We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel de Flandre

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel de Flandre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in the center of town. The parking garage (public) around the corner. We had a big executive room with barh robes & slippers, nespresso and tea making facilities. Our room faced the courtyard so it was quiet. Breakfast was ample with a wide selection and lots of sweet items. The warm buffet was ok with scrambled eggs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moonbeam666
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked an executive room for two, here is our review. ✦ Great location ❌✦ Furniture is very old, but if you like old stuffs, you might like it. ❌ Breakfast is expensive ❌ Our executive room is smelly ❌ They did not clean the room good, windows, curtains and bathtub are very dirty. - Very noisy - drunk people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vosive
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Vosive, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to learn that you that the the room appeared unclean, so I would like to apologize for that The entire management teams takes a personal interest in ensuring that our Housekeeping Team maintains the highest standards. Our staff is trained to make sure the rooms are spic and span.... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there for 6 nights, all in all it was a good hotel and we had a pleasant stay. The disappointing thing was the quality of the wifi connection, almast always had to get downstairs at reception to connect to the Internet. Special thanks to Ibrahim and Marie Elise for making our breakfast special with their nice attitude.

Helpful?
Thank Ruzanna M
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Ruzanna M, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your feedback. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the breakfast associates. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you have endured because of the Wi-Fi problem during your stay. I am happy to inform you that this has resolved.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been in the room for one night 5 hours but it was TORTURE. This is not a 4* hotel and is overpriced. This is a 3* and the room no 9 is 1*. We stayed in room no. 9 at the ground floor. The air and the smell in the room was horrible. We have slept only 1... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nbck
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Nbck, Dear Nbck, I was most interested to read your valuable feedback, but was sorry to learn that you felt that your room appeared unclean. I take a personal interest in ensuring that our Housekeeping Team maintain the highest standards. As I do not recall any mentioning about this at reception I would be happy to discuss your stay... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

I've been for 2 nights in this hotel. I was very lucky because I got room number one which os really big and freshly renewed, not the same for the bathroom, big but not new. The room is anyway fantastic, silent and very very clean. The bed is french style big size. The breakfast was excellent a lot of staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank DenisN
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear DenisN, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your feedback. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the associates. We look forward to your future visit, and please do not hesitate to reach out if we can assist with any plans. Best regards, Freija Wyffels More 

Kildare
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

Room was on the 4th Floor, somewhat attic-like but reasonably roomy, comfortable and well resourced. Seems odd that it can't be accessed by the main stairs, but the lift is fine. Hotel of real character very close to the charming heart of Ghent.

Helpful?
Thank Methusala
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Methusala, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Freija Wyffels More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Nicely done hotel, modern, clean, very central to the old town. There is a block across the road from the reception which has the rooms with the new layout, where the bathroom has a door, but the walls do not going up to the ceiling! We were told this was the new open plan design feature. Nevertheless they did switch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KWong84
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Kwong84, I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and was most interested to read your valuable feedback. Guests’ comments are of paramount importance to us, both in terms of measuring our standard of service and in our on-going endeavour to give our guests the best possible Hotel de Flandre Experience. We very much... More 

Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Don't get distracted by the 4 stars qualification, this hotel is max. 2 stars and I'm feeling generous. We happen to stay at the hotel during the hottest night ever recoded on a 23 June. When I got up to my room close to midnight, the airconditioning wasn't working, but they had put a fan in the room. However the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Willem H
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Willem H, I was most interested to read your valuable feedback and was sorry to learn that you experienced difficulties with your air conditioning system. All our bedrooms have been designed to allow guests to control their own environment and may I offer my apologies that the system in your room was not functioning properly. As you can imagine... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself is good, rooms comfortable and well equipped, but it's an old building and sound-proofing not great. I had a 1st floor room street side and it was very noisy with just a short pause between late night revellers and early morning delivery vehicles. There's an annex which might be better.

Helpful?
Thank healda
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Healda, Thank you for your response on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that overall you had a good experience at Hotel de Flandre. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Freija Wyffels More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Had a great weekend in this Hotel. Very good location, just a short walk from the waterfront. Reception was very efficient, we were checked in and up to our room straight away. The rooms were good and the breakfast very good. Plenty of choice.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Andrew J, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your feedback. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the front desk associates. We look forward to your upcoming visit and please do not hesitate to reach out if we can assist with any plans. Best regards, Freija Wyffels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (112)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#11 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#9 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $79 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay