We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Holiday Inn Express Gent

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Special Offer
Lowest Price Promise
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Gent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Satisfied. Good bed & matress !! (Not sure about the label). Good breakfast but average. Even when it's close to the highway - still 'quiet'. Minus is the parking fee. ("Proeftuinstraat" is free, but full). Keep up the good work and don't forget to put some more colours on the outside of your hotel. Strange difference between in- & outside.... More 

Helpful?
Thank edmanus
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Edmanus Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express hotel as your place to stay in Gent. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. In terms of breakfast, did you know that you get the breakfast included in your room rate for free? Every morning, more than 50 fresh quality products are waiting for you... More 

Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent located next to highway crossroads, with very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and well equipped rooms, correct and tasteful breakfast. When visiting Ghent to be recommended for city trip or gateway to other cities nearby

Helpful?
Thank Joris D
canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel was very nice but location was far from everything. As we stayed on Sunday the restaurant was closed and there was nowhere to eat nearby. Clerk could not recommend a restaurant nearby but advised to drive into Ghent.

Helpful?
Thank anthiso
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Clean, smart and well run. We stayed on a particularly busy weekend and this did not affect service. Ate in the restaurant one evening and food was excellent. Breakfast is a simple affair but to be expected at an Express. Good location for short drive to city centre.

Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Natasha Thank you very much for your positive comments. I will certainly share them with the team! With regards to visiting the city center: why not leave the car (and the stress) on our car park and try tram 4 GENT-UZ at walking distance. In less than 15 minutes you'll be in the middle of the city center... Hope... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

it is a nice business hotel, far from anything with nothing around accept for some factories. the restaurant is nice with friendly staff, this i cannot say about the guy who did our checking and was a bit on the rude side. plenty of parking. the city itself is very beautiful, try climbing to one of the churches for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hagay I
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Hagay I, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the service provided by our restaurant's staff, parking situation, and the overall condition of the hotel. However, I was concerned to see that you were not fully impressed with our front desk service... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Close to to football stadium and highway but else wise it's not close to anything, located in an industrial area and not really inside Gent. Restaurant/bar was ok, service good, wifi worked great, bed was comfy and I had a good sleep, room was really quiet despite it was so close to the road, breakfast was basic but ok. Overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank pese
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Pese Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is nice to read that you agree that we have got all the important things in order: Comfy bed, quiet, good wifi, breakfast and eat/drink options. Regarding our location: it is correct that we are NOT located in the middle of the Ghent city center, but on... More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We were travelling from Amsterdam to southern Belgium and wanted a stop over in a nice place. The hotel was easy to find, we did not need a satnav or a map and parking was easy, it is not in a very scenic place but a 15 euro taxi ride you are in the centre of Gent which is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thanks for staying with us. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Next time why not leave your car on the car park and try the new tram line 4 GENT-UZ at walking distance from the hotel. In less than 15 min you'll be on the Korenmarket as well for just 3 EUR. The tram offers... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Although this hotel is called Holiday Inn Express Gent, you pass a sign saying you are leaving Gent before you get here so expect a long walk into the city or there are buses nearby which get you into the centre. Our stay was pretty uncomfortable because on the first two nights the air con was broken, it was apparently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aisling F
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Aisling F Thank you for having selected the Holiday Inn Express for your stay in Gent. I hope that you have enjoyed our beautiful city. The sign you are referring to shows that you are leaving the urban area of Ghent. Our hotel is located just south of this city center, still less than 4km from the medieval sights... More 

Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

Very shortly, clean hotel, nice room, ...comfortable. Nice staff at reception.Otherwise quite isolated if you intend to visit Ghent (around 12 Eur from hotel to city center), breakfast I can say quite modest (compare with other hotels from Belgium), cookies and croissants from my first day there appear to be from at least previous day, just cold food. Just nearby... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian P
HIEX_Gent_manager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Adrian P Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is nice to read that you found your room clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly. We are located at +/- 4km from the historic sights, however with all the road works and traffic measures in place in Gent, it's actually smarter to leave your car... More 

Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

This hotel is located right off of the motorway, and has ample parking. It is also the location of the Tesla supercharger station if you are a Tesla owner. The rooms are clean, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have bicycles to rent in the lobby for ten euros a day; I had a great few hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank 43220
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms.This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $87 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay