We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3301 Lawrenceville Rd, Lawrence Township, NJ 08540-4719
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$169
View Deal
eDreams
Hotels.com
Booking.com$170
Expedia.com$170
CheapTickets$170
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (75)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 11/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Glencairn
Updated 11/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lawrence Township
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Recently ranked in the Top 10 for the Mid-Atlantic Region by Conde Nast Readers Choice Awards Inn at Glencairn features the modern amenities of a boutique hotel in a meticulously renovated 1736 Georgian manor, located conveniently between Princeton and Lawrenceville in a bucolic country setting. Guests are pampered with pristine en-suite baths, comfortable new mattresses and featherbeds featuring silky soft linens and down duvets, flat screen televisions as well as complimentary and reliable WIFI. Relax in our common areas and guest rooms which are graced with original art, eclectic antiques, and Oriental carpets. Grab a glass of complimentary wine to enjoy in our 19th century barn, or enjoy some peace and solitude wandering our nearly three acres of grounds. Indulge in our award-winning, complimentary farm-to-table breakfast featuring locally sourced and organic ingredients. Arguably the “best breakfast in town,” your feast may include our made-from-scratch fresh strawberry and raspberry preserves, nutty granola or buttermilk biscuits and berry scones. Showcasing farm fresh produce, our seasonal healthy breakfasts are so plentiful, you may decide to skip lunch altogether! The Inn at Glencairn is located just three miles south of Princeton University, Princeton University Art Museum, and McCarter Theatre. Also less than 10 miles away is the world renowned Grounds for Sculpture.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Car hire
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
360Reviews1Q+A66Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 324
  • 28
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JimP39s wrote a review Dec 2020
Hinsdale, Illinois15 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed during the pandemic and felt very comfortable with the precautions taken for guests. We would have hugged Lydia for her gracious hospitality and excellent local tips if times were different! The breakfasts were delicious and more generous than we could finish. While the nightly cost may be above other local options, the special touches and breakfast more than make up for the difference in price. If you enjoy uniqueness, privacy, a piece of history and a good breakfast, the overall value is excellent. We will definitely return again when we visit family in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The photos on the web site are helpful in selecting a room you'll like.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Pressel, Owner at Inn at Glencairn
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your recognition of the precautions in place for a safe and comfortable stay. We look forward to your return visit!
Read more
HappyTraveler347 wrote a review Aug 2020
Princeton, New Jersey17 contributions12 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
This was our third stay at the Inn where lovely Lydia is the Innkeeper. It’s a quiet, restful, comfortable place where great attention is paid to thoughtful amenities and beautiful, delicious breakfasts. Coffee, tea and an assortment of red wines are complimentary and always available. The beds are comfy and the bed linens wrap you in luxurious softness. The Inn is located near Princeton, NJ with its many fine restaurants and the famous ivy covered university campus to explore. Even closer to the Inn is the charming village of Lawrenceville. Our favorite cafe is Vidalia with a lively outdoor seating area and a varied and interesting menu. Service is friendly and well paced. We hope you have an opportunity to stay at the historical Inn at Glencairn. You will be so glad you did. Happy Travelers, Joan and Doug
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Pressel, Owner at Inn at Glencairn
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Dear Joan and Doug, thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate the trust you have placed in us time and again and look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit!
Read more
Liz Forst wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions
The Inn is charming and Lydia was warm and welcoming (while scrupulously maintaining social distancing), the room inviting and very comfortable. We would return in a hearbeat - in fact our only regret was that we hadn't booked the room for the entire weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Pressel, Owner at Inn at Glencairn
Responded Dec 3, 2020
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can stay longer next time!
Read more
Pattie S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
The Inn is charming and the grounds beautiful. Lydia was the perfect hostess, even during Covid. We felt completely safe there. Lydia is also a gourmet cook. The breakfast was delightful . We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Pressel, Owner at Inn at Glencairn
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are trying hard to balance our high level of hospitality with strict adherence to Covid restrictions. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
Courtney M. wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
So when I found this hotel, my first one had canceled reservations due to covid issues. Two days out from my trip I was frantically looking for a new place. I was not happy. But this was inexpensive and close to where I needed to be. Two days out from travel and I’m getting a how to check in email. I thought it was going to be crazy hard with all these directions. And suddenly feared the big chain store off the shelf, quilt style inn. Ha! No, no, I was completely overthinking all of this. Oh,and fyi, I was I so so wrong about that. But! When I got here it was past check in time and they'd left their way for you to arrive after hours, and it was so incredibly simple. I like historic stuff. Opening the entry door I became excited. So excited at the old world charm that I ran up the main staircase to find my room. I noted here it didn’t actually smell old. Everything smelled so fresh and clean! Though, foolish little old me failed to actually follow directions in my welcome letter so I had a small issue when I got there. You see, I booked the suite. FYI it's worth it. And not expensive either. So, I'm upstairs and I couldnt find my room!! I'm going...what in the....So I actually read my welcome letter. Oh. Following directions is rewarding.... Down the stairs I went. Passing a dining room on my left I headed into a beautiful parlor, I thought great, It's small. But, Per my letter I passed this up. Down I went into a common space, the smell of burned wood from a large full wall fireplace greeting me. It was so beautiful. Again no obnoxious or strong smells. To the side staircase! Up I went. Now, these stairs are very very steep and shorter (so handicapped wouldn’t be able to manage) but again this is a historic home that was thought to be established in the 1700s. There’s not going to be an elevator. This place is a little creaky. I still love it. And there it was, room number five. One small turn of a key and a push of the door and...well...wow. The room is huge. HUUUUGE. Setting my gear down after a long flight and day, I immediately went to the bathroom to shower. I thought I'd walk right into the bathroom. No. This suite...HAS A SECOND ROOM. (note:kids 10 and up only) two long twin sized beds wait there. But I left that room found the bathroom adjacent in the little hall. I held my breath for a second. We've been there. A great historic room but a horribly out of date bathroom. No. Not this place. The shower is a tiled, more modern, spacious thing that is so comfortable. Bonus: it passed the I like to turn my shower up to lava temp test. It’s stocked well too! Note: The bed is VERY very firm. But that's my jam. I like it and the pillows are soft. Laying in bet I enjoyed a cup of tea while watching a movie on their flat screen. There’s plenty of plugs for my phone and laptop. Wifi is a little spotty, but my phone still had reception. But, in the am, there’s a reason you’re supposed to read your dorections. Lydia, (an excellent host, you’ll love her) had the guests fill out a card downstairs for your choice of breakfast. Trust me. You want to partake. Lydia KNOWS her way around a kitchen. You won't be disappointed. Pssssst….it’s almost impossible to find breakfast at a hotel during the pandemic….. Hospitality umbrella kept me from the rain, and the ease of coming and going made the world carefree here. TLDR: Just give this place a shot, it's a modernized historic home with the old school and old world feel. The suite is epic. Very firm beds, and read your welcome letter. You’ll love it. Really. I'm so impressed with this place, so much so I didn't want to give away a new found treasure so it would be open when I return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Janet Pressel, Owner at Inn at Glencairn
Responded Sep 18, 2020
LOL. Thanks for your review. You should go into travel blogging! We are so glad that you found us and appreciate the efforts we have taken to continue to provide our high level of hospitality. We will share your accolades with Lydia, and we hope that you visit us again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$217 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at glencairn hotel princeton
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyLawrence Township
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Glencairn
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Glencairn?
Nearby attractions include Bury The Hatchet Princeton - Axe Throwing (3.9 miles), Princeton University Art Museum (3.7 miles), and Amazing Escape Room Princeton (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Glencairn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Glencairn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Glencairn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Glencairn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Glencairn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Halo Pub, The Bent Spoon, and Vidalia Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Glencairn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Princeton University Chapel (3.8 miles), Drumthwacket (2.6 miles), and Princeton United Methodist Church (3.9 miles).