We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels

Save
Share
Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000 Belgium
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$181
View deal
Booking.com
$182
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$151
View deal
Hotels.com$181
Travelocity$181
Priceline$161
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (818)
Room & Suite (332)
Dining (68)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#13 of 213 hotels in Brussels
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels is perfectly situated between the European Quarter and the historical centre of Brussels. The Royal Palace is just a few steps away. This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over Brighton Restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything breaths elegance and charm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
196Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
18Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1465Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 757
  • 464
  • 152
  • 53
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Charys wrote a review Aug 15
Bad Nauheim, Germany2 contributions
We started our stay in Brussels in another hotel which also had good reviews and left after one night. Coming from that negative experience, what a joy it was to enter the Thon!! All the interior spaces are lovely, with thoughtful touches like free fresh fruit in a bowl by the elevator and a pool billiard table. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly at every hour, and know the area well. They even helped us find an open restaurant at 10pm when the internet information proved unreliable. The room was lovely, exactly as pictured. The bed was comfortable for both my husband and me although he is twice as heavy as I am, and everything was spotlessly clean. We also appreciated the slippers and bathrobes in the room. We have stayed in about ten different quality hotels in Brussels over the years and this one was our favorite!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Off-season, area restaurants may not be open according to their normal hours, call ahead or ask...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura S wrote a review Aug 14
Haifa, Israel14 contributions16 helpful votes
Liked the possibility to early check in without extra payment Liked the proximity to public transportation Liked the cleannesses and the conform of the beds s Good service Didn’t like the fitness room, don’t suit such a hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Katherine C wrote a review Jul 2022
116 contributions55 helpful votes
My mom and I are staying in Brussels for three nights and already loving this place. Our two room suite is gorgeous and incredibly quiet. We were able to check in early and the front desk was incredibly kind. Breakfast is included with the room and there is a small gym downstairs. Someone said the hotel is far away from tourists attractions but we walked everywhere yesterday! We are only 0.9 miles from the Grand Place and about 0.5 miles from all the museums. Personally, I love that the hotel is in a quiet area. I would definitely recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paul S wrote a review Jul 2022
Berkshire6 contributions
Despite the discreet entrance the Stanhope is definitely a luxury hotel as reflected by the prices but a few niggles let it down. No restaurant on the weekend was rather strange but not exceptional for Brussels in summer when the hotel is half empty. For that reason it's a shame that we were placed next door to another couple of night owls: not really the hotel's fault but the walls are not soundproof! Otherwise the bathroom is spacious and quite well equipped but not 5 star. Bedroom also spacious and very comfortable bed. Unfortunately the a/c was struggling to keep the room cool while it was 30c+. Lovely courtyard restaurant for a top quality breakfast served expediently. Gym was basic but acceptable, otherwise just a sauna. Overall I would still say it's a very nice hotel and walking distance to the main sights. I suspect it is dealing with business customers in the main.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: we asked for a high floor round the back to minimise noise on a Saturday night, but it will be...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Spencer, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you had an overall pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your comfortable and spacious room. However, we do regret to read that you were disturbed, please let us know at the time so that we can find a way to ensure you are entirely comfortable. Furthermore, we are sorry to hear that your room temperature was not quite perfect for you and encourage our guests to reach out to us with any issues so that we can deal with them. Nevertheless, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast and made good use of our facilities. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes, Stanhope Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce Ottaway wrote a review Jul 2022
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
A very nice hotel with lots of ambience. The garden restaurant was our favourite place to eat. The whole hotel was a great experience. We had 4 nights and will stay here again if we come back to Brussels. I cannot think of anything negitave about our stay at the Stanhope Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
steve wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The Stanhope is a well positioned beautifully decorated hotel. We were instantly welcomed and made to feel special. Adam on reception could not have been nicer and upgraded us to a beautiful suite. The suite was nicely decorated and extremely comfortable. Sadly we had to depart relatively early on the Sunday morning but not until we had experienced a delightful breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay for celebrating our wedding anniversary. 😉Steve and Chris Hayward
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure your prepared to park outside of the Brussels lez zone. Not the hotel's fault but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rahelgershuni wrote a review Jun 2022
Jerusalem, Israel121 contributions42 helpful votes
The Stanhope was the highlight of my stay in Brussels. It is an island of peace and beauty. The rooms, the lobby, the bar, the furnishings, the statues, even the floor in the lobbey are full of beauty. The room was quiet and spacious and allowed me to rest and to sleep wonderfully. It was an experience in itself and without regard to the other beauties in Brussels. While it was more expensive than what i usually pay for hotels, it was worth every penny. I am grateful to have stayed there. The only downsides were that it was a bit far for me to walk to Grand Place which is 20 minutes away for a young and fit person, but not for me.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are good but some require you to go up and down steps. So if that is an issue, check...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear Bergkamp, Thank you for sharing your opinion of your recent stay. It means a lot to hear you had such a quiet and relaxing stay. We aim to provide quality rooms that are both comfortable and convenient for our guests, and it is very rewarding to know that we hit the mark for you. We are sorry that our location didn't meet your expectations. We do have transport options close by for easy access to the city and our team are always available with information and advice on the best way to travel to your destination. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Stanhope Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TRBUK wrote a review Jun 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom489 contributions178 helpful votes
The food and service was excellent with a single complaint - my white wine glass was dirty. I asked for a replacement and then realised that too wasn't clean. 3rd time lucky but even this glass has a dirty base! When I came to leave I found I was locked in and a staff member had to leave their desk to walk me out - just a little odd!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience and appreciate your kind words about our dedicated team. Our hotel holds hygiene in high regard and rest assured that we will discuss your feedback with our bar team to ensure that this does not happen again in the future; thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are also concerned to hear about the incident you mention and apologise for any inconvenience. We all hope we have the pleasure of seeing you in the future. Best regards, Stanhope Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YoshiDus wrote a review May 2022
Earth, Texas1922 contributions384 helpful votes
+1
First time at The Stanhope (usually we stay at Hotel Amigo) and we have to say that we are highly satisfied with our experience. Our Club room was immaculate clean and very well furnished. Even for a longer stay you will find everything you need. Overall highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels
Responded Jun 3, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this glowing review. We work hard to meet your expectations, and it is rewarding to know that we were able to succeed in doing so. Your kind words will inspire our team members to keep up the good work! We will be happy to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Stanhope Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard Ö wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
A gorgeous hotel, very fresh and with very friendly and service minded staff and an excellent breakfast. Excellent location for me, very close to my meetings and a short walk down to city. Quiet and close to communications.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels
Responded May 12, 2022
Dear Richard, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are delighted you found our location so convenient. Our dedicated team always aim to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests and you will always find them ready to assist at any time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Stanhope Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$166 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BelgiumBrussels
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Parlamentarium (0.3 miles), Royal Palace (Palais Royal) (0.3 miles), and Luxembourg Square (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Poet, Osteria Bolognese, and Il Pasticcio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Brussels.
Are any cleaning services offered at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Stanhope Hotel Brussels by Thon Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Dutch.