We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel De Draecke

Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (3)
Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (3)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good40%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
The city youth hostel "De Draecke" is located in the middle of the historic centre, close to the famous Gravensteen and the Graslei. All the city landmarks are at a walking distance of the youth hostel, reputed for its warm and hospitable reception and international atmosphere. It's a meeting point for young & old, perfect for groups, families and individual travellers. A trip to the art city of Ghent will amaze you! The Gravensteen, countless numbers of churches, monasteries, unique antique shops and fantastic museums are there for you to visit. Nowhere else they zap you from the fourteenth century to the twenty-first century, and back! Yet, Ghent is also trendy, with its many shopping streets, fancy restaurants, typical pubs and bustling night life. And do not forget the famous Ghent Festivities in July! The hostel has 30 rooms and is in 2015 completly renovated! De Draecke has room for 1 to 6 persons. All the rooms have their own bathroom. The reception is open from 7h00 - 23h00. Check-in before 22h30.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
189Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
40Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
10
11
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
10
11
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared room bed dorm location is great train station lock euro city
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location, 2 mins from the main square. Friendly staff. Night tours that leave at 10 pm from the hostel is a big plus. Small light near my bed, a dedicated plug point, clean sheets and dust free blankets. Only minuses:There was no wifi connection...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shalleys
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hostel in a 4 bed dorm. The room with ensuit bathroom is very clean. Also the location of the hostel is top. Downsides is the price of 30 euro for a shared room and the breakfast which I couldn’t...More

Thank Immie M
Response from De-Draecke, Manager at Hostel De DraeckeResponded September 3, 2018

Hi Immie Thanks for your review! Sorry that you couldn't enjoy our breakfast. At this moment it is'nt possible to change the time because we have to clean the rooms also. But hopefully we can change this in the future. About our coffee, we are...More

Reviewed August 14, 2018

Really liked this hostel. Great location near center of town, close to many restaurants. The common space is very nice, clean. I was in a 6-bed dorm and it was very spacious, clean. The breakfast was excellent and far better than what I experienced at...More

Thank erincS1553JG
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

It is a great hostel located in the city centre. Hostel is very lively and modern. Staff have taken special care to make every smallest thing unique. They are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are of good size and they have attached bathroom with shower....More

Thank Pankaj S
Response from De-Draecke, Manager at Hostel De DraeckeResponded May 28, 2018

Thanks for your review! Always welcome in De Draecke!

Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Good Location was great Staff were friendly Room Got a twin room, one of the beds was broken, made squeaky noise and room looked like a prison cell. Very basic Breakfast was continental and did the job.More

1  Thank Vish M
Response from De-Draecke, Manager at Hostel De DraeckeResponded April 10, 2018

Dear Vish Thank you for message. Sorry about your room. What was your room number? So that we can fix the bed. Our rooms are basic but has normally everything that you need for a night. The bathrooms are recently renovated and all the room...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CarolineScott1
July 18, 2017|
Answer
Response from De-Draecke | Property representative |
HI Caroline We can suggest you to try to find a place in 'Molenaarsstraat' or 'Academiestraat'. Put these Streets also in your GPS. These Streets are very close to hostel. It cost € 6.00 for 24 hours. Sundays are... More
2
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Some rooms are bunk beds, some are singles.Check before booking."
davecH1318ZX
Jul 8, 2016
Read review
"pick a room with a view on the street."
juliebK8072GL
Jan 16, 2016
Read review
PRICE RANGE
$33 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hostel de draecke hotel ghent
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersEast Flanders ProvinceGhent
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing