We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000 Belgium
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Best rate guaranteed on hotel website
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (288)
360
Panoramas (15)
Videos (1)

About

#51 of 99 hotels in Bruges
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain !
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
Hotel links
Special Rate:Best rate guaranteed on hotel website
551Reviews12Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 212
  • 220
  • 63
  • 41
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bas t wrote a review Aug 2021
Brussels, Belgium1908 contributions546 helpful votes
+1
spent a few days in this amazing city and were very happy with the hotel we were given room 7 which was like having our own private garden so great to sit outside and have a beer or 2 the room is designed for persons with moblity problems but this was ok for us the only down side was the toilet had not been cleaned from the last guests hotel in general is in a great quite location easy to reach the main town or train station and has parking breakfast was one of the best i have had the staff very friendly all areas were clean will recommend this as a must hotel to stay great value
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
gph2016 wrote a review Aug 2021
Amersfoort, The Netherlands9 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
What a gem in Bruges (Brugge). We arrived and parked the car in their private parking area behind the hotel (we are in the heart of the center of Bruges here), walked through their beautiful garden and were met by Kathleen, the host. She welcomed us, explained everything about the hotel and showed us two rooms that we could choose from. We choose suite 20 upstairs with a bedroom and separate bathroom (with bath, separate shower, toilet, vanity and plenty of space. We also decided to book the hotels restaurant, den Heerd, for the first night without really knowing what it was like. We were not disappointed, yes prices may seem slightly high but it is worth every Euro. We later discovered that restaurant is mentioned in the Michelin Guide. We had two other diners in Bruges and were slightly disappointed by them that we had our last meal again at den Heerd and again were blown away by the service, the quality of the food and the atmosphere. So, we stayed in Montanus for 4 nights and have not been disappointed one single bit. The room was great, very clean and well appointed (sure, some things could possible be changed but that is personal preference). Breakfast every morning was fantastic with a large selection of breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, pancakes, etc. The restaurant, which is also used for breakfast, is very nice and well styled. No expenses have been spared on the interior. The hotel itself is very well maintained, the owners both work in the hotel and are very approachable and kind. They love what they do and that can be seen in every aspect of the hotel. The only thing we were a little surprised by was the cost of parking for hotel guests, that is something that could potentially be looked at. Other than that, 5 stars and returning guests for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 20 are the larger rooms, room 19 is a Garden Suite adjacent to the restaurants terrace.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Erick M wrote a review Jul 2020
Toluca Municipality, Mexico378 contributions54 helpful votes
I booked this hotel by mistake in February as I was applying a hotels.com coupon I immediately contacted them to tell them it had been a mistake and to support me in canceling my reservation. At that time they refused even though there were 100 days left for the reservation. Later, I asked the hotels.com team to help me and they couldn't. In the middle of April I received an email saying that the hotel montanus had canceled the reservation derived from covid 19. And even though I did not cancel one, they did not return my money. They are the worst hotel that has reacted to the covid situation. They don't have to keep customers' money and refuse to return it. I do not recommend Fatal, lousy customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen Montanus, Eigenaar at Hotel Montanus
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Dear Mr Erick, The hotels in Belgium were all closed due to Covid-19. The hotel didn't charge you !!! I will contact Hotel.com for that payment because this is not okay !!! Kathleen Delva Hotel Manager Hotel Montanus
Read more
Gemma H wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions5 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 2 night stay for my partners 30th birthday. I booked for 3 rooms but I needed the other 2 rooms to be secret as it was a surprise with his family arriving. The staff were fantastic! I emailed in advance and they didn't mention the other 2, great customer service!! :-D The rooms were wonderful, they were set at the back of the garden area with a table and chairs out the front. The hotel was spotless, it was modern but with a cosy atmosphere. It felt personal and the staff couldn't do enough for us :-) Great selection for breakfast with a chocolate fountain!! Also a great location, it's only a short walk to the main square. I would 100% recommend this hotel! Very impressed :-)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
em2anouel2a wrote a review Jan 2020
36 contributions11 helpful votes
Me and my partner booked a double room during xmas period and I am afraid as we had high expectations due to the reviews on the hotel and of course the price paid , we were fairly dissappointed. To name a few, the toilet bin was not emptied for 2 days in a row, we had to go to reception ourselves to take the ironing board and iron (which remained in our room for 3 days), reception was rarely in place and most of all, there was too much noise (we could practically hear every single step from the corridors or the room upstairs). We never used the breakfast as you may find other options less pricey. In general, the hotel lacks warmth and attention to detail.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: choose top room to avoid noise from footsteps
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
montanus hotel bruges
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersWest Flanders ProvinceBruges
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Montanus
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Montanus?
Nearby attractions include Luc Vanlaere Harpist (0.2 miles), Chocolates & Happiness (0.3 miles), and Quai du Rosaire / Rozenhoedkaai (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Montanus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Montanus?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Montanus?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Montanus?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Montanus?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Siam, De Gastro, and Sfeerbistro De Twijfelaar.
Is Hotel Montanus located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Bruges.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Montanus?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Montanus?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Montanus?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Centre of Brugge (0.4 miles), The Princely Beguinage Ten Wijngaarde (0.3 miles), and Basilica of the Holy Blood (0.4 miles).
Is Hotel Montanus accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.