We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Damier

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Damier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel is difficult to reach due to traffic situation in Kortrijk. Parking is also difficult and might be full. Rooms need some renovation according latest standards. Breakfast standard but not really high class. ( rubber type eggs , croissants and bread can be better in Belgium , limited choice )

Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear Mr Patrick V, Thank you for your comment. Getting to our private parking is possible without making a detour. In case there is no space on ours, our receptionist are happy to show you all other options in the area. Our renovations are in full process and we've added some new choices to our breakfast buffet this week such... More 

Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights during a tour through Belgium and France. This hotel is boutique. It's quirky and just big enough that ensures you get friendly and tailored service from the lovely staff. The room we stayed in was a great size, with a soft bed and large bath. The styling has an antique element to the modern... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LD0688
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear LD0688, This is just amazing to read. Thank you for these amazing words. It is heart warming and really motivating to read this. Our staff wishes to give our guest the most pleasant stay and likes to make them feel at home. Comments like yours is what we do this for and this makes us extremely happy! Thank you... More 

Wigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

Kortrijk was the last city on our summer tour of Europe and we chose to stay at the Hotel Damier which is on Grote Market. The hotel is in the heart of the city opposite the old market square with its own car park to the rear. Our room was at the rear of the hotel and had been two... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tvrpieman
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear tvrpieman, Thank you very much for your wonderful words. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us in our pleasant city. Our reception staff will be grateful for your kind words, this works very motivational for all the hard work they put in. Besides all the famous people, such as Margaret Tatcher, President George, etc.... More 

belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

We travelled with a group of 50 to Hotel Damien on 30th June to the 3 July the Hotel is in a wonderful location on the edge of the Grote market which I'd the central square we all had a fabulous time the beer was really cheap the hotel staff were really helpful and rooms were very good.Highly recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank biggaz27
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear biggaz27, Thank you for writing this lovely review. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The staff is pleased to hear you appreciated their hard work, this is very motivating to keep on going. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Catherine Debal General manager More 

Melle, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Stayed here with my wife for one night in February. We also had dinner in the restaurant. My positives and negatives: + Location is great, right in the middle of the city. + Hotel just breaths history (it is one of the oldest hotels in Europe) and is very well-kept. Stairs -for instance- are amazing, as well is the reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank Polledemaagt
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear Polledemaagt, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Your kind words are a motivation for us to keep up our smile and hard work to satisfy our guests. We try to make sure every guest feels at home, away from home. As the car park is located at the back of the hotel, we... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
206 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We stayed 2 nights in an executive suite and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is "old glory" but not in a negative sense. The hotel is classy, though not a modern, slick place. The entrance and mainly when you take the elevator, you will get this confirmed. The suite was spacious with separate living room, big bathroom (though with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tk100964
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear Tk100964, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. With the renovations going on we try to maintain as much of the original charm of the hotel. Our Executive Suite has been renovated last year and it is nice to hear you liked it. Also our housekeeping staff... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Beautiful hotel as central as you can be in Kortrijk. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with lots of different options, all with high quality. The staff were all very friendly. Not the cheapest hotel, but definitely well priced for what you get!

Helpful?
Thank Håkan J
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear Hakan J, Thank you for your lovely comment. We try our best to welcome every guest with our biggest smile. Enjoying is key with us an therefor it is super nice to hear that you could relax and enjoy our breakfast buffet. We search for local top products, this in our breakfast, lunch and dinner. With your next stay... More 

Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

I was there last July with some friend on a school trip. I have to say that the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are great. Nevertheless there is no sound blocking through the walls and the next door resident did some complaints on us while we only had some music on. The location is great as it is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathanail G
Almere, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We stayed for two nights in room 33. Room: wallpaper was curling at the seams; hole in wall where there should be a curtain hook; television could not be extended properly to be seen from the bed, remained at an angle; big crack in door panel of wardrobe; paint work peeling on window; suitcase rack was trying to fall apart,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patti036
Catherine D, General Manager at Hotel Damier, responded to this review

Dear Patti036, Thank you again for leaving your review on this medium as well. As I mentioned before, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't like the room you stayed in. We took your notes and have looked into them as we want all our guests to have value for their money. With all the renovating plans in... More 

wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Damier and we had a lovely time. Room were well presented "Prestige room" lovely and spacious and bed and pillows to die for slept really well. We originally did book junior suite but realized that they faced the square not good as clock chimes 24 hrs. Prestige room faced into... More 

Helpful?
Thank andyrocks
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kortrijk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Messeyne
Hotel Messeyne
#3 of 14 in Kortrijk
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Kortrijk
Parkhotel Kortrijk
#1 of 14 in Kortrijk
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Kortrijk Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Square Hotel
Square Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kortrijk
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#9 of 14 in Kortrijk
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.8 mi away
d-hotel
d-hotel
#10 of 14 in Kortrijk
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming 4 star hotel, situated in the city center of Kortrijk, with a classified facade from 1769. This luxury hotel charms our guests for over hunderds of years with its stylish and elegant rooms. The vivid atmosphere invites you to enjoy the iconic building, this during a business meeting or some leisure time. For over six centuries the historic Grote Markt in the centre of Kortrijk has been home to Hotel Damier. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Damier

Address: Grote Markt 41, Kortrijk 8500, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Kortrijk
Price Range: $119 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Damier 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Damier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kortrijk
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kortrijk
#4 Business Hotel in Kortrijk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay