We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Die Swaene

#60 of 98 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Die Swaene
Die Swaene
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived as two couple, one of us pregnant. The first room smelled dead rat in the bathroom. That room was changed to a non smelling one. Still Ac not working. Dripping on the wall. The other couple got a really humid room with a smell as a disaster. Even after a day with open window the smell still persist.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Baskien
Tine04, Eigenaar at Die Swaene, responded to this review

We feel sorry you did not enjoy your stay (we instantly gave you another room with an upgrade to junior suite as there was indeed an issue with the room you were first appointed : we believe paying €136/night and getting a room of +€300 is a nice gesture) We wisely suggested and requested, much to your surprise, to leave... More 

Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived after a rather stressful journey through Bruges as the city has major roads closed with the signs only written in Flemish, not French, so difficult to understand the diversions. Would have been helpful if this had been pointed out by email when we made our booking. Our room was a canal view deluxe on the other side of... More 

Helpful?
Thank DSLTunbridgeWells
Tine04, Eigenaar at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and we feel sorry you did not fully enjoy it. We noticed you were very stressed out arriving at the hotel because of the road works. As Bruges is situated in the flemish part of Belgium the road signs are indeed in dutch. We did warn our customers in advance about the road diversions but... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in April. I picked the hotel, because one could get rooms with a view of the canal. We arrived at 3PM and we were checked in and in our room in less than 5 minutes. We had a Deluxe Canal View Room. It was a very good size, much larger than average European... More 

Helpful?
Thank notme2017
Tine H, Front Office Manager at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we'd like to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards. Tine More 

on the road
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We have had a short, but excellent stay at Die Swaene, largely due to the exceptional kindness and helpfulness of their front desk staff, Maartje and especially Lieven. Both have gone out of their way to provide help and support with information about the hotel, the city, and our travel plans. All of our interactions with them have been warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank traveler58OnTheRoad
Tine H, Front Office Manager at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and love to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Tine More 

Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

My grown daughter and I stayed at the Hotel De Swaene for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. It was a great location set on a canal close to the fish market, and Grote Markt, yet far enough to be tranquil. The staff suggested a wonderful local restaurant for us, and were very attentive and helpful. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Goldendogs2
Tine H, Front Office Manager at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we'd like to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards. Tine More 

usa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016

In short, the staff and owners are quick to point the finger at the customer. I was a bit shocked to receive my bill with 80 euro charge for breakfast for two mornings. I expressed my surprise to the staff, who said you should have known since it was disclosed when I booked my hotel. I responded I did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank rmgsafari
Maartje V, Receptionist at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Dear Mr Gazarian, Please do accept our apologies for not noticing you did not fully comprehend the details of your reservation. Please allow me to freshen up your memory: - Hotel Die Swaene is known for its personal service. Upon arrival we inform you via which platform we reveived your booking and what's included / not included in the rate.... More 

Beijing
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

This place has it all: excellent location with walking distance to the main attractions. Charming decor in the public areas and the rooms. Obliging and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Our room was in the new wing on the opposite side of the canal with a water view and fire which my wife liked a lot. There was a slight problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlwaysNearWalls
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016

We stayed at this hotel after reading other reviews and wanting to be in the centre of Bruges. Stayed in beautiful canal view room which was very comfortable and as it was cold and wet outside we made full use of the fire in the room. Hotel in excellent location as was able to walk everywhere. The bathroom had 'Jack... More 

Helpful?
Thank 4Mirabelle
Tine H, Front Office Manager at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Tine More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a quick weekend trip to Bruges for the Bier festival. The hotel is in an excellent location, only a short walk from the train and from the main sites of Bruges. The staff was so friendly and very helpful. The hotel is just beautiful and our room was magnificent. Such a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
Tine H, Front Office Manager at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Dear Stacey Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Tine More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and it blew my mind. The decor was astounding. It felt that we were back in time. Love it love it love it. Staff were helpful. Perfect location. We fell in love with Bruges.

Helpful?
Thank Sparklinggirl27
Tine H, Front Office Manager at Die Swaene, responded to this review

Good afternoon Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Tine More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

405 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Other (33)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Single Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#23 of 98 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 1,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 98 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#21 of 98 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Die Swaene

Address: Steenhouwersdijk, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Price Range: $145 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Swaene 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Die Swaene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Swaene Bruges
Die Swaene Hotel Bruges
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#51 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay