We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Save
Share
Quai de Flandre 12, Charleroi 6000 Belgium
Lowest prices for your stay
ibis
$72
View deal
Expedia.com
$72
View deal
FindHotel
$64
View deal
Booking.com$72
Travelocity$72
Priceline$72
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (184)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (35)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 10 in Charleroi
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.8
Value
3.6
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare , completely renovated, has modern rooms in the center of the city, just a quarter mile from Charleroi-South Train Station. It has a 24-hour bar and free Wi-Fi throughout. Brussels South Charleroi Airport is a 15-minute bus ride ( 5 euros ). Each of the rooms at the Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare are air-conditioned and come equipped with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. The rooms also have a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. The Musee des Beaux-Arts, in the heart of the historic center, is a 18-minute walk away. References to comic book culture are scattered throughout the city in the form of murals and statues. Ibis is 10 minutes from the Centre de Culture Scientifique by car.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
559Reviews10Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 80
  • 240
  • 162
  • 50
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steve wrote a review May 16
London, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Was possibly lovely in the 90s when it was built, but it’s old tired and out of date, rude reception staff, only 3 glasses in bar, could piss harder than shower, no tea or coffee in room, everything is old and tatty, good breakfast spread but no help worth getting breakfast, all hot food was cold, anyone who says this is a good hotel must work here, world be perfect for 25 euros a night
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, General Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry that your experience did not live up to the high standards we endeavour to provide to all our guests. We have taken good note of your remarks and will be investigating these matters and addressing them with our team. We appreciate that you have brought these concerns to our attention. We would like to believe that our breakfast buffet offers a varied selection of quality dishes that cater to all tastes at a competitive price; we regret that you were not completely satisfied in this respect. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Ovidiu Chitas, Manager
Read more
davidgambling wrote a review May 1
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The best thing about the hotel is the breakfast and that’s just ok . Our room looked over deralict buildings. And a car park secured by building site fencing . Hardly secure . Room on the third floor was filled with cigarette smoke also surrounding corridors On complaining was assured it was sorted . Rubbish we had to sleep with window open to dispel the smoke . In morning noticed our smoke alarm had been covered up and have photos . Management when informed removed the Covers without any apology . Bathroom door had kicked ? In holes . No never again … if your staying in Belgium try ibis in Mons they are the tops and no comparison to this dump .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, General Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry that your experience did not live up to the high standards we endeavour to provide to all our guests. We have taken good note of your remarks and will be investigating these matters and addressing them with our team. We appreciate that you have brought these concerns to our attention. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Ovidiu Chitas, Manager
Read more
cascais wrote a review Feb 2021
Cascais165 contributions83 helpful votes
I appreciate very much this hotel for tis location, just in front of the train station of Charleeoi Sud. Bruno and Iabelle whom I have known for years now always my stay very pleasant with theri Kindness and helpflness.A pleasure to stay with them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Feb 7, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back and we would like to take this opportunity to let you know how much we appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. It is very rewarding for Isabelle and the rest of the team to know that you feel we are your home away from home, whenever you are in Charleroi. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
Micky B wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Don't come here in the summer as the air conditioning doesn't work. Rooms are absolutely roasting. Car park charges are not motorcycle friendly most are free. Reasonable location but dodgy area. Be careful...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Aug 3, 2020
Dear Micky, We thank you for sending your comments about your recent stay. Our apologies for the issue with temperature in the room as your comfort and well-being are important and regret you did not bring this issue to our attention at the time so that we could have assisted with the controls in your room or taken any action needed. As we are located in the city, it is always advisable to take care with your personal belongings, however, we wish to assure you that we are located in a quiet, well-known tourist area with the expected police presence for your safety. We will be taking your comment about motorcycle parking rates into consideration. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future. All the best, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
K F wrote a review Mar 2020
Athens, Greece65 contributions46 helpful votes
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare was great option for our stay in Charleroi. The room was clean, excellent wifi and its location is ideal. Charleroi Sud Train Station is 200 meters away and there is a shopping mall near the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are all pleased that you had a pleasant stay and we appreciate your mention of our strategic location as well as our competitive rates. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest inspires us to continue with our efforts to uphold our high standards. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
Idler wrote a review Feb 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom2762 contributions861 helpful votes
If you have to be in Charleroi, and we had to be for the Hooverphonic concert, then there is nothing wrong with this place. The facility to boil yourself an egg or two at breakfast, and a fresh orange juicing machine should be compulsary everywhere. Parking was no problem and the room was comfortable, well-appointed and clean. Service was friendly too. The man who checked us in was visibly amazed that we had come to Charleroi on holiday. Alex Callier of Hooverphonic called the place "merde sur mer" ("crap on sea". It's not on sea, but the epithet was precise otherwise) to endear himself to his largely Wallonian audience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear Idler, Thank you for writing this wonderful review. Our hotel aims to provide the best experience possible and we are delighted that you appreciated the quality of our facilities. We take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can and appreciate your kind words about our dedicated team and quality value. Once again, we are very pleased we were able to deliver an excellent experience and look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
Ray wrote a review Jan 2020
Gorinchem, The Netherlands25 contributions26 helpful votes
Well, where can we start. The building is an old building with small rooms but its only for a 1 night sleep. The breakfast is just a normal one like any other hotel. Unfortunately the biggest problem is that the hotel will tell you there is no place for parking the car so you need to go to the city centre to park the car over there. It will cost you € 12,50 and then you need to walk across the city centre with your luggage. The funny thing is that there are around 20 places for parking in the street of the hotel. And some German guest parked the car there and that was ok. Why???? I also want to write something about the city of Charleroi. I cant imagine people will visit Charleroi for holiday or fun. This city is like a dump. Criminals, hookers, beggers and drugs. Graffiti, closed houses and dark streets. When the night fall you won't feel safe and so you are forced to stay in hotel. In 30 min around 6 beggers came to me!!!! No this is really the most terrible city i have ever been.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear Ray, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry we didn't hit the mark for you and to hear that our location was not completely to your liking. While regrettably, as we are in the city, such activities will occur; however, we wish to assure you that we are located in close proximity to a number of attractions and shopping options and the police in our city do a great job in keeping Charleroi a safe place to visit. Regarding parking, due to the current works in our parking area, spaces are limited, so we are working with the public parking "Indigo" at this time; we apologise for any inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Best wishes for the coming year, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
Diana wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked a night's reservation for my father and grandfather, only to realise that the dates given to me in the itinerary were wrong. I called to modify the reservation and stated what happened. The person answering my call said that because the booking was at a discounted price, I couldn't change or modify the booking - basically admitting that it was a catch. Apart from admitting to cheating us of our money, he was quite rude, and would only raise his voice when we told him we asked for clearer explanation of what is going on. Terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Nov 21, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We regret to read of the issues you encountered and apologize for any inconvenience. However, we wish to clarify that the proposed rate was a special offer, which was non-changeable and non-refundable. This is clearly stated in the terms and conditions of the reservation and we do urge guests to confirm all details before making a reservation. Nevertheless, we hope we may welcome you for a future stay. Best regards, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
Marie V wrote a review Sep 2019
Airdrie, United Kingdom6 contributions
Staff at hotel were lovely and very helpful but the hotel is in need of an internal makeover. It's a bit dated and shabby. However we found the hotel very clean. breakfast was nice and the location was excellent as train station just across from hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Sep 30, 2019
Dear Marie, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are glad you had a good stay with us. Your remarks have noted and we will take into consideration. It’s rewarding that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Best regards, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
rogermanley wrote a review Aug 2019
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
The Rotterdam shower had a non slip floor, the one in Charleroi did not and it felt slippery - did not feel too safe when entering or leaving. Breakfast fine, reception fine but with only one person manning reception and the bar simultaneously it dsid not seem very efficient.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel-cmanager, Aude Awoust, Manager at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Responded Aug 25, 2019
Dear Rogermanley, Thank you for sharing this review of your recent stay. We are glad you had a good stay. However your remarks have been noted and we are always open to suggestions. It’s great that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Aude Awoust, Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$63 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
accor charleroi centre gare
LOCATION
BelgiumWalloniaHainaut ProvinceCharleroi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Nearby attractions include Le Cabinet de Maitre Hembise (by Charlerooms) (0.2 miles), Comédie Centrale de Charleroi (0.3 miles), and Shopping Rive Gauche Charleroi (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Conveniently located restaurants include Au Provençal, La Bon'Heure, and l'APtit.
Is Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Charleroi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Passage de la Bourse - Charleroi (0.1 miles), Gare de Charleroi-Sud (0.07 miles), and Maison Dorée (0.5 miles).