We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Steenhouwersvest 55, Antwerp 2000 Belgium
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
Booking.com
$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/22
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
$104
View deal
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com$116
Priceline$118
Travelocity$116
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (148)
Room & Suite (72)
Dining (18)

About

#37 of 90 hotels in Antwerp
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.5
Value
3.2
BANKS, a wonderful hotel where you can find a Daytime Café and a Lazy Lounge. Located right in the middle of the most fashionable area in town. You will be charmed by the original and modern look of its interior design. Wood, glass and concrete were melted together to enhance a harmonious mix of design and tradition. The furniture has been selected with the utmost care and is completed by their owners creations. A display of exhibitions by young artists decorate the walls. The result is fresh, bright and invigorating. Lounge next to the open fire place or a stroll straight into town? Always feel welcome at BANKS!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more
604Reviews1Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 96
  • 239
  • 132
  • 73
  • 64
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Simon M wrote a review Jul 2022
Clitheroe, United Kingdom634 contributions369 helpful votes
I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past and had considered it good value with a good location. However this time it was much more expensive. On top of that is was told I had to pay 10.03 Euro, despite my confirmation email stating i had to pay only the 2.97 Euro city tax. I queried this with the guy at check in. He said he would look into it and get back to me. He didn't. In the morning there was no one available, the only person their was the lady doing breakfast. I requested non-feather bedding which was confirmed by email, but the quilts were feather as was one of the pillows Apparently this extra is a booking fee!!! Never heard of that one before, clearly a rip off I won't be going back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Simon, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us. And i do apologise for not ensuring the right quilt and pillow were put in your room Of course we are sorry we were unable to explain the charges to you which is the total for the reservation costs of which 2,97 Euro is for the city tax. We do hope we may welcome you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink as we did on many occasions before. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler M wrote a review May 2022
Wake Forest, North Carolina305 contributions263 helpful votes
Close to shopping centers, restaurants, and public transportation. A small hotel with great location and staff. The rooms are small, and I would not recommend a small room with a partner. If you desire privacy; you can't go wrong with this venue.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for room in rear of hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Jun 2, 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and we are happy to read Banks has met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anre wrote a review Apr 2022
Switzerland200 contributions129 helpful votes
The Banks Hotel is located in the centre of Antwerp. The staff is friendly and welcoming. I've enjoyed the concrete ceilings and the view from our room on the 5th floor. Unfortunately the room was very small so you should only book the hotel if you dont need a lot of space. I'd book the hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Top level room!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear guest, How wonderful to read Banks has met your expectations in full and thank you for the time taken to share your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geir H wrote a review Feb 2022
Mons, Belgium59 contributions16 helpful votes
Normally I wouldn’t write a review on a hotel which I haven’t stayed at. But looking at previous reviews I can see that this has happened before and they obviously haven’t learned anything… Short version; We where in a covid situation and ended up in a discussion if “48 hours before the day of arrival” is midnight, as the hotel claimed, or at 15:00 as described in their own information. We ”lost” the discussion, where charged for the room, and will not make use of a discount offer to stay there at a later occasion. Point is we would rather pay full price knowing we get to hotel where they know customers service than save some money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and of course we are sorry you were unable to travel due to Covid-19. Since April 2020 all booking sites (including our own website) have pointed out to all bookers that contract conditions for new bookings apply (despite the corona measures). This does not alter the fact that we sincerely regret that you were unable to travel to Banks. We would also have liked to see it differently and welcomed you with great pleasure. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larbi wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Travel for 2 weeks on this hôtel. I recommend this hotel to everyone. It is very well located, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. The service is impeccable and it was a pleasure to stay in this hotel. I highly recommend it for business trips, couples or families. Also the breakfast is very good with a wide choice of food. Excellent
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear guest, We are happy to read Banks has met your expectations in full. We look forward to welcoming you again with a chilled welcome drink. Banks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kdewitte27 wrote a review Dec 2021
Bonheiden, Belgium32 contributions68 helpful votes
We booked and immediately asked whether it was possible to assign us to a bigger room if one would free up. (Paid upgrade). So it happened. Friendly and efficient. All done via email. Great! Got an ”executive” room. Bingo. But also tiny. Too tiny I’d say. I like the industrial look, but that being said, i miss a bit of the arty farty personal touch you usually find in similar boutique hotels across the globe. We’re still dealing with Covid restrictions so maybe that’s got something to do with it. Nevertheless the place does miss a few core attributes to create more of a unique vibe. Everything works well but I can’t help but think that the owners care more about running an efficient business whilst missing out on understanding the art of running a hotel. K
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Dec 13, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for your time to share your constructive feedback with us, which is much appreciated and will be actioned upon. Further we look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank wrote a review Feb 2020
Castricum, The Netherlands652 contributions189 helpful votes
I honestly don't know why this hotel has four stars. To start this review positively, the location of the hotel is perfect. But that is it. We stayed in room 205, a standard room facing a wall. This room is ideal when you travel alone, but it is too small for two people. The double bed was small but otherwise fine. Our light in the shower/toilet did not work. We wanted to report it, but there was no staff present. Apparently, there is no staff present in the evening. You have to pay attention if the door falls into the lock after closing it. We had to open and close the door several times before it fell into the lock. The next morning we wanted to have breakfast. At check-in, we didn't know if we had time for breakfast, so that is why we have not booked this in advance. Having breakfast was a wholly new hospitality experience. Breakfast cannot be added to the room bill, so I had to go back to the room to get my credit card. You need to pay first (17 euro's instead of 14 euro's), and then you will get your pre-prepared breakfast. Old and dehydrated bread and yogurt with jelly in it. Breakfast was the deciding factor. It was the 1st but also the last time we booked this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niesje Hogewoning, General Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Dear Frank, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and of course we are sorry to read Banks has not met your expectations in full. Indeed our location is perfect, a very central location so you can explore the entire city on foot. The Vrijdagmarkt, the Groenplaats and the ModeNatie are around the corner. As are the Museum Plantin-Moretus, the only printer that is featured on the UNESCO world heritage list. Banks crew is available in the hotel 24/7 so we are sorry to read you were unable to connect with them to report the light was not working. And indeed Banks healthy breakfast is served at your table, liked by most of our guests. If you would have shared your remarks there and then we could have sorted them for you to ensure you would enjoy your breakfast. Unfortunately now we cannot change your opinion anymore, which we do pity. Still we do hope we may welcome you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink to show Banks is a nice place to stay. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc d wrote a review Feb 2020
Brussels, Belgium58 contributions13 helpful votes
The interior is modern, naked, concrete and white. Some could say cold - i'll call it loft design on a smaller scale. Rooms are small, though everything is there. Bit strange to have the bathroom separated by a window - but you can live with it. Great space downstairs: cosy and welcoming. For chilling, taking a bite ord reading a book. Since rooms are small, it's perfect to get some quiet moment down there. Personnel is friendly and helpfull regarding the amenities. We got good advise about dropping the car in a free parking in the neighbourhood. Last but not least, hotel has a great location, near the trendy shopping area and the historical places.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Feb 5, 2020
Dear Marc, It is great to read Banks has met your expectations and thank you for the time taken to share this with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink during your next trip to Antwerp. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M R wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location but Antwerp is a small city anyway. Rooms are ok but not user friendly. Beds small for superior room and I am a small person. Breakfast is not in touch peoples needs if you don't eat meat ( am not a vegetarian either ). So front desk service for a 4 star hotel after 1800 is ridiculous.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear Mark, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and thank you for appreciating Banks location. Even though Antwerp is not a "big" city being right in the middle of the city center is very convenient. Breakfast is indeed served at your table and if you have any preferences or things you miss, just let our team know so they can act upon it. And our team is available 24/7 - so just do not hesitate to contact them if you need assistance. Further we do hope we may welcome you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ralphtribe wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom23 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel is brilliant. Superb location in a very upmarket part of Antwerp with lots of nice designer shops around it. Great value for money (I think it was the least expensive of all the nice hotels on Booking.con when I looked). Nice rooms - we were in a “Small Room” but it wasn’t even that small. Very well maintained ... and then the special touch; A totally free bar between 5.30pm to 8pm!! I’m not joking - the hotel has a lovely bar on The ground floor with unlimited free beer, wine and Prosecco, plus nibbles!, between those hours. As a result it’s got plenty of people in there, so a nice buzzy atmosphere. People were not taking advantage of it, just respectful that the hotel could do something so generous - made you feel special so people we’re friendly and happy but not rowdy and We were there in a Saturday night. Never seen that in a hotel before, but it’s a brilliant touch and means it’s the only place we would ever stay if we went back. Love this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Banks-Antwerp, Manager at Banks Hotel
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Dear guest, How wonderful to read Banks has met your expectations in full and we look forward to welcoming you again in Banks with a chilled welcome drink. Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us and as said we do look forward to welcoming you again in Banks. With kind regards, Niesje Hogewoning Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
banks hotel antwerp
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersAntwerp ProvinceAntwerp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BANKS HOTEL $112 ($̶1̶3̶3̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Antwerp, Belgium

Frequently Asked Questions about Banks Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Banks Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museum De Reede (0.3 miles), Museum Plantin-Moretus (0.06 miles), and Carat Antwerp (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Banks Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Banks Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Banks Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Banks Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Compagnie Belge Artisan Gelato, Okoz, and Msemen.
Is Banks Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Antwerp.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Banks Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Polish, Dutch, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Banks Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Town Hall (Stadhuis) (0.2 miles), Sint-Jacob Antwerpen (0.5 miles), and Het Steen (0.3 miles).
Is Banks Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.