We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hoogpoort 52, Ghent 9000 Belgium
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$116
View deal
Hotels.com
$115
View deal
Trip.com
$112
View deal
Expedia.com$115
Travelocity$115
Priceline$116
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (418)
Room & Suite (132)
Dining (45)

About

#15 of 47 hotels in Ghent
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Novotel Gent Centrum is located in the historic centre of Ghent, close to the tourist attractions and shops. In a modern setting with timeless decor, the hotel features 117 rooms. The bar and restaurant boast a diverse menu in a stylish, warm environment. Depending on the weather, you may choose to dine on the verandah or next to the pool in the terraced garden. This 3 star hotel is perfect for a holiday in Ghent, be it for a weekend or for short stay with your partner or family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking garage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German
1685Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 513
  • 832
  • 245
  • 58
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Daniel F wrote a review Oct 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota11 contributions2 helpful votes
I like Gent, one of my favorite places to visit. The hotel is in a great location and all it's facilities and amenities are first class. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The building temperature is set way too high. With in room heating shut off the entire stay and cooling not available the only way to have the room at a comfortable temperature is to leave a window open and then be woken constantly by the church bells nearby tolling on the hour and half hour. Was with a group of four and all had same complaint, barely slept all week. Stayed here before with similar issues.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Gent Centrum
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Danielfi, Please accept our thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. We aim to make every experience with us a memorable one, so it is very rewarding to receive a message of satisfaction from a recent guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your room and the high standard of our facilities. We do regret that the room temperature was not suitable for you. Your comfort is very important to us and had we been made aware of this during your stay we would have been pleased to assist you with adjusting the temperature settings as well as checking that the system was functioning correctly. We hope to have the occasion to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Petra DE MEYERE, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rick J wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom108 contributions73 helpful votes
We had previously stayed in this hotel a few years ago and loved it so came back again. The location is perfect, very central, walking distance to sights and shops. The family rooms on the toop floor are spacious and we had a great view of the cathedral. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool which is a great bonus in the summer. The hotel is starting to show its age though, both on the outside and inside the rooms. It needs some refurbishment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mmbcde wrote a review Aug 2022
Derry, New Hampshire252 contributions158 helpful votes
I stayed at the Novotel in May and while it is centrally located which was great, and it had very good breakfasts, if you are on the south (courtyard) side overlooking the Sint Niklaas church, while it is very beautiful and you feel you could reach out and touch the middle-ages, the church bells ring *all night long* - and the courtyard often had rowdy, loud people out very late at night. It was impossible for me to get any sleep with the windows open, and in May it was quite hot in the room (air conditioning was minimal) with the windows closed. Suffice it to say, I didn't enjoy my stay there, and it didn't help that I had a case of COVID (and couldn't change rooms). Staff was friendly enough, but I wouldn't want to stay there again. Make sure you request a room on a side away from the church, where co-workers told me it was much quieter.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Say away from rooms overlooking the courtyard/Sint Niklaas Church. Too loud.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Gent Centrum
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our team sincerely appreciates your compliments; thank you for your highlight of our location and service. We are sorry to read that you were disturbed and regret that we were not able to move you to a more comfortable room, although we hope you are feeling better now. Rest assured that we have noted your comments and will be taking these into account as we work to improve our facilities. Nevertheless, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast which we believe has a range of options to suit everyone's tastes. We hope to welcome you back on another stay. Best wishes, Petra DE MEYERE, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mtd143 wrote a review Aug 2022
Durham, North Carolina77 contributions68 helpful votes
The staff was lovely! Everyone was so friendly and helpful from the front desk to the dining room and bar staff. The breakfast was delicious - lots to choose from: deli meats and cheeses, yogurts, eggs, loads of breads, and 3 coffee machines! I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maureen wrote a review Jul 2022
County Galway, Ireland161 contributions68 helpful votes
The Novotel has lovely staff. No complaints at all. They are all very helpful. At breakfast, there is very little for vegans. No vegan yogurt and on the first morning, there was no plant milk. It was there on the second morning. No vegan butter and no vegan pastries so I felt for an international hotel chain, it's a bit behind the times in terms of food. I would have eaten there at lunch or in the evening so they are losing custom by not having these options. Another thing was that there was a festival playing music outside my room until 3am both nights so I got almost no sleep. I didn't know about this so I think the hotel should have informed me and not put me in a room overlooking the stage where all the music was. Two nights was over 300 so I don't feel it was good value at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Novotel Gent Centrum
Responded Aug 1, 2022
Dear Maureen, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We greatly appreciate your mention of our team's professional service. Such positive feedback encourages us to constantly uphold our high performance. However, we are sorry to hear that our breakfast was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your suggestion to expand our menu to include more vegan options and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will certainly take this into consideration as we aim to please the tastes of all our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disturbance; we wish you had let us know of your concern at the time as we would have been happy to offer an appropriate solution or an alternate room, if available. We hope to welcome you back for an improved stay. Best wishes, Petra DE MEYERE, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Filippos K wrote a review Jun 2022
Reading, United Kingdom104 contributions58 helpful votes
In general we were satisfied with our stay at Novotel Gent Centrum. We were given an executive room on the fourth floor, it was what we have come to expect from the Novotel brand. The room was clean, no issues there and housekeeping was ok. Staff was polite and helpful, all good there, too. The hotel itself is superbly located at the heart of Ghent, with all city attractions literally at its doorstep. The property itself is dated, but that is by no means a problem. Access to the car park is straightforward, albeit space in side is quite limited and one has to be very careful. One of the things we would have liked different is room service and food at the restaurant, which is not offered. It may be down to the pandemic, but still having room service or dine-in options, especially if you arrive late in the evening, is quite convenient and we felt this is missing. When it comes to breakfast, the breakfast hall is beautiful, overlooking a nice square and being hit by the morning sun! Breakfast was nice, even though we felt the selection was more limited than what we would have expected. Fresh bread was brilliant, but hot breakfast options, even though they were tasty and well cooked, we thought they we were more salty that we wanted. The only unsatisfactory point was cereal, which was pretty limited on one of the mornings of our stay. All available options contained nuts, which we wanted to avoid, and when we asked for some standard cereal boxes, even though we were give a couple, the reaction was not what we were expecting and we consider it a bit rude. We do appreciate that people can have their moments, but still this is something that can be worked on. Regardless, we were delighted with our stay and we will probably be visiting again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ivo b wrote a review Jun 2022
Nunspeet, The Netherlands294 contributions113 helpful votes
Great to be back WAS AGAIN A WELCOMING RECEPTION fridge filled again and a room with a view of the city really calmed down after a long car ride.I love that parking garage only made for small cars, but I managed to get the car out again. in this hotel you are valued as a platinum member
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
cegaservices wrote a review May 2022
Lincoln, Nebraska415 contributions135 helpful votes
Was there for a business conference. Both room and conference accommodations were very good. In room desk and internet good and conference services were first class with excellent snacks and meals. Desk staff was helpful. Located near local transportation and train station.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GregoryBostyn wrote a review Mar 2022
Ostend, Belgium182 contributions56 helpful votes
Hotel was well situated in the middle of the city. Parking space available in Hotel but unfortunately no charging station for my electric car which you would expect for such a Hotel. Room was ok but could use in futur an update. Breakfast was good. Bar is modern and bartender friendly Big negative point was the Wifi. This was broken and did not work at all !! As a business traveller this is something we can not miss. Did not receive any compensation or excuse even though i am a silver member.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Javier C. wrote a review Mar 2022
57 contributions43 helpful votes
Nice stay in this hotel. Its location is its strongest point. Walking distance from historic centrum. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, although it got very busy one day. The staff was attentive and ready to help. Dont forget to book parking at the time of making rthe reservation. Althoug there are public parkings around, a bit cheaper than the parking of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel gent centrum hotel ghent, novotel hotel ghent, novotel ghent, ghent novotel
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersEast Flanders ProvinceGhent
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL GENT CENTRUM $112 ($̶1̶2̶0̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Ghent, Belgium

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Gent Centrum
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Gent Centrum?
Nearby attractions include Graslei and Korenlei (0.1 miles), St Michael's Bridge (0.2 miles), and Trollekelder (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Gent Centrum?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Gent Centrum?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Gent Centrum?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Gent Centrum?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Gent Centrum?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kin Khao - Thai Eatery, Royal India Restaurant, and Restaurant Cocotte.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Gent Centrum?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Novotel Gent Centrum located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Ghent.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel Gent Centrum?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Gent Centrum?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Gent Centrum offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.