We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Brussels
Post
Inbox
Search

Hotel Metropole

Save
Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000 Belgium
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$121
View Deal
Hotels.com
$121
View Deal
Trip.com
$329
$114
View Deal
SAVE $215
Official Site$118
CheapTickets$121
Otel.com$329
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1934)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (659)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
More than a century of excellence and high quality service awaits you at Hotel Metropole, the only 19th century hotel still active in Brussels! Right in the historical center of the European capital, Hotel Metropole is located just a few steps away from one of the city's most exciting shopping street "La rue Neuve"​ as well as historic monuments such as "​ La Grand-Place"​, "La Bourse"​ and "Le Theatre de la Monnaie"​. It is also easily accessible by public transport. This classified historic building features a brasserie-restaurant "Café Métropole"​, an elegant bar "​Le 31"​, a breakfast room “Le Jardin Indien” (for up to 180 people), unique venue rooms for receptions, banquets, meetings and seminars accommodating up to 500 guests, without forgetting the 251 rooms and suites containing original pieces of art and furnishing! Hotel Metropole also offers to its guests free high speed Wifi, 24-hr concierge and room service as well as free drinks in the minibar of the rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
409Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
93Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3,549Reviews51Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,144
  • 1,308
  • 608
  • 280
  • 209
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My husband and I stayed in Hotel Metropole in our first visit to Brussels for 4 nights and we had booked the Privilege Double Room with breakfast. Check-in and out: In terms of check-in, it went rather smoothly and the staff were very accommodating in helping us with settling in. They also gave us 2 free waters, 2 sparkling waters and 2 beers (which we asked to be switched since we don’t drink alcohol), in the room minibar. This was only a one time thing, we then depended on purchasing water from a nearby Carrefour for the rest of the trip. Check-out was just as smooth as the check-in and we were finished in under 10 minutes. Room: The room was a spacious room, with a terrace, TV, a trouser iron, a decent sitting area as well as a desk. Overall the room facilities which were available to us were all in excellent condition and we didn’t have any complaint with any of them throughout our stay. A.C. and heating was good, the bed was comfortable and the room was easy to adjust to. I must say, however, that the room does not have a boiler or a coffee machine or an iron which was a bit difficult for us to work around. There also didn’t seem to be an ironing room we could go to to straighten out our clothes. I’m unsure about the hotel ironing services, we didn’t really enquire about it. The bathroom was also spacious, but lacked counter space to keep your toiletries (toothbrush, face washes, etc.) It had heated floors which we found very comforting especially in the winter. The bathroom had all the necessary toiletries such as soap, shampoo and conditioner but it was poorly replaced by housekeeping. In general, we noticed that throughout our stay housekeeping did not do a very good job at properly cleaning the room. Bathrobes were taken and not replaced, toiletries were also not replaced, they did not vacuum the carpets whatsoever and for some reason they would take the spare room key we kept n the light socket after they were done cleaning. This made us uncomfortable so we asked for the room key to be deactivated and a new one was issued. Dining: As I mentioned earlier, we did take the room with the breakfast included in the rate and I must say we were VERY glad to have done so. The breakfast buffet was absolutely spectacular with a generous selection of pastries, the MOST DELICIOUS brioche bread, a machine that made fresh pancakes with a press of a button, deliciously scrambled eggs and wonderfully sautéed mushrooms (very delicious and filling!). Fresh jams, yogurts, cheese, cereals and of course the classic Belgian waffles. The buffet also has an automatic machine which made fresh juices (again with a press of a button) and overall the staff in the buffet were very kind and accommodating. I do also want to point out that the hotel is located in a very central part of Brussels with plenty of cafes which served breakfast so taking the breakfast option is not a necessity but worked out great for convenience. The hotel also had a room service menu with few options so when we did decide to order something to our room we just used the popular food delivery app “Deliveroo”. Location: The location of the hotel is very central with all the main attractions only walking distance away. We even walked to Brussels Central station and spent a day in Bruges which was very enjoyable. We were also there during the Christmas Market season where the Christmas market was located directly in front of the hotel! General: Generally speaking we had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Metropole, we probably would not book in the same hotel again if we wanted a 5 star experience as honestly it felt more like a 4 star experience to us. But if you’re looking for a comfortable hotel in central Brussels and your standards are not super high this could be the hotel for you.
Read more
Response from hotelmetropolebru, Community Management Coordinator at Hotel Metropole
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, Your feedback is really important to us and we would like to thank you for the time you took to leave us such a detailed review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay overall. However, we have duly noted your comments in regard of what we can improve. We will share them with the team concerned in order to act accordingly. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. Kind regards, Hotel Metropole
Read more
We booked a superior room. Our room was far from superior. It lacked basic facilities that I would expect from the most basic room. One of the worst room I've stayed in. On the plus side, staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from hotelmetropolebru, Community Management Coordinator at Hotel Metropole
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Mikel, Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that your room didn't meet your expectations. On behalf of our entire team we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback had been shared with our management team in order to avoid this kind of issue and improve our facility in the future. Thank you for the time you took to share your experience with us. Kind regards, Hotel Metropole
Read more
Stuff is very friendly and willing to give you a hand every time for everything. Rooms are tidy and breakfest is really special. Location is more than amazing, just aroaund the corner from the Grand Place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from hotelmetropolebru, Community Management Coordinator at Hotel Metropole
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay overall. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel Metropole
Read more
When we arrived the porter immediately took our bags to reception and we were swiftly checked in. We got shown to our room, which was much larger than expected, with our bags having been taken by the porter. Awaiting us was a bottle of cava (which hadn't been requested) but was very much welcome! The room and bathroom was very clean and stylish. All in all a really good stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from hotelmetropolebru, Community Management Coordinator at Hotel Metropole
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Josh, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel Metropole
Read more
Just returned from a two night stay at hotel metropole we had a fantastic stay and will definitely be returning the staff were very friendly and helpful .Café metropole is well worth a vist excellent food and drinks
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from hotelmetropolebru, Community Management Coordinator at Hotel Metropole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel Metropole
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
metropole hotel brussels
LOCATION
BelgiumBrussels
NUMBER OF ROOMS
251
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Metropole
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Metropole?
Nearby attractions include Royal Theatre Toone (0.3 miles), Delirium (0.2 miles), and Elisabeth (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Metropole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Metropole?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Metropole?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Metropole?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Metropole?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Rossini, Aux Merveilleux de Fred, and The Lobster House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Metropole?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Metropole located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Brussels.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Metropole?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Metropole?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Metropole offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.