We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
Panoramas (32)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 132: English reviews
London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is stunning. Friendly staff. Excellent location and fantastic views from the castle tower. Room was large comfortable, furnished with antiques and had a view across the town. Parking was not a problem (just outside and free of charge). Breakfast in dining room was good - nicely presented buffet with teas, coffee, juices, fresh fruit, cereal, continental cheeses and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan247
Management response:

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visitng us and for posting your opinion . Glad you have a great time. Best Regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Naples, Florida
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed there with my children, service, food , views were amazing. Will go back for sure when visiting Portugal. Historic building with long history, if looking for peace and quiet no better place. Loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isidra G
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well the service of our staff. Glad you had a great time. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo

west yorkshire
Reviewed October 19, 2016

The Pousada was a lovely Castle lovely comfortable room with a fantastic view in an old village. Even fresh fruit in the room I could not knock the place until dinner!! We were on a tour run by Titan Travel so there were about 40 for dinner. First the bar service was very slow just one barman who was pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ovalball13
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for giving your review wich we carefully read. Unfortunatly we noticed that our services didn`t met your expectations and we apologise for that. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpfull allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose de...

Wiltshire
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We had a delightful 2night stay visiting the town and surrounding areas. Our room was large and the view was delightful . The staff helpful and attentive.The outdoor pools is in beautiful surroundings a delightful place to waste a couple of hours. The small town is very quiet but has a market on Saturday .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cswindon
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Glad you had a great time. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016

This stunning hotel atop an ancient walled town was very poor at managing the huge group that we were part of. It is a most beautiful and fascinating building with loads of interesting historic details. However, just one receptionist to register 42 people didn't make us feel very welcome. Throughout our stay we felt there were insufficient staff - at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingerfoxesmum
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We hope to be able to continue to wecome in a near future. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Hertfordshire
Reviewed October 8, 2016

We were given a room up in the roof which was an interesting shape but there was no possibility of sitting and looking out of the window, as it was at a higher level than the room with some steps up to a platform. Our room was not made up one day despite being left for eight hours with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tennisgirl1
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking your valuable time to post a review in our page. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 3, 2016

The Pousada de Estremoz is a beautifully restored property on top of a hill overlooking the city and the surrounding scenery, including the vineyards. The pool area is beautifully maintained and an excellent place to relax and have a drink. The restaurant is grand and elegant. The food was excellent. As in both Pousadas we stayed in, the Pestana Group...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHU1954
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to year you enjoyed your sty as well the service f our staff and food. Glad you had a great time. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo Unit Manager

Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

We had a great one night stay here. There are beautiful art and antiques everywhere. We had one of the best gin and tonics I've ever had sitting on the comfortable sofas overlooking Estremoz. The breakfast buffet was nice with lots of pastries, yogurt, fruit, eggs, cheese, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review. Glad you had a great time. We hope to welcome you again. Best Regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with delicious food, good wine, a good and personable staff. The room and views were stunning, and our every need was addressed. The staff was always available but never imposing. Thanks for the wondrful stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShawnC-NJ
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review on Trip Advsior. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well the service of our staff. Glad you had a great time. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo

Leominster, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2016

Estremoz is less visited than Evora, but definitely worth a look - a lovely, castle town set on a hill with great history. Many of the Pestana Pousadas are a bit disappointing; often they are modern blocks set in a historic site. This one has it all - a stunning residence/convent set in the castle walls above the town with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillip o
Manager_StIsabel, Gerente at Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel, responded to this review

Dear Guest., On behalf of the whole team at Pousada Castelo de Estremoz|Historic Hotel, let me thank you for your interest and preference. We are fully committed on have a service of excellence to our guests and therefore it was with a great pleasure that we read your positive comments on your experience at Pousada Castelo de Estremoz. We thank...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

498 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (237)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Standard Room (22)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
Superior Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estremoz
0.3 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
10.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
10.3 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
16.6 mi away
Torre De Palma Wine Hotel
8.9 mi away
Monte da Rosada Albergaria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Pousada de Estremoz Restaurant
Pousada de Estremoz Restaurant
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pousada of Estremoz is situated in a privileged place, as is the Castle Estremoz. It is an authentic museum which has a range of antic furniture, wall tapestries, iron decorative pieces and porcelain from other times. D. Dinis ordered the construction of this building for his wife the queen Santa Isabel, which has given its name to the Pousada. Placed in the old city, this was the stage of battles, love and treason. This luxury hotel in Estremoz offers from its gardens and pool, a magnificent panoramic view of Estremoz and the Alentejo plain. Guests can enjoy a glass of regional wine in the castle's spacious dining room or enjoy a game of pool in the Pousada de Estremoz' games room. Nearby activities include fishing, guided countryside treks and bicycle rides. The Pousada de Estremoz has free local parking, at 1.2 Km from the Estremoz railway station and 17.3 Km from the Evora Monte Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel

Address: Largo Dom Dinis, Estremoz 7100-509, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Estremoz
Price Range: $87 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel Hotel Estremoz
Pousada De Hotel Estremoz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Any room is good. Just the food is very POOR”
 of 5 bubbles ovalball13, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Any room is great”
 of 5 bubbles gosousa, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 128, which I would not recommend”
 of 5 bubbles Ina755, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“Stick to a standard room on the first floor if you want value for money. 114 is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles YvonneT, May 24, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have that castle charm. If you can, book the suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Townie-TRIP, Mar 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay