We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kartuizerinnenstraat 10, Bruges 8000 Belgium
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$193
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$193
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$193
eDreams$193
travelup.com$208
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (844)
Room & Suite (231)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-in
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 07/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 99 hotels in Bruges
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel de Orangerie is located right on the most picturesque canal of medieval Bruges in the very heart of the city centre. This small XV century monastery of the Sisters Karthuizerinnen has been converted into a wonderful "boutique hotel", furnished with exclusive fabrics and antiques. All of the 20 graciously bedrooms have been individually decorated with antiques and offer all the modern comfort that the discerning traveller expects. In the elegant Salon along the canal, guests can relax by the open fire, in comfortable sofas while going through the available art books and international magazines, and enjoying a drink which is served round the clock. It is recommended to enjoy the typical English “Afternoon Tea” or an aperitif either on the waterfront terrace or in the cozy and enchanted breakfast room.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Spa
Parking garage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
1281Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 969
  • 206
  • 56
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brian R wrote a review Oct 5
Vienna, Virginia448 contributions230 helpful votes
We were extremely pleased with every aspect of this hotel. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful as we navigated Belgium's covid requirements. The location is superb. Our room was quiet and nicely furnished. The breakfast room is beautiful, with a good basic breakfast and all the optional extras we could want. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Belgium.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Greg K wrote a review Jul 2021
Southlake, Texas11 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
A boutique hotel starts with its people and service. Both were first rate, warm, helpful with any request and made us feel as if we were at home. The furnishings are beautiful with the spectacular dining room chandelier a show stopper. Breakfast and afternoon tea were both yummy and in great settings. Our room and bathroom were very well appointed however the bedroom a bit small, but comfortable. We had a canal view, which I recommend. We loved Bruges and loved our stay at this small gem, convenient to everything. We highly recommend. Venturing over from the states once again is a wonderful feeling after the many Covid lockdowns. To be treated so well makes us not want to return home!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sean F wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
We were looking forward to staying here but 6 days before our stay, Belgium banned travel from the USA. The hotel refused to grant a refund for any part of our 3 night stay because of their policy and responded very rudely to my request for a refund. We never stayed here but based on our interactions with the hotel management, I can't imagine this would be a good experience. We will eventually be coming back to Belgium but we will NOT be staying here. I understand you have a 7 day policy but then you could at least refund my last 2 days. Just greedy on your part
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Family Vermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, You had booked through an OTA, not directly in the hotel, so they handle the cancellation, we don't. USA is not banned from traveling to Belgium, we have plenty of American guests staying with us. A pity we get jugded for something you didn't experienced..
Read more
Andreas_Schwalbach wrote a review Sep 2021
Schwalbach, Germany93 contributions118 helpful votes
We booked the hotel at the Hyatt Homepage and were impressed by the hotel homepage. Just before booking I contacted the hotel asking about the on the homepage with no limitation offered parking and may be charging possibility. Front desk answered right away and I said I will book right away online. Arriving at the center we experienced that the street is blocked by a big street work and we were not able for 45min to find a way to the hotel. Calling at the hotel, calls were not anwered. After another 15min somebody picked up and were not able to give us directions but said we do not have to try because there is no parking spot left anyway. I mentioned my mail but he could not find my mails he said and we shall park in a close parking garage. There we had to wait over 30min because it was full. Then we had to repack because we can not carry our baggage through the city to the hotel. At the hotel we learnedand were very astonished that the rooms are across the street, not in the hotel as shown on the homepage. I can not find any hint on the homepage that there are rooms not in the hotel shown. However I could find and resend the mails to the CEO Jan. The front desk had the print outs on the desk and denied that I asked for a parking lot. Up to now no answer from CEO Jan.. We had breakfast and had to realize that the prepared etageres had exactly the same content each day. The also prepared bread box allowed no choice, asking for a croissant on Monday we got the answer that croissants are ordered on Sundays only. In contrary the luxe room and bath is as expected for a 4 star hotel. However a standard fridge with a very noisy compressor is very unusual and unedaquate in a hotel room. Following we would not recommend this hotel at all. As a Hyatt Status Member I will pass this experience also, as this is the first disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask before booking which and where rooms are located
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Family Vermast, Owner at Hotel de Orangerie
Responded Sep 11, 2021
Dear Mr. Bruckert, We can't find any words to react on your review. The only thing we can say is that our receptionist bursted into tears after your confrontation, treating and yelling to him like he was a dog. Parking was never booked, you asked for information about our parking and if we had charging points for Tesla cars, which one of our team members kindly responded to you that we don't have any (yet) and that he recommended parking Pandereitje where they do have. Your response was: thank you, we will book online then.. Your remarks concerning breakfast is noted, but I must say we have 2 types of breakfast, Daily (continental) breakfast and Orangerie breakfast, you preferred continental each morning.. Every day we have changes in bread, vienoisserie and cheeses, so not every morning we have croissants, to keep variety... Never thought that a design fridge like Smeg would be named as standard.. Everyone has their own taste of course.. I just want to end this with the last remark that our team is 100% committed to their job and they always do their utmost for all our guests.. Regards, Julie Vermast GM Hotel de Orangerie
Read more
Mich A wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions
Great room, great service and great location. This is an older hotel so for me I read about the history and kept waiting for a ghost to appear! But very clean. Decor is old world classic. Breakfast was amazing . Staff very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room with large bed or 2 twin beds was very nice and comfortable.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$156 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
martins orangerie bruges, martins orangerie hotel bruges
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersWest Flanders ProvinceBruges
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de Orangerie
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel de Orangerie?
Nearby attractions include Historic Centre of Brugge (0.2 miles), Luc Vanlaere Harpist (0.2 miles), and Chocolates & Happiness (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de Orangerie?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel de Orangerie?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de Orangerie?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de Orangerie?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel de Orangerie?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Siam, Park Restaurant, and Brazi's.
Does Hotel de Orangerie have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel de Orangerie offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel de Orangerie located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Bruges.
Are pets allowed at Hotel de Orangerie?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel de Orangerie?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel de Orangerie?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Centre of Brugge (0.2 miles), Basilica of the Holy Blood (0.1 miles), and The Princely Beguinage Ten Wijngaarde (0.4 miles).