We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fortaleza do Guincho

Save
Traveler (573)
Room & Suite (219)
Dining (90)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Fortaleza do Guincho
Special Rate: €145 (EUR)
Offers from Fortaleza do Guincho
Special Rate: €145 (EUR)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
203
71
18
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
203
71
18
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starenclosed balconyrelais and chateauxcliff overlookingcrashing wavescomplimentary fruitchaise longuehuge wavesamuse boucheold fortressthe atlantic oceanportuguese coastguincho beachsuperior roomkite surfersjunior suitesstunning location
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were first class. Nothing was too much trouble. The setting is spectacular. Sunsets to die for. However the rooms are small and very ordinary. The bathrooms are functional but old fashioned very small . In some respects...More

Thank NigelTomkins
Response from Guincho0, Diretor de Vendas at Fortaleza do GuinchoResponded 2 days ago

Dear Mr. Nigel Tomkins, Thank you very much for your time and comment. We are sorry that you didn't like your room, and find the bathroom to small. As a matter of fact the Hotel is built in a Fortress from the XVII century, and...More

Hotel's Favorite
Reviewed November 8, 2017

For a unique hotel experience, you're not going to beat this place. Located at the edge of the Atlantic between two gorgeous surfing beaches, buffeted by winds, with wild dunes for a backyard, and blessed with an excellent Michelin-starred restaurant (I believe it's the only...More

5  Thank triceratops111
Response from Guincho0, Diretor de Vendas at Fortaleza do GuinchoResponded November 14, 2017

Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho, Thank you very much for such a nice and details description of the Hotel and surrounding areas. We really hope that you will give us the honour to welcome you again, that will be a great pleasure for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This review does not take in the Michelin restaurant which we’ll review separately ( but - spoiler alert-5 stars) This hotel has the good fortune to be overlooking the ocean - and the view- and sounds of the ocean are wonderful and make a very...More

Thank LexaNavi
Response from Guincho0, Diretor de Vendas at Fortaleza do GuinchoResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. LexaNavi, Thank you very much for your time and comment. We are sorry that we were not able to reach your expectation. With our best regards, Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho Relais & Châteaux Mariana Franco Sales Director Tel. : +351 214 870 491...More

Reviewed May 17, 2018

We stayed here in May and were in love with the wild, rugged setting on the top of a cliff over the sea. The staff were all lovely and very hard working from what I could see. The hotel has a certain character to it,...More

Thank poorskier
Response from Guincho0, Diretor de Vendas at Fortaleza do GuinchoResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Poorskier, Thank you very much for your time and comment. We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your time in our property. We feel sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation in what regards breakfast; your comment...More

Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

We loved staying at Fortaleza do Guincho as the location & stunning oceanic views were breathtaking. Location- situated on the Headland overlooking the Atlantic Ocean & two beaches. It’s a short 10 minute drive to Cascais & Sinta so it makes an ideal location for...More

Thank Ellemay
Response from Guincho0, Diretor de Vendas at Fortaleza do GuinchoResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ellemay, I am really sorry for my late answer. It is with great pleasure I read your comment and learned that you have enjoyed your time in our property; I will share with my colleagues your comment, since that means a lot to all...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Cascais
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$211 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#7 Business Hotel in Cascais
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$211 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#7 Business Hotel in Cascais
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (573)
Room & Suite (219)
Dining (90)
Pool & Beach (36)
Family and Play Areas (9)
Amenities (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Fogarty9
July 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sargan | Reviewed this property |
It's an easy 20 minute ride by taxi or by car. There is a parking gargage in a great spot.
0
Votes
Anne K
April 28, 2017|
Answer
Response from Guincho0 | Property representative |
Good morning from Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho, Thank you very much for your interest in our property. Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho is located just in front of the beach where you can swim, but for the ones who do not fell... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
RubyRedBoots
March 27, 2017|
Answer
Response from Guincho0 | Property representative |
Dear Alberta, I am really sorry for my late answer, but I did not realise that we did not answer to your question. I am afraid the Hotel is built is a fortress from the XVII century without space to have a fitness centre... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Lower rooms have very small windows with the original bars across them!"
Read review
"Definitely have a room with a sea view or partial sea view"
Read review
"The 1-floor rooms because the 0-floor rooms open to the lobby"
Read review
"Room 210 is the absolute best. Right on the cliff. Huge deck."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing