Director of Sales
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fortaleza do guincho cascais, fortaleza do guincho hotel cascais
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Fortaleza do Guincho
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictCascais
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux
Which popular attractions are close to Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Nearby attractions include Guincho Beach (0.2 miles) and Duna Da Cresmina (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fortaleza do Guincho, Porto Santa Maria, and O Faroleiro.
Does Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux have airport transportation?
Yes, Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.