We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Belmar Spa & Beach Resort

Save
Share
Estrada de Porto de Mos, Lagos 8600-513 Portugal
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (853)
Room & Suite (452)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Updated 07/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 60 hotels in Lagos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Belmar Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the beautiful beach of Porto de Mos in Lagos and comprises studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and two bedroom townhouses many of which have beach views. The fully equipped accommodation is of a high specification with luxurious interior design and includes satellite TV, DVD player, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette in the studio apartments). The Belmar Spa offers a wide range of luxurious spa rituals in addition to the indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and relaxing Chromotherapy suite. The outdoor leisure area comprises a tennis court/multipurpose sports pitch and a children's playground. There are four communal swimming pools, a children’s pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi and Hydrotherapy pool adjoining the spa. This luxury resort is just a five minute drive from the bustling town centre of Lagos.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
59Somewhat walkable
Grade: 59 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1042Reviews109Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 580
  • 324
  • 79
  • 40
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Scenic801622 wrote a review Jun 6
14 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Couldn't fault this hotel. Situated right on Porto do Mos, probably the best beach all round beach in the Algarve, this hotel has it all. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment with roof balcony which was brilliant. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Each apartment has a slightly different design to maximise the sun and the views throughout the day. Very clever. Housekeeping did a good job of helping us keep the place clean and tidy through the week, and were very discrete. The kitchen is well equipped, though we didn't do much cooking as such it, was great for drinks, lunches, breakfasts etc. Decent sized TV in the lounge. No hifi or music though, so bring your Bluetooth speaker. There are four pools to take your fancy, including one which doesn't allow children under 16, in case you want a bit more quiet or privacy. It's difficult to imagine them becoming too crowded or not being able to find a lounger, and their policy of 'use it or lose it' is absolutely correct. As far as I know, all four are heated. Certainly they were warm enough to be comfortable in late May/June, which hasn't always been our experience in Portugal. The gym is superbly equipped with resistance and cardio machines, and free weights. Reception staff were very accomplished and helped us throughout the stay with bookings, taxis etc. We only used the restaurant once but had a very pleasant lunch on arrival. The bar is small and probably not that exciting but seems to be well stocked. It looked like your could get waiter service to your sunbed, at least in the main pool. The WiFi is very good throughout though like anywhere there may be a few dead spots. Plenty of outdoor and basement parking, can't imagine there being any issues on that front. Having been visiting Lagos for over 30 years, I'd definitely recommend the Belmar and it's the place we'll stay on our next trip if the prices allow. A six seater taxi into town is only about 7 or 8 euros, and the benefit of being near to the stunning Porto do Mos and having those 4 beautiful pools sets it above the rest for us. Pro tip: this side of Lagos is probably the place to be, especially if you like it a bit quieter. There are some great options for an early morning or sunset walk/jog to Ponte del Piedade, and the board walks around the cliff tops. When visiting town, we always park in the underground car park at the pro putting mini golf place, from where its only yards through the city walls into the back of town, with the more bohemian restaurants and bars. It's cheap to park and you just pay at the end. The Intermarche nearby the hotel is only a few minutes drive, and has everything including a huge and excellent range of wines, beers and spirits, cheeses, fish counter etc etc.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Borges, Diretor-Geral at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Truly thankful for your kind words, that will be shared with the team! It's been a pleasure having you at our beautiful Resort and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Best Regards, Paula Borges | General Manager
Read more
OHT wrote a review May 2021
3 contributions
Hotel was lovely, room was clean, nice pools, super accommodating and friendly staff and great breakfast! Only downside is that we booked this hotel with the intention of playing tennis, unfortunately the tennis courts weren’t available all week due to a broken net so that was disappointing On our last couple of days we had some really noisy people above us so you could hear a lot of stomping around which was frustrating!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Borges, Diretor-Geral at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear OHT1992 1st of all thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. It was unfortunate that the tennis net broke while you were staying with us. we had to order a new one and it has now arrived so very soon it will be available again. I am sorry for this inconvenient, but it is something we could not anticipate. Regarding the neighbour’s noise, unfortunately we cannot control but, our sincere apologies for this. Again, we thank you for rating your experience and apologise for the shortcomings reported. We sincerely hope you will consider returning in the near future Regards Paula Borges | General Manager
Read more
David W wrote a review May 2021
12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Belmar Spa & Beach Resort from May 17th 2021, just as the UK lifted the foreign travel ban. We arrived by car and found the parking to be ample with both ground level and underground parking available. The car park was lined with palm trees with a grand entrance leading to the hotel reception. Check in was quick and efficient which was a bonus as we couldn’t wait to get in the sun!! The staff were very friendly and helpful. They explained the local area and resort facilities to us and even advised us on local Covid test centres for our return flight tests. It was also nice to see they were taking Covid seriously with sanitising stations located regularly across the hotel. The resort was quiet being the first day tourists were allowed into Portugal since UK travel restrictions were lifted. Due to Covid restrictions, The spa, gym and indoor pool were open, but on a restricted occupancy basis so we booked daily slots for our stay. It was nice to see the Gym was well equipped with quality Technogym machines and had a large free weights area plus a Smiths machine. There was also a spacious studio for spinning classes and a small relaxation / area for Yoga. The Gym had a glass wall overlooking the pools and sea. We found the hotel to be impeccably clean and modern throughout. We stayed in a 2 bedroom corner apartment, which had not one, but 4 balconies! giving us beautiful sea and pool views. The apartment was stunning! It gave us the Wow factor as we entered it. It was so spacious and luxuriously decorated with beautiful polished tile flooring throughout, incorporating in floor lighting in the hall entrance. It was light and airy, decorated in pale creams, white and brown tones that blended perfectly. The spacious hallway led to a large lounge and fully fitted kitchen area. We were again very impressed with the decor and quality of furnishings. There was a large cream leather corner sofa, coffee table, satellite TV and stone dining table. The kitchen had everything we could possibly need, a built in dishwasher, washing machine, coffee maker, twin ovens, large fridge freezer, blender plus every cooking utensil we could imagine. Both bedrooms were large with lots of wardrobe space, the main room was en-suite with twin sinks and a bath/ shower. The resort had 5 outdoor pools, including one large adult only pool which was well separated from the others. The restaurant was set up high overlooking the pools and through to the sea, It was closed when we arrived due to the recent Covid restrictions and was being prepared to open shortly after we left so unfortunately we didn’t get to try it out. The resort was located just outside the centre of Lagos overlooking a long soft sand beach. There coastline of Lagos is really stunning, with its colourful rock formations that line the beaches and rise from the sea. We visited several beaches close to the hotel and took some beautiful sunset photos at Camilo beach. Lagos town itself, has many little streets lined with restaurants and shops of all types. The town was clean and had a nice vibe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Belmar Spa & Beach resort but it ended too soon. We would definitely love to return again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Borges, General Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
G3639NCdavidw You made my day. It is such a pleasure to reeive this feed back. We feel that all our hard work is recognized. On behalf of our team, thatnk you very much ... Obrigada We hope to wecome you again soon Regards Paula Borges General Manager
Read more
Rosie wrote a review Oct 2020
19 contributions20 helpful votes
The location is ideal if you want to be close to the beach, around a 5 minute walk. However, the supermarkets are around 15/20 minute walk away, or should I say hike with the hills. Only one bar and restaurant at the beach, had to get taxis into Lagos every night. Room was lovely, nice view of the pool. Staff cleaned every day and to a very high standard. Kitchenette had everything we needed. Although, be aware of the €250 fine for breaking any crockery or not handing your keys back at the end of your stay! Sun beds around the pool weren’t very socially distanced and could be moved at will, something that put me on edge during the pandemic. There were a lot of children at the 'adult pool', making it very disruptive. Breakfast was a nightmare most mornings. The food was cold and was sent back several times during our stay. The rule of masks indoors when not sat at a table was not enforced regularly. All in all a relaxing stay in the midst of the global pandemic. Most staff were friendly. Was quite disappointed with some aspects. Hotel would benefit from having a small shop in the reception area selling drinks and snacks. Not somewhere I’d stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Borges, General Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Responded Oct 8, 2020
Dear rosielizziex Thank you for staying with us. We thank you for rating your experience and apologise for the shortcomings reported. we are however very happy to know you have enjoed the room, the view and the standards of cleaning. We sincerely hope you will consider returning in the near future
Read more
Moni-K wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom109 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
Perfect hotel to spend a relaxing holiday in Lagos. Away from the center, this hotel has lovely apartments, beautiful pools and fantastic sea views. The beach is only at 5 min walk. I was very disappointed with the restaurant, no many options, the service wasn’t very good, the food took ages even if it wasn’t busy, the waiters didn’t speak English and we didn’t get the wine we ordered. The hotel is fantastic and I think it needs a good restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Borges, General Manager at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Responded Oct 1, 2020
We thank you for rating your experience and apologise for the shortcomings reported. We sincerely hope you will consider returning in the future and I am sure you will experience a better service in our Restaurant.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belmar spa & beach hotel lagos, belmar spa and beach resort
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictLagos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
189
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Praia do Camilo (0.7 miles), Praia do Porto de Mos (0.5 miles), and Praia do Canavial (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Amorizade, Aqui Ha Gato, and Brasão.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Belmar Spa & Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Belmar Spa & Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Belmar Spa & Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Belmar Spa & Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.