We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banks Hotel

Steenhouwersvest 55, Antwerp 2000 Belgium
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (151)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#40 of 83 hotels in Antwerp
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.5
Value
3.2
BANKS, a wonderful hotel where you can find a Daytime Café and a Lazy Lounge. Located right in the middle of the most fashionable area in town. You will be charmed by the original and modern look of its interior design. Wood, glass and concrete were melted together to enhance a harmonious mix of design and tradition. The furniture has been selected with the utmost care and is completed by their owners creations. A display of exhibitions by young artists decorate the walls. The result is fresh, bright and invigorating. Lounge next to the open fire place or a stroll straight into town? Always feel welcome at BANKS!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more
611Reviews1Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 240
  • 133
  • 74
  • 64
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Carole K wrote a review Jan 2024
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates2 contributions1 helpful vote
Awful experience! Had to cancel a stay for 3 persons in 2 rooms which I did more than 48 hours prior to stay. Received one single confirmation for the 2 rooms on which I then canceled. Now they charge me with 1 room with the argument that I should have canceled twice!! Upon polite request to show good will, the answer was that the file was closed. The front desk manager then got rude on the phone when I announced to make my experience public!!! Stay away!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CDFBologna wrote a review Dec 2023
Barcelona, Spain1227 contributions455 helpful votes
Very surprising hotel. The lobby is warm and the breakfast/lounge area probably one of the most inviting I have ever seen. Really worth visiting for a coffee. Then you go upstairs: concrete blocks everywhere you look, white curtains, very cold. But somehow you get used to it and the white gives you a feeling of cleanness. Excellent service otherwise. Bathroom amenities are made in China but stamped as not containing harmful chemicals. Overall a very good value for money in an excellent location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle71 wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom408 contributions236 helpful votes
Clean room, comfy bed. Warm and cosy room. Location great to get around the old town of Antwerp. The metro station is 2 minutes away, great for coming from the airport with luggage, and easy to book tickets with the app, good base to do a day trip to other cities, we went to Ghent. The lady with the dark brown hair on reception really lovely. The room had a small balcony you could step out on and watch the world below. The free drinks and nibbles a good idea, really nice atmosphere on Saturday night when we arrived. We stayed for 3 nights. The underfloor heating in the bathroom, what a good shout! I would recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BoroughLad wrote a review Sep 2023
London, United Kingdom37 contributions81 helpful votes
Loved the modern, young, art vibe of Banks. Good for a no-fuss weekend stay. - Good size room, clean, modern, muted colours and fresh feel - Stylish contemporary decor throughout, nice lounge area - Excellent location for the city centre, next to local square - Friendly team and no stress service - Free afternoon drinks - I didn’t have breakfast so can’t comment on food - In a city location, so expect some background noise from local street & cafes. - The shower and toilet are integrated in the bedroom with only a glass panel, so maybe not to everyone’s preference. Would definitely stay again for a weekend break.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Traveller12Glasgow wrote a review Jul 2023
Glasgow16 contributions16 helpful votes
- Reception staff rude and unhelpful. - Small room despite booking a superior room. Just enough room for double bed - Room key had to be reprogrammed 4 times on weekend stay - Kept deposit cost of room after paying in full on arrival, causing me to overdraw at bank. - Still awaiting refund.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Jul 23, 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and of course we are sorry to read Banks has not met your expectations in full. Still we do hope you did enjoy Banks very central location, enabling you to explore the full city by foot. And we do hope we may welcome you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Simon M wrote a review Jul 2022
Clitheroe, United Kingdom687 contributions381 helpful votes
I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past and had considered it good value with a good location. However this time it was much more expensive. On top of that is was told I had to pay 10.03 Euro, despite my confirmation email stating i had to pay only the 2.97 Euro city tax. I queried this with the guy at check in. He said he would look into it and get back to me. He didn't. In the morning there was no one available, the only person their was the lady doing breakfast. I requested non-feather bedding which was confirmed by email, but the quilts were feather as was one of the pillows Apparently this extra is a booking fee!!! Never heard of that one before, clearly a rip off I won't be going back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Simon, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us. And i do apologise for not ensuring the right quilt and pillow were put in your room Of course we are sorry we were unable to explain the charges to you which is the total for the reservation costs of which 2,97 Euro is for the city tax. We do hope we may welcome you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink as we did on many occasions before. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Traveler M wrote a review May 2022
Wake Forest, North Carolina306 contributions268 helpful votes
Close to shopping centers, restaurants, and public transportation. A small hotel with great location and staff. The rooms are small, and I would not recommend a small room with a partner. If you desire privacy; you can't go wrong with this venue.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for room in rear of hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and we are happy to read Banks has met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anre wrote a review Apr 2022
Switzerland201 contributions129 helpful votes
The Banks Hotel is located in the centre of Antwerp. The staff is friendly and welcoming. I've enjoyed the concrete ceilings and the view from our room on the 5th floor. Unfortunately the room was very small so you should only book the hotel if you dont need a lot of space. I'd book the hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Top level room!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear guest, How wonderful to read Banks has met your expectations in full and thank you for the time taken to share your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geir H wrote a review Feb 2022
Mons, Belgium60 contributions16 helpful votes
Normally I wouldn’t write a review on a hotel which I haven’t stayed at. But looking at previous reviews I can see that this has happened before and they obviously haven’t learned anything… Short version; We where in a covid situation and ended up in a discussion if “48 hours before the day of arrival” is midnight, as the hotel claimed, or at 15:00 as described in their own information. We ”lost” the discussion, where charged for the room, and will not make use of a discount offer to stay there at a later occasion. Point is we would rather pay full price knowing we get to hotel where they know customers service than save some money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and of course we are sorry you were unable to travel due to Covid-19. Since April 2020 all booking sites (including our own website) have pointed out to all bookers that contract conditions for new bookings apply (despite the corona measures). This does not alter the fact that we sincerely regret that you were unable to travel to Banks. We would also have liked to see it differently and welcomed you with great pleasure. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Larbi wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Travel for 2 weeks on this hôtel. I recommend this hotel to everyone. It is very well located, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The service is impeccable and it was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. I highly recommend it for business trips, couples or families. Also the breakfast is very good with a wide choice of food. Excellent
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear guest, We are happy to read Banks has met your expectations in full. We look forward to welcoming you again with a chilled welcome drink. Banks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Antwerp area.
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
banks hotel antwerp
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersAntwerp ProvinceAntwerp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BANKS HOTEL $118 ($̶1̶4̶6̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Antwerp, Belgium

Frequently Asked Questions about Banks Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Banks Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museum De Reede (0.3 miles), Museum Plantin-Moretus (0.06 miles), and Grote Markt (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Banks Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Banks Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Banks Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Banks Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chocotale Antwerp, Msemen, and Compagnie Belge Artisan Gelato.
Is Banks Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Antwerp.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Banks Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Polish, Dutch, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Banks Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Town Hall (Stadhuis) (0.2 miles), Sint-Jacob Antwerpen (0.5 miles), and Het Steen (0.3 miles).
Is Banks Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.