We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Montanus

Save
Share
Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000 Belgium
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (267)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (284)

About

#57 of 97 hotels in Bruges
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain !
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch
539Reviews12Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 206
  • 215
  • 62
  • 41
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erick M wrote a review Jul 2020
Toluca Municipality, Mexico380 contributions32 helpful votes
I booked this hotel by mistake in February as I was applying a hotels.com coupon I immediately contacted them to tell them it had been a mistake and to support me in canceling my reservation. At that time they refused even though there were 100 days left for the reservation. Later, I asked the hotels.com team to help me and they couldn't. In the middle of April I received an email saying that the hotel montanus had canceled the reservation derived from covid 19. And even though I did not cancel one, they did not return my money. They are the worst hotel that has reacted to the covid situation. They don't have to keep customers' money and refuse to return it. I do not recommend Fatal, lousy customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathleen Montanus, Eigenaar at Hotel Montanus
Responded Aug 10, 2020
Dear Mr Erick, The hotels in Belgium were all closed due to Covid-19. The hotel didn't charge you !!! I will contact Hotel.com for that payment because this is not okay !!! Kathleen Delva Hotel Manager Hotel Montanus
Read more
Gemma H wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions5 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 2 night stay for my partners 30th birthday. I booked for 3 rooms but I needed the other 2 rooms to be secret as it was a surprise with his family arriving. The staff were fantastic! I emailed in advance and they didn't mention the other 2, great customer service!! :-D The rooms were wonderful, they were set at the back of the garden area with a table and chairs out the front. The hotel was spotless, it was modern but with a cosy atmosphere. It felt personal and the staff couldn't do enough for us :-) Great selection for breakfast with a chocolate fountain!! Also a great location, it's only a short walk to the main square. I would 100% recommend this hotel! Very impressed :-)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
em2anouel2a wrote a review Jan 2020
36 contributions
Me and my partner booked a double room during xmas period and I am afraid as we had high expectations due to the reviews on the hotel and of course the price paid , we were fairly dissappointed. To name a few, the toilet bin was not emptied for 2 days in a row, we had to go to reception ourselves to take the ironing board and iron (which remained in our room for 3 days), reception was rarely in place and most of all, there was too much noise (we could practically hear every single step from the corridors or the room upstairs). We never used the breakfast as you may find other options less pricey. In general, the hotel lacks warmth and attention to detail.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: choose top room to avoid noise from footsteps
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
mckaydarien wrote a review Dec 2019
Stamford, Connecticut105 contributions35 helpful votes
We were exhausted from the long haul from the US to Brussels to Brugge. We came back to the restaurant but it was closed. Decided a beer and chips would do. A gentleman named Jo offered to order us a pizza. Since I am from the Bronx I doubted pizza would compare so we passed> Before we knew it we had a delightful plate in front of us. Only afterward we learned he is the owner. So it would be hard to give less than 5 stars. Great location. Breakfast is the best I have ever had. I spilled chocolate on my shirt-oh well. There is a blend of old-world charm and modern chic. Great combo. I also heard about updates that are planned. If you are visiting Brugges this is where you should stay. Simon at breakfast was the happiest guy I have ever met! Go enjoy Brugges
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask at check in
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MissCC86 wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed here for my partner’s birthday September 2019. The hotel is a short walk from the centre, about 15mins walk from the train station. The staff were friendly on arrival and we were shown to our room. This was lovely and overlooked the gardens. The room was clean and incredibly pleasant. Breakfast the next morning was nice, an ok choice of items. Eggs available on request and they make them to your liking eg scrambled or omelette. The communal areas of the hotel such as the dining area and bar are modern and a nice place to relax in. If we visit Bruge again we would stay here and recommend the hotel without a doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
montanus hotel bruges
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersWest Flanders ProvinceBruges
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Montanus
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Montanus?
Nearby attractions include Luc Vanlaere Harpist (0.2 miles), Chocolates & Happiness (0.3 miles), and Quai du Rosaire / Rozenhoedkaai (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Montanus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Montanus?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Montanus?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Montanus?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Montanus?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Siam, Sfeerbistro De Twijfelaar, and Books & Brunch.
Is Hotel Montanus located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Bruges.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Montanus?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Montanus?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Montanus?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Centre of Brugge (0.4 miles), Basilica of the Holy Blood (0.4 miles), and The Princely Beguinage Ten Wijngaarde (0.3 miles).
Is Hotel Montanus accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.