We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel do Colegio

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel do Colegio
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed October 28, 2016

Helpful concierge, pleasant room, good location. The included breakfast was okay. There were delays in getting us checked in. The pool was decent but too cold. It is on a narrow street and sometimes hard to find. We were able to find parking nearby but it is a challenge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonnie_voyagie
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff n great location, hotel is in a beautiful building, and it would have been luxurious in the past but it is in need of a refresh. The pool could also do with being heated it would have been nice to go for a dip when we first arrived but way too chilly. Breakfast was nice lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Borgo val di Taro, Italy
Reviewed September 24, 2016

I spent only one night with my girlfriend in this hotel, but I have to say that we liked it a lot. The location is perfect, in the center town, the spaces are old fashioned, very interesting and beautiful. The room clean and large. The only point could be the breakfast, but in the hotel is absolutely advisable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco S
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Marco! We're very glad you chose us for your romantic getaway! We hope to see you again, maybe for a longer stay in Ponta Delgada. Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff

Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewed September 9, 2016

The hotel is located in the centre of Ponta Delgada. Within 5 minutes you are at the boulevard. Hotel is a bit old fashioned but the staff told us that there will be a big renovation in 2017. Private parking under hotel. Breakfast is basic but good. We have had diner, but we were sorry for choosing the hotel restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Laura! You were well informed, indeed! We are currently planning a big renovation that will improve the hotel facilities and update our decor. We are very sorry to hear that we couldn't provide our best dishes to you. We're usually very proud of our fish dishes but, unfortunately, they're not always available due to our...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 17, 2016

We've just had the most fantastic stay in the Azores and were very lucky our tour operator booked this hotel.It's in a fantastic location In the heart of the old town and we were spoiled by the superb room at the front of the hotel with a brilliant window view over the terracotta roof tops.we were just a very short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 123colin
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! You are very welcome! It warms our hearts to know you felt so good here in the Azores. We hope you left with a feeling you'll come back soon. Until then, we hope you have some great memories to go back to! Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 15, 2016

The hotel is located in the old town, only a couple of minutes walk from restaurants, sights and the waterfront - it is a good location and avoids the noise in the very centre of the old town, from bars, restaurants etc. The hotel used to be a music school and has been sympathetically converted. Our room was large, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twovass
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're delighted you took the time to learn a bit more about the history of our hotel and felt welcome here. We'll consider doing some changes on our breakfast selection, as you mentioned. We hope to see you again in a near future! Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff

Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed July 30, 2016

Professional and helpful staff; pleasant breakfast/restaurant area. Great that breakfast is included but exactly the same each day. Pool is right off restaurant and tables are also placed in pool area so could not be used in the evening...very cold water anyway! This hotel is not suitable for young children. Wi-fi works well in lobby area; less so in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbluby
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're delighted you had a pleasant vacation here in the Azores. We read your review carefully and took notes on the things we can improve, like our breakfast, pool and wi-fi. We hope to surprise you next time you come visit! Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 12, 2016

We had a lovely stay. Very impressed with the staff, who were so charming and helpful. This establishment is extremely well located. OUr room was at the front, but certainly not noisy and had lovely large windows which we could look out onto the quiet narrow street. Would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HungryHorse007
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment! We are very glad to hear you had such a good time here. We hope to see you again in a near future. Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

We arrived after midnight and were welcomed with a swift efficient check-in. Really needed after such a late arrival. We had booked a room facing the courtyard as we had read that other rooms could be noisy with street sounds. Our room was incredibly quiet - we slept soundly for our full stay. The room was big and clean. Functional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlackberryGin
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words! We're very thankful and appreciate your insights. You put a smile on our faces! We wish you had a great trip back home and look forward to see you again here in the Azores. Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Stayed twice excellent quiet hotel with good food excellent rooms facing swimning pool only problem is car parking as streets are very narrow and hotel car park is awkward to get in/out with mid size car. Staff speak good english rooms are large comfortable etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolm f
sofianoronha2014, Técnica Superior de Comunicação e Marketing at Hotel do Colegio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! They say the third time's the charm, so we hope you do come back to Hotel do Colégio sometime soon! Best regards, Hotel do Colégio Staff

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

216 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (138)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Junior Suite (25)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.3 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A window to the azorean essence and spirit! A small charm hotel installed in an old XIX century manor house, in the middle of Ponta Delgada's city centre. Ideal for the tourist or business traveler who wants to feel at home. The perfect combination of history and modern comfort. You can also enjoy the magical flavors of the azorean cuisine rethought by our finest cooks at A Colmeia restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel do Colegio

Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 39, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-040, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $64 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Colegio 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel do Colegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Colegio Hotel
Do Colegio Ponta Delgada
Hotel Do Colegio Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel do Colegio staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel do Colegio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 123colin, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
“This is a converted property so rooms vary in size and appeal - worth quizzing before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles twovass, Aug 15, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking alley noisy but you can see the harbor over the buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles tbluby, Jul 30, 2016 | Read review
“choose a room facing courtyard facing pool then no road noise”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmf416, Jun 28, 2016 | Read review
“Front room with balcony seemed to be larger, but could be noisy by chatting people on street.”
 of 5 bubbles Happybudgettravelter, May 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay