We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

This hostel is really nice, about a 10 minute walk from the centre and has a couple or restaurants and shops close by. The staff are really nice and theres a bar downstairs that sells nice food and drink. The rooms are pretty basic but thats all we needed because we out sight seeing most of the day.

Helpful?
Thank eark95
bucharest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

Very welcoming desk employe, large comfy waiting area, laguagge room (in basement down stairs with no elevator for there indeed, but easy acces) with padlock for rent at 4 euro, cutr and cosy bar, huge breakfast area with delicious food no way you can't find somethig at your taste, nice clean rooms but not too clean, don't overexpect, you can't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lovetraveling2013
Taipei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

The staff were very good and kind! I had a great time at the bar with the interesting bartender and all people from the world. Really a magical night drinking beer, chatting, singing with guitar! The location is ok, about 10~15 mins walk from station, or if you feel troublesome, a taxi wouldn't cost a lot. I slept on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 陳小2015
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for reviewing our hostel. We are so glad you had a wonderful time with us & we agree our bartenders are awesome :) Cheers, Virginie More 

Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights on weekdays. I've chosen this hostel because it's easily accessible from the airport by one bus (272) and is near the city center. To my surprise there was no elevator to the 2nd floor where my room was and I arrived with a 23kg baggage and two heavy hand packs. Luckily a kind staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millefoli
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights and totally enjoyed my stay, met lots of fun and friendly people. The rooms are reasonably clean and good size. Plenty of outdoor seating areas, game rooms and luggage storage room. I would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Helpful?
Thank DMX111
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

It had been over 30 years since I had stayed at a youth hostel, and I was blown away by how things have changed. JBYL is a great hostel, professionally managed, with clean/tidy rooms and communal areas. The Hostel is ideally located with two Metro stations within 10mins walk as well the Central station about 20 -25mins on foot. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tuco B
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for this awesome review! We hope to welcome you back in our lovely capital. Happy travels, Virginie More 

Florianopolis, SC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Very nice location, very nice space! lots of fun people from all over the world and nice rooms! I went there with my sister and my mom and we had lots of fun hanging by the bar and our room was big and clean with a nice view... Even thought we spend little time there, the ambience made me want... More 

Helpful?
Thank car0lw23
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, it was such a pleasure to host you & your family. We are so happy to get such a great review! We do put in much effort to make sure the standard of the hostel is maintained and so each one of our guests has a unique and fun experience. We are glad this was the case for... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Breakfast : good enough, fresh fruits, juices, milk, cereales, bread. Room : we had a 3 bed room with shower. The beds were not that great, the pillow not great but it's still enough for a hostel... could be worse. The bathroom is actually nice, colourful and not just basic white. There was some vomit on the toilet... that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMaxime
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

This is probably one of the best hostel in Europe, it is super organized, has a great ambiance with a bar (great prices), play rooms(ping pong) etc. It is really clean and has a GREAT BREAKFAST, never seen such a great breakfast in a hostel before was almost like a hotel. The place is really clean, the staff is really... More 

Helpful?
Thank vanedizeo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

I was forced to check out the hostel earlier than i planned due to the recent Brussels attack. The staff understood my situation and actually refunded the money back to me. Would definitely choose there again if im back to Brussels

Helpful?
Thank Wilson Y
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#3 of 198 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 14 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 stars 3,420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 109 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 109 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel is ideally located at about 10 min walking from the Brussels Main Square (Grand-Place). Nearby, you'll be able to take a picture of the Manneken-Pis. The hostel is located on the Place des Barricades, a amazing neoclassic square with typical white buildings. A really relaxing and quit place right in the centre of the capital city. From the hostel, you can easily reach the European Parliament, and if you'd rather go for food pleasures, the famous Belgian chocolate makers and local breweries are waiting for you! If you're tempted by fashion, you can easily go to the Dansaert and Saint-Géry as well as to Louise, Porte de Namur and Rue Neuve neighbourhoods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Address: Rue de la Sablonniere 30, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Price Range: $27 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacques Brel Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Jacques Brel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacques Brel Youth Hotel Brussels
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay