We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Evora Hostel

Save
Share
Rua de Serpa Pinto 68, Evora 7000-537 Portugal
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$37
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/04/21
Priceline
Agoda.com$39
eDreams$37
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (7)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 39 Specialty lodging in Evora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Old Évora Hostel is located in the historical center of Évora, inside the city walls. You can see all the main attractions of the city within a small walking distance from our hostel. Giraldo Square - 290 meters (05 minutes) Roman Temple - 800 meters (11 minutes) Cathedral - 550 meters (08 minutes) Chapel of Bones - 600 meters (08 minutes) Garcia de Resende Theater - 600 meters (08 minutes) Park - 550 meters (09 minutes) We have two buildings, very typical of this region, with different types of rooms. If you come alone, with friends or as a couple, don't worry, we've got your back!
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Rooftop terrace
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Outdoor dining area
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Microwave
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
98Reviews4Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 21
  • 14
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
São P wrote a review Apr 2020
Lisbon, Portugal15 contributions17 helpful votes
I had to stay for a month March/April because of the LOCKDOWN, hygiene is no existent, even when I asked to have the bathroom clean and disinfected they didn't clean it, especially during this times of COVID.19 such was not a priority, disinfect the facilities. The mattresses are made of sponge and very thin. At the main building, I solo travel female, fear for my security, the hostel was full of construction workers screaming obscenities and very aggressive, but there was no one responsible day or night at the reception. After I complain they moved me to another building, where I stayed for the most of April, the bathroom was already dirty, and as long I stayed was never cleaned, even when I asked for. The facilities are not being taking care of cleanness and comfort, the management just doesn't care or supervise. Not a place for female solo travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Not suitable for solo female travellers.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from OldEvoraHostel, Proprietário at Old Évora Hostel
Responded May 11, 2020
First of all we would like to thank your comment and preference in Old Évora Hostel. We always want to listen to our guests' feedback and, of course, improve our services. At the time you were in the hostel, we were in minimum services, however there was someone there 24 hours a day to help you out (we were also always available by phone or email). Not to mention that the common areas were cleaned everyday as usual, according to our regular schedule. We decided to transfer you in a different building where you were most of your stay, so the other guests - workers of essentail services - could have a more relaxed atmosphere, since you were constatly disturbing them, which led to several complaints. You can only get infected with the COVID-19 if you are directly in contact with someone who has the virus, so since you were alone in the building you had no risks except for the cleaning employee. We get sad when our guests check-out and fortunately it's most of them! However we can't help but to feel releived when some check-out... Kind regards, Team Old Évora Hostel
Read more
Mara wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
loved it, close to everything, just 3 min from giraldo square, cozy, clean, very cheap, with breakfast included. the best to visit the center. i had a great time there, the staff is very helfull and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Oldevorahostel Oldevorahostel, Proprietário at Old Évora Hostel
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hostel! We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Team Old Évora Hostel
Read more
zkujundzic wrote a review Aug 2018
Croatia8 contributions
It was my third trip to Portugal. I am a project coordinator and this hostel is the place to stay in during your possible trip to the town of Evora. It's near the Giraldo square, the heart of Evora. Besides, the owners are so great and their hospitality is sth I will keep in my memory.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Oldevorahostel Oldevorahostel, Proprietário at Old Évora Hostel
Responded Jul 21, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hostel! We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Team Old Évora Hostel
Read more
Diogo_de_Almeida wrote a review Mar 2018
Lisbon, Portugal10 contributions
The area in the middle of the hostel is a great place to ease your mind and relax after a day of touring. Very cosy, clean and well situated. I recommend the kitchen. It has a lot of space and very well equiped.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Oldevorahostel Oldevorahostel, Proprietário at Old Évora Hostel
Responded Jul 21, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hostel! We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Team Old Évora Hostel
Read more
AFLanYao wrote a review Dec 2017
New York City, New York267 contributions57 helpful votes
The owner was very generous to help me out with everything. The place was modern and clean. However, because it is really a backpacker place, the structure is a bit weird and a guy came to my room three times just to look for his bed, a bit scary...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$19 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalAlentejoEvora DistrictEvora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Évora Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Old Évora Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Centro Histórico de Évora (0.3 miles), Muralhas de Évora (0.2 miles), and Igreja de Sao Francisco (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Évora Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a concierge.
Which room amenities are available at Old Évora Hostel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Old Évora Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Évora Hostel?
Yes, free public parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Évora Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Botequim da Mouraria, Taberna De Santo Humberto, and D'Ibérica Restaurant.
Is Old Évora Hostel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Evora.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Old Évora Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Old Évora Hostel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Muralhas de Évora (0.2 miles), Cathedral of Évora (Sé Catedral de Évora) (0.3 miles), and Aqueduto da Agua de Prata (0.4 miles).
Does Old Évora Hostel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.