We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Gent

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Gent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a HI Express so I did not expect much, and it pretty much was what I expected. Its in a good location for onward travel, not so good for visiting the city you may want to find somewhere a little closer. Its in an industrial area so there is nothing within walking distance, and next to a busy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenn_D123
world traveller
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed just one night to break up a very long car trip with the kids. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom (shower & wc) was sufficient and clean (though a bit worn around the edges). The breakfast buffet was simple but sufficient to get us started. All in all it was a good stop - convenient... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank skoolmarm
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Hi Skoolmarm Thank you for staying with us. It's nice to read that you and the family were able to relax and re-charge for another day on the road. Next time, why not spend an extra night in Gent and spend some time discovering all the fun things to do and see in the city. It is really worth your... More 

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel because we flew into Amsterdam and immediately needed to head south to France. We wanted to avoid the vacation traffic that would start in the next day or two. The location of this hotel is great. Right off the highway so it was simple to find. The beds were comfortable. We met grandparents here so they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jackie Heagy B
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Hi Jackie Heagy B You have made a very smart decision to break your journey and stay with us in Gent. As you have noticed, we spend a lot of time on getting the basics in order: the mattresses are new, and also the bed linen, the towels and the pillows. We have completely renovated the Brasserie in 2014, we... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Price/quality balance was ok. Don't expect a lot of luxury, it's a holiday inn express ;). Bed was a bit hard, room was a bit warm and didn't cool down sufficient for the night. Breakfast was ok and everything you would expect was there and replenished in time.

Helpful?
Thank Hady d
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Hady d Thank you very much for your loyalty. We appreciate that you have selected a Holiday Inn Express hotel for your stay in Gent. Do let us know if you have any specific requests for your room / mattress / pillows and we will try to select the best possible room for you. Last week has been extremely... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from Ghent, stayed in this hotel on number of occasions and again it was a very good one. Check in quick and easy, don't know the name of the man behind the counter but it was on Friday evening around 6/7pm. Plenty of information (traveling with kids dinner in hotel for them free of charge). Family room with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam R
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Adam R Thanks for staying with us again. I'm delighted to read that you and the family had another good stay. Did you know that several museums in the city have a special kids tour where they can do a quiz and win a prize? Perhaps a fun idea for a next visit? Sincerely Laurens Roels, Hotel Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have just visited this Hotel and have to say how disappointed I am. It's more like a Motel than a Hotel and the decor is shabby and dated. The Staff are really friendly and helpful. I wouldn't stay here for more than a couple of Days and the breakfast is very basic and with no English content just bread,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave G
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Dave G Thank you for taking the time to send us your candid remarks. It helps us focus attention to areas that are important to our guests. It's great to read that you have found our staff really friendly and helpful. I think this is the most important thing in any hotel. In terms of the facilities, i would... More 

Warwick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Stayed here for one night to break up the journey from Calais to Germany last May. The location for the motorway was perfect and we were there very quickly from Calais- less than 90 minutes. The room was surprisingly large for the 4 of us and quite well equipped (better so than our last Premier Inn family room for example).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Tom R, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work hard to make your stay comfortable and pleasant so we are pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, nice room accommodation, adequate breakfast offering and location of the hotel. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure... More 

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Satisfied. Good bed & matress !! (Not sure about the label). Good breakfast but average. Even when it's close to the highway - still 'quiet'. Minus is the parking fee. ("Proeftuinstraat" is free, but full). Keep up the good work and don't forget to put some more colours on the outside of your hotel. Strange difference between in- & outside.... More 

Helpful?
Thank edmanus
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Edmanus Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express hotel as your place to stay in Gent. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. In terms of breakfast, did you know that you get the breakfast included in your room rate for free? Every morning, more than 50 fresh quality products are waiting for you... More 

Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Excellent located next to highway crossroads, with very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and well equipped rooms, correct and tasteful breakfast. When visiting Ghent to be recommended for city trip or gateway to other cities nearby

Helpful?
Thank Joris D
canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

This hotel was very nice but location was far from everything. As we stayed on Sunday the restaurant was closed and there was nowhere to eat nearby. Clerk could not recommend a restaurant nearby but advised to drive into Ghent.

Helpful?
Thank anthiso
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest The adjoining Brasserie D-LYS is closed on weekends and public holidays. We have a range of restaurants we can suggest in the city center, and you can reach this easily either by car (10min) or by tram 4 at walking distance from the hotel (15min to city center). Alternatively we have a wide range of take-away options available... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms.This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $89 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay