We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vila Branca by Agua Hotels

Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia, Lagos 8600-315 Portugal
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (506)
Room & Suite (194)
Pool & Beach (82)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#18 of 49 hotels in Lagos
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Vilabranca offers a high standard of accommodation which feature a wide range of amenities within the complex. It is the ideal choice for families and those seeking a relaxing break close to Lagos. Clients can benefit from being away from the bustle of the resort, while remaining within comfortable walking distance of the centre of Lagos and Porto Do Mos Beach. Vilabranca has won many awards for its excellent service and friendly atmosphere. Lagos is a bustling old walled city, with great night life with fantastic restaurants, bars and shopping. You can spend hours pottering around the picturesque lanes. Lagos is very proud of its history and there is plenty of sightseeing from the ancient slave market to the 17th-century moated fortress overlooking the harbour.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Billiards
Airport transportation
Massage
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Tennis court offsite
Shuttle bus service
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Portuguese
842Reviews53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 394
  • 299
  • 96
  • 23
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Christopher B wrote a review Feb 2024
Exmouth, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Our ground floor studio apartment was very clean with modern furnishings and fittings. We had requested a room with a sunny aspect and got this-thank you to the management. We had a large terrace with table and chairs and 2 sunloungers. Beds were very comfortable,the bathroom had an excellent walk-in shower,the kitchen was well equipped though work surface was limited. There was a small sofa-a coffee table would have been useful. Heating was easy to operate and was effective. Towels were changed every 3days ,bedding weekly. Cleaning was daily. Lighting was good and there was always hot water. The surrounding paths and gardens were tidy and the area was quiet. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The apartments were in a residential area with a small useful supermarket close by. A large Intermarche supermarket was a 15 minute walk away (20 minutes back uphill). About 20 minutes to Dona Ana beach,the coastal boardwalk and Mos beach. Local buses stopped close to the entrance area-these went to the beaches and to Luz and Burgau. Timetables were in the bus shelter by the little supermarket. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vilabranca. We used it as a base to enjoy the many coastal walks in the area. It is a beautiful coast with a marked long distance footpath. We particularly liked the walks east and west of Burgau,using the bus to get there. We would definitely return to this property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, as the opinion of our guests is very important for us. Is very good to know that you had an excellent stay in Águahotels Vilabranca. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NeilB_767_11 wrote a review Feb 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom1 contribution
Very nice stay, unusual layout with apartment blocks & parking surrounding central area but it worked well. Rooms basic but very clean, all staff very helpful & friendly. Good breakfast. I ate in the Italian style restaurant each evening which was very good with reasonable prices. To answer previous review on here, all rooms have windows. I did not have patio door or private balcony but it was fine & there's space between apartments. The hotel is in a quiet inland residential area, Lagos town or the beach were about 15 minute walk. Would happily return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded 6 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to read it and to know that you will return. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
maryv55 wrote a review Dec 2023
Seguin Township, Canada183 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
We booked a studio with garden view with breakfast included. We were unhappy with dark patio so were moved to another. That patio had sunshine & was more pleasant for relaxing, but with view of parking lot. It was quiet, clean & modern studio. No decorating, simply furniture in a room. Kitchenette was stocked adequately for our needs. Towels changed on 4th day of our week stay. Hair dryer had to be loaned out from office with a $20 hold. Local Laundromat was a half block away. Small grocery/convenience store across the road. Pools weren’t heated so too cold to use in Nov. Lots of free parking. On site restaurant served buffet breakfast & eggs/bacon/sausages on order. Quite ample for us. Lunch & dinner available also. We only had Pizza, which was good. Friendly helpful staff in office. Larger apartments with pool views were an option but we chose a more affordable studio. Close to Alvor Beach with boardwalk & in Lagos the Dona Ana Beach(amazing views) & Meia Praia with boardwalk. Less than 5 mins drive to downtown & Marina. Lots of round-a-bouts in Portugal so download Google maps to find your way around. A pleasant stay within our budget.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Need to loan hair dryer with $20 put down & reimbursed at end of your stay. Breakfast option was...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Dec 7, 2023
Dear guest , Thank you very much for your review, which we apreciatted . It is very important for us to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay in Águahotels Vilabranca. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
N K wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
Can't really fault Vila Branca. We stayed in a 2 room apartment which was very clean and seemed to be newly fitted out. Staff were very polite and attentive, we didn't spend a great deal of time on site for the week we were there but felt like if you needed anything they were happy to help out. We opted for the breakfast option which was ok but pretty basic. Not sure why you can only order eggs scrambled? But I like scrambled eggs anyway (I did manage to get a fried egg done once) ;) Also a proper toaster machine would be a good idea instead of the small toy toaster on the side. Two unheated pools which I enjoyed both for a bracing swim, they were spotless and lovely to swim in. Some of the sun beds need updating but all in all a nice place to spend a few hours. Location is ok but the walk back from town is a mile uphill. Not too strenuous but it's a bit of a tedious route. Taxis are about €5. Parking is easy and free. There are two beaches about 15 / 20 minute walk or a two minute drive. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and it was perfect as a base to explore the Algave.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Nov 11, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and for your preference. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your opinion. We hope to welcome you again. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Voyage62675167694 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
+1
Lovely clean modern apartment. Better than the photos online. Ignore the bad reviews some people will moan about anything, like saying they are no pictures on the walls. So what if there isn’t, you’re on holiday not living there! Double power shower in the bathroom. We found the beds very comfortable and we had a spacious balcony where we sat for the evening sun. Staff on reception were polite, friendly and helpful. 2 pools and plenty of sun beds. The Italian Restaurant on site was good value and food quality good. They also did pizza to takeout. Small grocery shop across from the entrance to the complex that sold just about everything, staff in the shop spoke good English and were friendly. The walk to the beach, Marina and town centre was a 15 minute walk down hill, taxi back cost £3.80. Dona Ana beach and the buildings in the old town were beautiful , perfect for Instagram photos.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Nov 2, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and for your preference. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your holidays in Águahotels Vilabranca. Your opinion is very special to us because the most important is the satisfaction of our guests. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gemma J wrote a review Oct 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Please be careful with what kind of accommodation you book, I made the mistake of booking a “twin room” for my elderly parents, it was the most basic of rooms and the only outside space was a tiny triangle of patio at the front of the flat (see pics) my parents had to ask for seats so they could sit out there. Again this is my fault NOT the hotel but I thought I needed to add this in for people who might be thinking of booking the budget room. Cons - The restaurant - if you want to eat at the restaurant you won’t be able to see what’s available on the menu until you have been seated, which can lead to embarrassment if like myself you're allergic to onions and everything on the menu seemed to contain onion so I had to get up in front of everyone and explain to the staff why I was leaving! I asked if there was an alternative which there was but was told if I wanted this I had to pay, having already paid for half board accommodation I found this to be very unfair as it’s an allergy not a choice.! I would suggest that in future to save any embarrassment you would put up the evenings menu where people can make a choice before entering the restaurant. The room itself was very basic no kettle meaning no options to make yourself a drink when wanted. The shower screen was leaking, had someone come out to fix this twice but it was still leaking and so had to keep putting towels on floor. No shuttle bus from hotel to town/beach as advertised on their website. Apparently it finished at the end of their season which isn’t what it said when I booked the holiday and the hotel was fully booked so really can’t understand why it wasn’t running. As other people have stated in these comments the pool chairs were filthy there were some really awful ones full of black stuff!! Pros- A choice of 2 swimming pools, the complex as a whole was very nice like a little village. The reception staff were very helpful and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Oct 14, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review because the opinion of our guests is very important to us and can contribute for our improvements. About the menu of the restaurant á la carte and the menu of the halfpension is available in the restaurant and in the reception during the day. I am sorry that you didn´t have seen it before. As is informed, the shuttle bus runs during the high season. We are in a process of renovate the sunbeds in the pool. We hope to welcome you again in Águahotels Vilabranca. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris R wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
Modern well equipped friendly complex Lagos was beautiful we had a lovely relaxing holiday didn’t want to come home. Italian was lovely ate in Lagos most nights couldn’t fault anything staff friendly and helpful we would definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Get out and explore the area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Oct 7, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know that you had a good time in Águahotels vilabranca. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ChaChaMa wrote a review Sep 2023
Toronto, Canada261 contributions10 helpful votes
Nice resort about a 20 minute walk to any of the Lagos beaches. Suite was very large and clean. We had a small balcony but didn’t matter as there was a Ed’s to 2 pools, one of which was just downstairs. Always ate out with the exception of one lunch was which just ok. Morning coffee could have been much better. Overall I would resto.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We didn’t have a car but location is optimal for visitors with cars. A hike to the beaches or the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Oct 7, 2023
Dear guests, Thank you for your review. It is very good for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Águahotels Vilabranca. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pagermash wrote a review Sep 2023
Greystones, Ireland65 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We arrived late at night and were greeted by a very lovely staff member, can't remember his name but he was friendly and helpful as we had an issue with the apartment, we needed a vouch bed but the room assigned had just normal sofa so within a few minutes he got us a new apartment sorted. The apartment was amazing, very large, and spotlessly clean. We had a balcony overlooking the pool, which was lovely. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, pool area was lovely and restaurant too. The whole place is spotless. The food was very tasty, however a bit slow to arrive. The cocktails were delicious. Happy hour was a bargain. We really enjoyed our stay here, the location was perfect, it is a quiet area and close enough to walk to the town, shops or beaches. It's a quiet hotel and no entertainment, in September anyway which was fine for us. I would definitely come again, the staff really do a great job.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Sep 23, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. All the team feel very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Águahotels Vilabranca. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
UkBlackie wrote a review Sep 2023
uk28 contributions13 helpful votes
We spent a week in late August with my wife and two teenage boys and met my sister in law and niece there. My sister in law had arrived at the hotel at 12 midday after a 3-30 am start. We then arrived at 2pm we both had our passports taken and i had to pay my bill in full. We did not get our rooms till gone 5pm and my sister in law just before us and we only did so with a lot of complaining. Normal excuses as busy and full yep because its August! Ate in restaurant in evening and ok. As with previous review some of the sunbeds should be thrown in the bin! Apartments are clean, spacious and modern it was just a shame we started the holiday complaining. Also i must mention the lady on reception when we arrived she was very abrupt bordering on rude.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Neusa Rocha, General Manager at Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Responded Sep 13, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We feel very sorry that something was not according to your wishes because the most important for us is the satisfaction of the guests. The check-in starts at 4 p.m. , but normaly if the apartments are ready before we do the check-in before. It is really unsual to not have the apartments ready at 3 p.m. for the housekeeping inspection. Once again our apologies if something was not according to your expectations. We hope to welcome you again. Best regards, Neusa Rocha, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lagos area.
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vilabranca apartments hotel lagos, vilabranca lagos
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictLagos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILA BRANCA BY AGUA HOTELS $57 ($̶1̶2̶3̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Lagos, Portugal

Frequently Asked Questions about Vila Branca by Água Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Holy Trap - Escape Room Lagos (0.7 miles), Pro Putting Garden (0.5 miles), and Praia do Porto de Mos (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include CIUCCIO drinks and food, Jukebox Tapas & Meals, and Amorizade.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Vila Branca by Água Hotels have airport transportation?
Yes, Vila Branca by Água Hotels offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Vila Branca by Água Hotels located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Lagos.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Vila Branca by Água Hotels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Antigo Mercado de Escravos (0.7 miles).