We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel de Flandre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel de Flandre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 256: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a pleasant stay. Hotel is centrally located, staff are friendly, breakfast was good & room was nice. Overall and excellent stay with family. Only negative point is rooms are in an annex building but that is just a small inconvenience. Would definitely return for another stay.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank monajib
Writtle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the pedestrianised centre of town. We were in the annex which was outside the hotel, down the road and on the opposite side. It was fine but we had to put on all our outdoor clothes to have breakfast and it probably did put us off using the bar in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
Southern England
Level Contributor
290 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2016

Central location with good tram links around city. Stayed mid week in ground floor room/ Spacious and modern with good power shower, coffee maker and safe. Hard wooden floor surfaces. A few fluffy bits found, but other wise clean. Good breakfast at 19euros. Staff speak fair English, and are helpful. Free wifi.

Helpful?
Thank travell_a_lot
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear travell_a_lot, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Freija Wyffels More 

beirut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2016

original hotel with the local flemmish style....rooms are very big ....it has a main area and an extension.....breakfast is basic good location is excellent , walking distance from the downtown of ghent. not very fancy , but is very good for a short stay to visit the city

Helpful?
Thank Beirut73
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Beirut73, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel de Flandre and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. The Hotel’s amazing location in the heart of Ghent is indeed well placed for leisure being a stone’s throw away from many major sights and fashionable shopping areas. We hope that you will continue... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

This was a fabulous place to stay in the city centre of Ghent. The room was spacious and clean. Everything was within walking distance and the check in staff were helpful and welcoming. I would definitely stay here the next time I am in Ghent.

Helpful?
Thank Niccole F
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Niccole F, We were happy to have you as our guest and sincerely hope that you will always make the Hotel de Flandre your “home” whenever you are in Ghent. Kind regards, Freija Wyffels More 

Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Ghent, Belgium is a really cool town! Much better than Bruges, in my opinion. Lots of historical buildings. Two rivers flow through town, like canals, with interesting boat tours. Must be careful driving, because pedestrians and bicycles are everywhere. Learned that the City Center is moving to No Cars in the near future. Not sure how that will work. Hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank wasmith59
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear wasmith59, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel de Flandre and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. The Hotel’s amazing location in the heart of Ghent is indeed well placed for leisure being a stone’s throw away from many major sights and fashionable shopping areas. We hope that you will continue... More 

Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2016

The hotel is in the center of town. The parking garage (public) around the corner. We had a big executive room with barh robes & slippers, nespresso and tea making facilities. Our room faced the courtyard so it was quiet. Breakfast was ample with a wide selection and lots of sweet items. The warm buffet was ok with scrambled eggs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moonbeam666
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Moonbeam666, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Freija Wyffels More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2016

We booked an executive room for two, here is our review. ✦ Great location ❌✦ Furniture is very old, but if you like old stuffs, you might like it. ❌ Breakfast is expensive ❌ Our executive room is smelly ❌ They did not clean the room good, windows, curtains and bathtub are very dirty. - Very noisy - drunk people... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vosive
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Vosive, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to learn that you that the the room appeared unclean, so I would like to apologize for that The entire management teams takes a personal interest in ensuring that our Housekeeping Team maintains the highest standards. Our staff is trained to make sure the rooms are spic and span.... More 

1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2016

We stayed there for 6 nights, all in all it was a good hotel and we had a pleasant stay. The disappointing thing was the quality of the wifi connection, almast always had to get downstairs at reception to connect to the Internet. Special thanks to Ibrahim and Marie Elise for making our breakfast special with their nice attitude.

Helpful?
Thank Ruzanna M
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Ruzanna M, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your feedback. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the breakfast associates. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences you have endured because of the Wi-Fi problem during your stay. I am happy to inform you that this has resolved.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2016

We have been in the room for one night 5 hours but it was TORTURE. This is not a 4* hotel and is overpriced. This is a 3* and the room no 9 is 1*. We stayed in room no. 9 at the ground floor. The air and the smell in the room was horrible. We have slept only 1... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nbck
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Nbck, Dear Nbck, I was most interested to read your valuable feedback, but was sorry to learn that you felt that your room appeared unclean. I take a personal interest in ensuring that our Housekeeping Team maintain the highest standards. As I do not recall any mentioning about this at reception I would be happy to discuss your stay... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#14 of 39 in Ghent
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $81 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel de Flandre staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Standish, United Kingdom
Northampton, United Kingdom
Lenox
over a year ago
Galveston Island, Texas

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel de Flandre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for main building rooms not annex.”
 of 5 bubbles travell_a_lot, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the garden floor are quite spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Beirut73, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“New building has modern rooms”
 of 5 bubbles wasmith59, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“The smell is awful! Ask for room at the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Nbck, Jul 28, 2016 | Read review
“room number 1”
 of 5 bubbles DenisN, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay