We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Die Swaene

Save
Share
Steenhouwersdijk 1, Bruges 8000 Belgium
Expedia.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (317)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (130)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#46 of 99 hotels in Bruges
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel Die Swaene**** is a sanctuary overlooking one of the most picturesque canals, right at the very heart of the old historical city center and just a stone-throw away from the Market and Burg square. This prize-winning hotel is considered to be one of the most romantic and peaceful boutique hotels in Europe and is renown for its customer-friendliness and excellent service. Quite a unicum in this age of 'time is money' but here one still finds time to listen to the needs of the guest. Die Swaene**** has 24 elegantly furnished and individually decorated rooms and the public rooms have an atmosphere of times past. The authentic salon "Guild of Merchant Taylors" (1779) is classified heritage and a perfect place to relax by the fire-place after a day of exploring the beautiful city. Or do you prefer to take an aperitif in the cozy bar or have a plunge in the swimming pool with sauna? Its all possible in Die Swaene. At the opposite side of the canal one finds the "Pergola" wing with 8 Superior Deluxe rooms, each with fire-place in the room and view over the water. From Monday to Friday we offer a free guided tour with an English speaking guide. Die Swaene**** has everything to make your visit unforgettable !
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Concierge
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Czech and 2 more
596Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 316
  • 157
  • 71
  • 31
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
pojke-fredde wrote a review Jul 2021
Brussels, Belgium523 contributions167 helpful votes
All started with Marijke. She helped us make arrangements for food delivery as the restaurants were still closed due to the pandemic. She provided us with all the info we needed to find our way and went herself out of her way to make us feel at home. All staff was genuinely friendly and due to their combined efforts we overcame all of the inconveniences caused by the restrictions that required a bit of improvising. We were thrilled to have our dinner in the opulent salon on the first floor and enjoyed the sauna and swimming pool. A quiet room with view on the canal and little seating area and excellent amenities contributed to a great weekend in a city as quiet as we hope to never see it again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
PeDi08 wrote a review Feb 2021
Kraainem, Belgium68 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed at Die Swaene for 2 nights in February 2021 in a Junior Suite (Room 50), at €620, breakfast and parking included. Due to the international travel restrictions, we had already spent several weekends around Belgium the last few months and we were shocked to see for the first time a complete disrespect of Coronavirus-related safety instructions. Apart from the reception, the staff were either not wearing masks or had them under the chin, a member of the staff shared the tiny elevator with guests (we witnessed this twice), and the room cleaning personnel did not wear gloves. In contrast, the hotel swimming pool was closed (without this being mentioned in the website) supposedly due to Corona-related measures, while there were no such health instructions nationally or specifically in Bruges. We selected the Junior Suite for comfort, as we travel with our 10-year old son and the requirement to eat in the room due to the closure of the restaurants. Unfortunately, there was very little space to move around given the extra bed, and one of the 2 little tables was broken, so one of us had to eat on the bed. The room and the common spaces were a bit tired and considerably less appealing than the photos. The breakfast was basic in variety and quality but served on time and with a smile. The parking was spacious and located very close to the hotel. Unfortunately, we found our car scratched by the door of the neighbouring car. When contacted the reception, they mentioned that they cannot help us and didn’t even go through their list of plate numbers to check whether it was one of their guests. Only when we brought proof that it was a guest, including their room number, they gave us their name and phone number (which again was probably not correct, as they should call the guest instead of sharing their personal details). All in all, a very disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from dirk bossche, Eigenaar at Die Swaene
Responded Feb 26, 2021
Dear Sir, Sorry you did not have the expected experience in our hotel. In respect of the guidelines from Tripadvisor we usually do not discuss a written review. In your case though t is our responsibility to react on some of your remarks. Regarding the respect of Corona measures: All our staff get weekly briefings on the guidelines to follow in respect of our clients and the actual situation. Your remarks do not correspond with the truth and are fake. Regarding the room: Room 50 is completely refurbished and is praised by all its occupants since we opened it 2/3 months ago. Again your remarks are not corresponding with the truth. The use of the elevator by our staff together with hotel guests?? How far are you ready to go to blame everybody? We have a strict and respected policy that no staff will use any facility together with our guests. In room dining: Our rooms are not designed to have family dinners. 3 persons can nevertheless have fine in room dining experience if they want to. We can not grant the good mood of the clients, unfortunately. The scratch on your car: I hope you see clear enough that we can not help this. As you mentioned we already went to far to assist you in this. Thanks for your appreciation. The pool: You were told when you booked that the pool remains closed in respect of the corona measures. We did not want to break the rules for you or your son, we are sorry for that but as we said we respect our guests but off course the rules as well. When you checked out we realized this was probably the source of your general frustration and bitter behavior which you expressed later in your review. The client is always right one says. Which is mostly the case unless the client is not fair or respectful like in this case. We share a very disappointing experience with you. Yours respectfully
Read more
Laurens Boks wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
We had a great stay at Die Swaene. As soon as you enter the front door on the waterfront, you imagine yourself in a magical world. The room is a mix of authentic elements and a modern bathroom. We were served our delicious breakfast in the room. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Bruges, yet in a quiet street. Next to the fish market and 100 meters from the Queen Astrid Park. Highly recommended if you want to soak up the atmosphere in Bruges.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Dutchhouse wrote a review Aug 2020
San Francisco, California357 contributions129 helpful votes
+1
What a beautiful gem in the heart of Brugge, Belgium. Stayed here only one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Location is 10 out of 10 and the property itself feels like you’ve stepped back in time yet has all the modern amenities a proper 5 star boutique hotel should provide.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
AlexMa1981 wrote a review Feb 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom491 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for a Christmas market and loved it so much we booked again for February. The staff are very friendly and helpful, all from reception through cleaning ladies to breakfast room. We stayed in a superior room which was fabulously decorated , in historic rather than modern style, very in-keeping with Bruges town, including a poster bed dated 1703. The bathroom was modern with a large walk-in shower and a separate toilet. The pool and sauna facilities were great too. A very nice selection of foods for breakfast. Would definitely go back again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
die swaene bruges, die swaene hotel bruges
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersWest Flanders ProvinceBrugesSt-anna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Die Swaene
Which popular attractions are close to Die Swaene?
Nearby attractions include Historic Centre of Brugge (0.2 miles), Chocolates & Happiness (0.1 miles), and Brugge BeerWalk (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Die Swaene?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Die Swaene?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Die Swaene?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Die Swaene?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Die Swaene?
Conveniently located restaurants include Park Restaurant, Brazi's, and Le Mystique - Relais & Chateaux.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Die Swaene?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Die Swaene located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Bruges.
Are pets allowed at Die Swaene?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Die Swaene?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Dutch, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Die Swaene?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Centre of Brugge (0.2 miles), Basilica of the Holy Blood (0.08 miles), and The Princely Beguinage Ten Wijngaarde (0.6 miles).