We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Avenida Infante D. Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an excellent hotel, offering a lot of space at a very reasonable price. Our unit had a little kitchenette and a sitting room. Situated on the city's main coastal boulevard, the hotel is close to restaurants and shopping. The hotel is older (circa 1970s), so if you're looking for up-to-date luxury this wouldn't be the right hotel for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved this hotel, it is close to everything - shopping, restaurants, on the coast so you step out onto the 'broadwalk'. Room was excellent, good size with kitchen and dining area, separate bedroom. Staff were really friendly, helpful and professional. I will definitely stay here again and can highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank JLemieux88
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

ma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we booked our room online didn't realize different views and apartments we got a cozy room on the city side quiet and perfect for just the two of us hotel is located on main road close to everything in town beautiful harbor across the street breakfast every morning very good selection the only rooms with fridge and microwaves are the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lani8301
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel is really well located in the downtown of Ponta Delgada. The room was big and was more than enough to make us happy during our stay. The room was clean and the bed was great. It had two tv's, a couch and a kitchen countertop, with dishes. You have free wi-fi in all hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Joao C
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our apartment was spacious and very clean and well attended to for the two weeks we stayed there; the staff was superior in giving advice and being professional and cheery; the hilite of our visit was learning about their culture, exploring the island and seeing the international car rally which we weren't expecting; it was a dream vacation for me... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulaE2205LO
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

This June i travelled for the second time to São Miguel and, in both times, i stayed in Hotel Gaivota. I really loved it, both times, and every time i'll return to that magnificent island, i'll stay in this same hotel, for sure! It's very well located: not far from the the airport, close to the historic center of Ponta... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

We booked this Hotel through a Travelzoo package and were very disappointed when we checked in. The Hotel is located in PDL, which seems to be a very dirty and unsafe city. The Hotel room was dirty, with hair on the bathroom floor and a chipped tub. We stayed one night, then checked out 2 days early to stay somewhere... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ahess02
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

We regret that our hotel and city have not surpassed your expectations. a register in order to be to analyze and improve the situation for the room was made. Best regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Travelers are raving about these Ponta Delgada hotels

New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

Before I booked the trip, I checked other reviews of the hotel and their website. I felt it all looked reasonable. What a disappointment. For starters, the room across from us was being gutted and renovated. Really unpleasant on vacation to have a group of workmen discussing the job outside the door. Not to mention the inability to take a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendygirl13827
Jose Manuel S, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

We apologize for not providing you with the information about hotel renovations prior to your arrival. With your dissatisfaction we learned that we should always inform our guest of any possible changes being made before their arrival . Unfortunately we were not aware of your dissatisfaction while as our guest, if such we could have possibly provided you with better... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

Read the reviews and opted for a sea view, definitely worth the extra. There is a well equipped supermarket next door that sells everything you need for self catering. Limited kitchenware so be a little bit create when it comes to using pots and pans. No kettle. Probably has the best position in town, minutes away from the municipal pool... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank LondonAnn
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Spent an enjoyable week here in mid October 2015.Apartment was very central in Ponta Ddelgada and only about 10 mins from the airport and a 10 euro taxi fare. Indeed we were at the hotel about 15 mins from coming out of Customs. We had a one bedded apartment on the 3rd floor at the rear of the hotel which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 857MikeyW
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta Delgada
0.4 mi away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#6 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
0.8 mi away
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
VIP Executive Azores Hotel
#10 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Ponta Delgada and next to Portas Do Mar, this hotel offers panoramic views of the marina right in the capital of the Azores Archipelago.All rooms at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota have wooden floors and elegant furnishings. Each of the air-conditioned rooms features a cable TV, and a minibar. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their room, while using the free internet. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes with terraces. Packed lunches are also available. The ocean pools of Ponta Delgada and the city's public pools are less than 50 meters away. Ponta Delgada Airport is 3 km away, and the hotel offers a car rental service on site. Currently the Hotel puts at your disposal nuptial apartments T1 Vip, T1, T2, rooms, apartments and a nuptial suite, bar and a conference room and expositions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Address: Avenida Infante D. Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $61 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay