We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Jules Bordetstraat 5, Antwerp 2018 Belgium
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (64)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (9)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from August
Updated 05/15/20

About

#38 of 84 hotels in Antwerp
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on the former Military Hospital site in Antwerp, August embodies the character of the area at its finest. The intimate 44-room & suite property lies amidst a truly vibrant part of the city. Surrounded by restaurants, bars, parks and creative areas, August re-envisions its historical central function with a bespoke hotel, an open restaurant and bar and a dedicated wellness area.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Couples massage
Massage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
145Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
75Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 47
  • 11
  • 7
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
M.P wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
A weekend in Antwerp to remember. We want to thank the team for making our stay so wonderful and special. The unique environment really comes into its own because of the helpful and friendly staff. They take time for every guest individually and provide a lot of information. We got a complimentary upgrade upon arrival, the room was spacious and light. Every detail is thought through!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Van Genechten, Gastenservice/Front Office at August
Responded Jul 26, 2020
Dear Mrs. / Mr. Thank you for your review! It's an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your experience at August. We will certainly pass your comment to our team members. We truly hope to welcome you back soon. With sincere regards Team. August
Read more
Alba Antón wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
You can’t enjoy the full experience, since they charge you for each service individually! You pay 200 euros per night, but you have to pay the spa separate (170 per hour) plus the parking (25 euros) etc! When paying such a high price you can expect to enjoy a full experience. During my stay in August I felt they didn’t care about guaranteeing a nice stay but to sell!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from August Antwerp, Guest Services / Front Office at August
Responded Jul 15, 2020
Dear Ms/Mr. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at August. We are very saddened to read that you got the feeling we didn't care about guaranteeing you a nice and comfortable stay. We can tell you this is not the case! We do ask €25 for using our underground parking lot since we have a limited amount of spaces there. We also provide multiple other options for our guests that do not want to make use of the parking lot while still wanting to park close to the hotel. Access to our Private Wellness is €70 for an hour for 2 people. Not €170! All the details about prices and extra's can be found on our website of course. We do hope to welcome you back at August and prove we do care about our guests having the best time with us. Kind regards, Team August
Read more
MP88 wrote a review Jun 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
Well designed/decorated hotel but sadly with terrible service and dirty rooms - very overpriced for what it is. We stayed in one of the largest rooms and issues included: 1) dirty bathtub (not cleaned properly with visible dirty plastic in the tub) 2) dirty sink top 3) broken internal intercom system disabling you from calling reception 4) limited open space in the room despite being one of the largest rooms 5) bad amenities such as no newspapers available, very limited pool availability and no hotel guest priority Service aside from this was slow, unflexible and unhelpful - even our restaurant order was misordered. After speaking to other guests at neighboring breakfast table, we understood we were not the only room experiencing the above. Suggest you delay visiting until this hotel sorts out its service - this hotel is currently vastly overpriced for what it offers despite the exceptional location and interior design.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from August Antwerp, Guest Services / Front Office at August
Responded Jul 15, 2020
Dear Mr. Pot First of all we like to thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience at August. It’s with great disappointment we got to read your visit did not live up to the expectations you had set for our hotel. A lot of the originally planned reservations and booked time slots were changed to suit your time schedule better. Also after your check-in we tried to remain flexible and make time changes in our highly demanded spa for you. Unfortunately, we can only change so much as we have other guests that like to keep to their original scheduled appointments. We are very sorry to read these efforts were not validated by you. We did offer you the spa use for free as we came to see that indeed, the phone in your room was not working the moment you tried to reach us and you found a little piece of plastic wrap in your tub. This was discussed with the housekeeping supervisor of course! As you booked an Experience room, but received a complimentary upgrade from us to an Experience Plus room, we could believe the 'feeling of spaciousness' is a bit taken away because of the authentic wooden structure in the ceiling. We also provide other rooms that are bigger or have more light and a higher ceiling. Hopefully you understand that in times of a global pandemic we have to take measurements having amenities like newspapers laying around for everyone to use. This was listed in the welcoming letter given to you at your check-in. After you asked for a newspaper our colleague went to the supermarket, as you requested. Sadly when she returned 10 minutes later, you had left the hotel already. We hope this bittersweet feeling you’re having after staying with us will soon fade and we do hope to welcome you back so we can prove we are capable of living up to your expectations! Kind regards, Team August
Read more
Jan v D wrote a review Jun 2020
Antwerp, Belgium83 contributions27 helpful votes
We had a wonderful lunch in de garden of the August. All fished were very good combined and you can choose a three or two dishes lunch. Champagne was great as also the Bourgogne white wine. We ordered a bottle and the wine was beautiful and pulled nice tears in the glass. And one complement for the staff. They work very hard and were very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Van Genechten, Gastenservice/Front Office at August
Responded Jul 26, 2020
Dear Jan Thank you for writing this review to us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at August. We will certainly pass the message to our team! Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon. With sincere regards Team August
Read more
igfega wrote a review Apr 2020
Antwerp, Belgium7 contributions1 helpful vote
Was Lucy enough to get to enjoy a fabulous weekend in August beging of March. Rooms are elegantly and spacious with a lot of though given to detail and comfort. Staff is very friendly and show a real interest in making you feel welcome and appreciated. There is a superb restaurants in house with delicious dishes with top quality products and a well stocked wine cellar. Breakfast was very diverse and with lots of though given to quality to enjoy the beautiful setting of the old chapel. Not to miss a visit to the private spa. Dedicated therapist offer a great array of treatments from facials to relaxing full body massages. Can’t wait to book again as soon as the current health crisis is over.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Van Genechten, Gastenservice/Front Office at August
Responded Jul 26, 2020
Dear Sir Thank you for you review! What a pleasure to read your words... We truly hope to welcome you soon again at August! With sincere regards Team August
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersAntwerp ProvinceAntwerp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about August
Which popular attractions are close to August?
Nearby attractions include Cogels Osylei (0.5 miles), Zurenborg (0.5 miles), and Lebowski's (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at August?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at August?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to August?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Jane, Minerva, and De Troubadour.
Are there opportunities to exercise at August?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at August?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to August?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sint-Jacob Antwerpen (1.4 miles), Town Hall (Stadhuis) (1.7 miles), and Diamond District (1.1 miles).
Is August accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.