We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (1)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Peace Village Hostel, situated in rural Messines, is the ideal group accommodation and base for a visit to Flanders Fields and the Ypres Salient. The hostel overlooks the Messines ridge battlefield of Belgium's smallest city with landmarks such as the Island of Ireland Peace Park and the New Zealand Memorial to the Missing. The Hostel excels in tranquility, space and offers great facilities. It's perfectly equipped to accommodate both medium size and large groups. We can welcome up to 165 guests in 43 studio's, each with their own living and sleeping area and en-suit facilities. Our evening activities and bar help to keep groups occupied in the evening whilst you enjoy the beautiful sunset on Kemmel hill.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Reviews & more
69Reviews
68Photos
2Q+A
10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 21
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The toilet was stained, towels were too small, shower was dirty with cockroaches, dead insects and moths everywhere and the beds were mattresses on the floor. Arrived and immediately wanted to go home!
Read more
Response from PeaceV7, Front Office Manager at Peace Village
Responded Oct 5, 2018
Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the Peace Village. We always try to make sure that everyone has a pleasant stay with us, we are very sorry that we didn't succeed in that for you. Just let's be fair about the beds: every person who stays at the Peace Village has his or her own bed. If you choose to put your mattresses on the floor to sleep, than we can't do anything about that. Kind regards the Peace Village team
Read more
+4
The Peace Village never disappoints. Always greeted with a warm welcome. We have 46 year 9 students. The rooms are spot on for groups and the facilities continue to get better and better. Communication with the Peace Village is also excellent making the organisation of a trip
Read more
Response from PeaceV7, Front Office Manager at Peace Village
Responded Oct 3, 2018
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay! Kind regards and always at your service. The Peace Village team
Read more
Stayed here whilst a large group of us conducted a Battlefield Tour. I was plesently surprised. Lovely rooms with everything you need to make it a comfortable stay. Very clean facility and the staff are very friendly. I would highly recommend a stay here. Town is around a 10
Read more
Response from Peace V, Front Office Manager at Peace Village
Responded Jul 24, 2018
Dear Hayley Thank you for the positive review! We are happy te read that you have enjoyed your stay at Peace Village.
Read more
Our class stay was absolutely amazing!! There was everythig you needed! First of lets start of with when you come in, you see a beautiful room, for the 5 people in my room; it was our dream room! The front and back doors, both easy to open and extremely usefull, the front
Read more
Response from simon l, Public Relations Manager at Peace Village
Responded May 27, 2018
Hi Eva! Great to see you enjoyed your stay so well :). It put a smile on our faces here this morning. I hope you had a good trip back home and are looking forward to the summer holiday soon. Warm regards from the Peace Village team
Read more
Came here on a school trip to Belgium 🇧🇪 good was half cooked chicken in a pink sauce of god knows what and my room had spiders uncomfortable pillows/sheets and we could not use various facilities I would not recommend you stay here unless your other option is your car to be
Read more
Response from simon l, Public Relations Manager at Peace Village
Responded May 23, 2018
Dear Hostel DR Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. There are a few things I can however check in hindsight which are not very clear. Please can you clarify which facilities you were not able to use? All of the games, laundry room, sport fields, etc. were open. The room you were staying in has two floors, so not sure why you would consider it to be cramped. It has a large living area of 12 m² and a duplex with two bunk beds plus a bathroom with separate toilet. By the photo I can see you did make up your bed, so I can understand you didn't have a comfortable night. We do ask our guests to make up their own beds as we are a hostel. I do hope you will reconsider your opinion. Kind regards, Peace Village
Read more
Previous
1234569
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Center & Event Rooms
One of the Peace Village exhibits
PreviousNext
12345
Dear Gill That depends if the school booked the towels with us. Towels are not standard provided. The safest is to check with the school or travel agent. Kind regards, Peace Village
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi! Please drop us a line on info@peacevillage.be . Many thanks!
0 votes
"All rooms are similar. Just specify the occupancy number when booking."
"The rooms are mainly dormitory-style with bunks. Bunk in with friends who don't snore!"
"all the rooms are ok"
"all rooms are excellent."
"Ask for a ground floor room :)"
PreviousNext
12
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersWest Flanders ProvinceIeper (Ypres)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing