We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua Dunfermline Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278 Portugal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (861)
Room & Suite (321)
Pool & Beach (117)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Updated 07/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 269 Specialty lodging in Albufeira
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.1
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Sofa
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese
1673Reviews230Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 680
  • 570
  • 259
  • 94
  • 70
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
babyLiverpool wrote a review Oct 3
liverpool20 contributions12 helpful votes
Stayed here for a week,nice hotel but bored stiff at night…every night got told what entertainment was on,but nothing appeared,pool bar closed at 6 but pool area at 9pm so had to go sit in very dark bar,why wasn’t there an outside area to enjoy warm nights,plus all inclusive bar closed 10-30pm completely,going back in November but not here…cocktails were not on AI plus bar man was obsessed with taking your glass away & replacing it with paper cup so you couldn’t take your drink to your room…sorry won’t be goin back…albuferer yes but not this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lynn M wrote a review Sep 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
We have just experienced an absolutely fabulous stay at Grand Muthu Fort de Vale This hotel is in an excellent location We stayed all inclusive and the Staff were all professional. Food was superb - there was a different selection of foods each day The room was cleaned every day I hope to be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your nice comments and we all appreciate what you have mentioned about about our staff and cleaning ,food and In future we will make sure we can count on you to have you again with us. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dhall7 wrote a review Sep 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom108 contributions117 helpful votes
Good self catering but could be better. Large comfortable lounge, slightly dated furniture but good quality . Cleaners need to look at the ridges on the coffee table as lots of dust. Kitchen has everything you need, however the drip coffee machine and Toaster are of the cheapest quality. They let down the property. Bathroom was OK but needed better lighting and shower head. The shower head is tiny resulting having to stand right against the wall to use the shower. Simple fix. The balcony was good size but let down by cheap patio furniture provided by Nestle, sure MGM 5 star can afford better? Pool lovely but sun beds need replacing and the same cheap nestle tables and chair. (Only 6 for a very big hotel) . As a result we didn't spend any time at the pool area. Reception staff friendly and efficient. Cleaners very hard working and do a fab job (apart from odd bit of dust?Location good for old and new towns. Good supermarket, bars and restaurant out the back door. I think if MGM upgrade some of the items mentioned then I would give 5 out of 5
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Lovely restaurant and bars close to the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your comments as they are very important to us . We did take note about cleaning and all materials and we will improve to have you again in future. Thank you as well for mentioned about reception area. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
This was our first family holiday to the Algarve. We chose this hotel as on balance it had reasonable reviews. We stayed at the hotel for 7 days. We had a one bedroom apartment which was clean, well decorated and well equipped. It had all the amenities that you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel although I am sympathetic to those people who feel it is not a top end 5 star hotel. Its in a good location not far from the beach, restaurants and busy “Strip”. The staff were professional and friendly. We opted for the bed and breakfast option as we prefer to explore local restaurants in the evening. The breakfast buffet was well stocked, my only comments would be the fried bread was to soggy and they stopped providing those lovely pancakes after 3 days.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your nice comments and we all appreciate. In future we will make sure you will have your pancakes every day so we can count on you to have you again with us. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tomlinsonmichael2003 wrote a review Sep 2022
Darlington, United Kingdom40 contributions12 helpful votes
Our first impression of the MGM Muthu Forte Do Vale was that it looked really nice…but our stay there was far from perfect. Despite booking a room with a balcony we were given a room with a balcony door, but no access, and when we raised this with reception we were told there were no rooms with a balcony available. The walls and floors are very thin, and noise travels very easily. The outdoor pools are quite big but were very cold. I used weights area of the hotel gym, which was ok, but there were odd dumbbells missing, there was no aircon and no staff to be seen. The hotel advertises multiple restaurants that you could eat at, however, only the Italian, La Toscana, was on site. We were a party of 6 and when we all checked in together, we decided to book the Italian. The fact we had booked together was not communicated to the restaurant, and despite there only being about 8 tables in the entire restaurant, the guy “managing?” that evening seemed to be thrown into a stress panic that they had to put 2 tables together to accommodate us (please note the restaurant wasn’t full), and from that point we felt we were being treated like an inconvenience. The portion sizes were tiny, the lasagne I ordered was barely 4 fork fulls. They did prepare some gluten free spaghetti for one member of our party, who subsequently ordered arrabiata sauce, however, when it arrived it was laden with cheese, and certainly didn’t taste like arrabiata sauce, not a difficult recipe. The all inclusive buffet food was good, they didn’t try to do too much, and the dishes that were available were tasty. The all inclusive wines were good, as well as the draught Sagres beer. The desserts were interesting, and we invented the game Chocolate or Mockolate, where we had to guess which of the delicious looking desserts actually tasted of chocolate or not. There was a good selection of fresh fruit, which was also available at the pool bar during the day along with BBQ’d burgers, kebabs and prawns. The bar staff at the pool and the Piccadilly bar a friendly and helpful. The pool area does not open until 9am, so there’s no early morning starts to reserve a sun lounger. The hotel is also in a nice location in between the strip and the old town, approximately 10-15 minute walk to each. Would I stay there again?....Probably not, unless we got a very deal.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments witch we appreciate because they are very important to us. Every think you comment we are going to analyze and we will do our best to correct things you think are not well to deserve your presence again with us. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick. wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Do not get sucked in by the 5* rating. This is pushing 4*at best. Had a week all inclusive, breakfast was okay, full English available if that's what you want. Lunch and dinner buffet was not good. Food was lacking imagination and luck warm at best. Ended up eating out next to the hotel. The wine seems to come from a box under the counter and is awful. The pool bar is the same standard, white plastic furniture, the chairs back legs collapse and people go flying backwards. Luckily no one has been hurt yet. Good points, check-in quick, house keeping very good , bar staff really good including Sundeep , if he ever leaves the hotel the experience will be lessened. The Italian restaurant is a la carte but again iis warm at best. Overall we had a nice time, let down by the food and drink selection for all inclusive. Don't pay for all inclusive, lots of good food and bars next to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your comment because it is very important to us know what our guest say about us. We will improve for better and we will do our best to receive you in future again. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie B wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I was really excited to spend a week at this hotel with my partner. Our trips are usually 3 or 4 nights, so going for 7 nights... we really couldn't wait. We chose this hotel after a lot of research and settled due to the location and 5* status given by the hotel itself and booking.com I can say this hotel is way below any 5* standard I've seen. I make my comparisons with hotels on the Costa del Sol as I figured these would be close in quality. That being said, we didn't have a terrible stay, if you manage your expectations you'll probably really enjoy it. Location Cant fault the location. 10 minute walk to the strip. 20 mins to old town (is down hill to get there so keep that in mind if you're walking back!) City sightseeing bus and the land trains all stop near by. Reception Check in was great, very quick and amineties/all inclusive explained really well. Every member of staff we encountered at the reception desk was amazing and really helpful. Cant fault them there! We needed the shower hose replacing as it split, and this was sorted immediately. Room We had a deluxe apartment. Very spacious, had all of the things you'd need should you stay self catering. It is quite dated though, and there is a lack of accessible pulg sockets. Our balcony was south/south west facing so was very hot with sun for a few hours each afternoon. You could get a room the other side of the hotel but the view is far less superior. Towels and bed linens very clean and good quality. Aircon in the lounge and bedroom. Bed was a little hard for me. We had two single beds (I dont recall an option on booking to request a double, but assumed it would be standard) Plenty of pillows , too hard and high for me, but you can't please everyone! We didn't have much interaction with house keeping, there was a language barrier, but the ones we tried to speak to were so nice and trying to do all they could for us. Restaurant Breakfast was fine (apart from the coffee, it is terrible) the food selection was okay for me. English sausages, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, hash browns etc. Bacon was available but did not look appetising. There was a good choice of bread, fruit etc. Lunch and dinner... we had lunch twice in 7 days and dinner 3 times. Very little choice, and always luke warm. We were leaving the hotel at 6pm one evening and all the food was out ready, but the restaurant didn't open until 6:30pm! So no wonder it was never hot! The staff in the restaurant seemed pretty uninterested most of the time. Would.often run out of plates and mugs so we'd have to ask. Tables are also not laid! This may seem a small thing, but for 5* I do expect a clean and laid table. The wine is also terrible. As part of all inclusive, you are able to visit the al a carte Italian restaurant on site, or travel to other sites to eat at their restaurants. We ate at 'La Tosacana ' at this hotel. We got our hopes up for a hot meal, but were soon to discover that it seems impossible to get hot food at this hotel! At least the wine came out of a bottle! (But it was the same cheap rubbish) Bars The hotel has the pool bar open until 6pm, then the picadilly circus bar opens. Outdoor seating is limited, there is 5 or 6 plastic tables at the pool bar... plastic tables come with plastic chairs, that my partner and at least 4 others I witnessed suffered a chair collapse! Luckily no one was hurt! The management dont apprear concerned by this, maybe its because no one has seriously injured themselves.... yet! There is a very limited selection for all inclusive drinks. The beer is not to bad, the rum okay, but same as the restaurant, the wine is terrible. If you order wine, it comes from a box under the counter (I dont mind boxed wine, but this is just cheap boxed wine!) Best thing about the bars is the staff. Sundeep was amazing, so friendly and really took his time to make sure those he was serving were having the best time! Credit to that man! Pool Lovely pool, very big. Some days there was an issue getting loungers as people had reserved with towels. Over all, okay! NO lifeguard which i found very strange!! Spa Access is included with all inclusive. But it feels like its an after thought for the hotel. We were told we needed to purchase swim caps for the spa, no issue with this, standard practice at any spa ive been too. The problem is, there is no staff down there... no one is policing or managing the area. No one making sure the skin caps were warn. No one to welcome you either, my partner had to stick his had over the reception counter for a locker key. It wasn't very clean, just not well cared for. Overall, would I stay here again? No. Would I recommend this place to friends? No. Wpukd I recommend the all inclusive package? NO, plenty of decent places near by to eat! A few little tweaks and this hotel can be as great as I am sure it once was! Lay tables for goodness sake and make sure the food is hot and get some semi decent wine! The employees are the best part of this hotel, without a doubt. I feel management could sort a few things to make this diamond in the rough shine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All inclusive, my opinion its better to do b&b or self catering
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your comment because it is very important to us know what our guest say about us. You have donned a description of all areas what we did appreciate so we can improve and do it better. to receive you in future again. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna1075 wrote a review Aug 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
Just come back from this hotel, il start with good points drinks good ,sudip behind bar at pool best bar man always welcoming really nice man, the rooms large and spacious and cleaned daily , breakfast good and some good food options on all inclusive. Bad points arrived couldn't even get water have to wait until 11am when pool bar opens for even water which was ridiculous, pool tiny nothing for children to do and pool bar has burgers and melon every daywhich isn't too bad but eventually get sick of burgers, entertainment is terrible to non existent very boring at night, if I had small children I wouldn't come here. Location quiet have to walk to get to bars or beach. Overall its a ok hotel nothing special just a ok all inclusive, more like a 3 star , broken sun beds and plastic chairs by pool if you want just the sun a few drinks by pool it's fine anything else not good
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate what you mentioned about Sudip at the pool bar. We feel sorry that your expectations were not the same as you want. About water till 11 you could get every day from 8 in the morning at the breakfast area. About entertainment we feel sorry that you did not appreciate. We take care about what you mentioned and and we will do our best to do better for the future. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catherine411790 wrote a review Aug 2022
Essex, United Kingdom21 contributions2 helpful votes
We have just stayed here for 8 days - with 2 children ages 6&7 , self Catering - had the option to upgrade to all inclusive upon arrival for 135 euros per day but decided not to, glad we didn’t as we could eat out and about. The facilities were great, nice pools , kids area, games room, indoor pool , sauna , steam room , jacuzzi, gym , spin studio. Reception staff always friendly and happy to help calling taxis, giving local info etc. Cleaning done every day, some days only had small towels but not too much of an issue. Communal areas all clean and tidy. Lots of sunbeds , only didn’t get a sun bed when we came to the pool in the afternoon only. Communal seating areas nice and comfy. Location is good, with many different areas to walk to / get taxi to but away from the noisy main strip for the young party goers. Would 100% stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Thank you very much for your comments and is always nice when someone recognise what we are doing. From all of us at Forte do Vale João Cabrita General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah B wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I will start with the positives. Good location. 10 minutes walk to beach and main strip. That's about it! Now for the negatives. Do not opt for All Inclusive. Food was terrible. Luke warm, very little variety, tasteless and on one occasion the chicken they were serving at lunch was raw (see picture). On several occasions there was not enough cutlery, cups plates or food. On these occasions I had to ask for these to be replenished. Most days I also had to ask for tables to be cleared so we could eat our food. The situation in the restaurant was so bad that the manager of the hotel was helping to clear tables and replenish cutlery and food. The pool area was very crowded and not child friendly. (A young boy was very seriously injured during our stay after he fell over a wall on to a flight of tiled stairs) The bar closed at 5.30 pm so if you wanted a drink you had to go to the inside bar. There was no entertainment, only a radio playing. The pool was dirty and tiles had a green scum mark all around. Our room was cleaned everyday but the view from our balcony looked like a scene from Chernobyl. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable which made it very hard to get a good nights sleep. All in all not a 5 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from João Cabrita, General Manager at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Regarding your comments i respect them but not agree with them. Is your opinion.and i respect it. We do apologies for the inconveniences you mentioned. We all at Forte do Vale feel disappointed because we try to make the holidays of our clients the best possible. João Cabrita Forte do Vale Genaral Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$61 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
forte do vale hotel albufeira
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictAlbufeira
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Muthu Forte do Vale
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Nearby attractions include Mission Masters Escape Rooms Albufeira (0.01 miles), Angelus Bar (0.2 miles), and Adventure Mini Golfe Park (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cais Ao Mar Algarve, Stews & More, and Festa da Praia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Grand Muthu Forte do Vale have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Muthu Forte do Vale offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Grand Muthu Forte do Vale have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Muthu Forte do Vale offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Muthu Forte do Vale located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Albufeira.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Muthu Forte do Vale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.