We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Save
Share
Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK, The Hague The Netherlands
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1338)
Room & Suite (364)
Dining (55)

About

#62 of 75 hotels in The Hague
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This luxury hotel is directly located at the North Sea and is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. Each of the rooms offer extra-long, comfortable bedding, a desk and free use of the minibar which is restocked daily. The private bathroom comes with a contemporary decor. The restaurant serves an extensive breakfast and features views over the North Sea. When the weather allows it, it is also possible to enjoy breakfast on the terrace of the hotel. Guests can have a high-tea, brunch or coffee while chatting in the conservatory. The restaurant serves classic French-style haute cuisine for dinner, with a slight focus on fish and seafood dishes. The usage of the Wi-Fi is free of charge.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Full view
94Great for walkers
Grade: 94 out of 100
102Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
19Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1997Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 507
  • 529
  • 379
  • 294
  • 288
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
han b wrote a review Nov 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands8 contributions7 helpful votes
This should have been the cherry on the cake of our weekend our. However it ruined it. Arrival was bad, long queues. Dinner was ok, as was the room. Breakfast was the worst I ever had, in hundreds of hotels on six continents. We were not allowed in the main room, backup room had a broken coffee machine and no toaster. Supplies were scarce, quality of the food bad. Long queues nevertheless. Hell is breakfast at the Kurhaus. Letter of complaint confirmed but never answered.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Officer, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Responded Dec 3, 2021
Dear Hanb, I would like to thank you for the time and effort you have taken to share your comments with us. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I will make sure to share your feedback with our management team so we can improve our service in the future. We hope to welcome you again and exceed your expectations next time. Kind regards, Duty manager
Read more
Hausbodo123 wrote a review Sep 2021
Germany1 contribution
If this is a 5 stars hotel all hotels can degrade their standard and work much less. Room was completely oversprayed with a heavy room spray so we couldn’t breathe anymore and our eyes were burning. Next room. The carpet was so dirty, full of stains. No way to put a feet on it. No separate hand soap available. No wash clothes. I asked prior arrival for separate duvets. Wasn’t there. I had to call three times, finally two men came and put the cover on the duvet luring it behind them on the floor. So much for clean bedcovers. In COVID time there was only shampoo, body wash, conditioner in prior used, shared bottles. Not even a regular bottle of drinking water in the room as totally normal in a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. The restaurant gave us shivers and was totally unorganized. I booked a table of 12 prior arrival. When we arrived no table ready, the staff asking us to sit at separate tables although it was almost empty (no wonder!) . Nobody finished the food. Champagne was served like a beer. The whole restaurant is the coldest, ugliest, unwelcoming place with acoustic echo. The furniture is old, fabrics old, there is dust everywhere and stains, stains, stains everywhere. If this was ones a Grand Hotel it is now a Grand Disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Officer, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Responded Dec 18, 2021
Dear Hausbodo123, I would like to thank you for the time and effort you have taken to share your comments with us. We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I will make sure to share your feedback with our management team so we can improve our service in the future. We hope to welcome you again and exceed your expectations next time. Kind regards, Duty manager
Read more
Jesper R wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Having booked an executive room with a sea view, we had very high expectations. That's what made it so disappointing that they weren't met at all. The first thing we noticed was how dated the room was. Furniture was chipped and scuffed, the mattress had sagged on one side, and the windows hadn't been cleaned in a long time. Neither had the corridor outside, which was covered in a ratty, sandy old carpet. We also found bird droppings inside our room. We tried to call reception to get them to fix it, but couldn't get through for hours because they so many people were queuing at the check in desk. Once we did find someone to talk to, all they did was offer to send housekeeping (we had already tracked them down ourselves), or to move us to an inferior room without the sea view we had paid for. We complained twice to two different staff members, but were never offered any sort of workable solution or recompense - I had expected far more hospitality and service from a supposed five star hotel. Later, we thought we'd give the hotel bar a try, only there wasn't one. So we sat down in the restaurant, only no one came to wait on us, so we left after 20 minutes and went to a beach club instead. Breakfast was in itself fine, food was good, but it was an absolute mess. We arrived at our allotted time, but there was no cutlery to be found. We had to track down staff again to get the basics. There were routine shortages throughout breakfast, and they started clearing items away before it was officially over. I don't mean to point fingers at the staff, I'm sure they're simply doing what they've been told to by management. Nevertheless, this was a horribly disappointing experience; I've had far more pleasant stays at 3 star hotels and bed and breakfasts. I feel like I've been scammed and can't recommend this hotel to anyone. Very nice lobby though.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Officer, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Responded Dec 18, 2021
Dear Jrlarsson , Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand hotel Amrath Kurhaus. The feedback of our guests stay is very important as it allows us to improve our service for the future. I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Thank you again for the comments and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Duty manaager
Read more
hormozabdshahzade wrote a review Aug 2021
Zurich, Switzerland73 contributions25 helpful votes
Do not waste your money and time to come to this hotel. I know anyone wants to come here because of the sea and view but believe me you will not enjoy it. The reality: this is a 1-star hotel beside the sea. Only the very last experience 20 min ago. The battery for the room luck is empty so we could not come into the room. I informed them this is their answer: we are very sorry, the technician to change the battery will come tomorrow at 9 am and will fix it. It means I should stay in the room and do not go out because I cannot enter the room. And for this inconvenience, they told me that they will give me a late checkout.🤣🤣 Very funny... DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel for your vacation. Very bad breakfast. Very bad or actually no service...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Officer, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Responded Dec 18, 2021
Dear hormozabdshahzade, Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand hotel Amrath Kurhaus. The feedback of our guests stay is very important as it allows us to improve our service for the future. I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Thank you again for the comments and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Duty manager
Read more
Bry K wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom158 contributions165 helpful votes
To be honest we expected more from Scheveningen’s top hotel, despite the bad ratings here. It all started before we even got there when they sent us the booking details of someone else (wrong name and date.) I called to get it rectified but they did not apologise nor explain. I then booked a massage and a pedicure. We got a call immediately after saying it was not possible and we had to have them at different times. After some back and forth we agreed. Later on, they claimed we had booked each of them twice and tried to double charge us for their mistake. More on that later. We got to our room, I took one step in there and walked straight back out. It smelt of sewage, was freezing cold, tiny and had no bathtub. I went back to reception and asked for another room. This was marginally better, had a side sea view and a bathtub but it was nowhere near the 20 – 25 m2 described on the internet. At best it was around 16m2. There was also a strong sewage smell. A 5 star has to have 4 lamps in the room (there were 2). The walls were bare. It was very sparse. I have seen better 3-star rooms. We ended up having to stay another night in Scheveningen so I found the best rate on their website and thought it would be easier to book another night at reception. Down I went and was told it would be more than that by 20 Euros. I told them the price on the internet was lower. They countered by saying I was clearly looking at Booking.com. I showed them my phone and that it was their own website and not Booking.com. The staff member went back and forth to management and in the end, they agreed to let me have the room for the price on the internet (big concession!) I had to spell out the price exactly. Upon arrival at the spa, as mentioned above, they had double booked me and wanted to charge me double. We spent 20 minutes discussing this which was not relaxing. The staff there are very nice and explained that they had a new system. Also, when we were there, the door opening system went down so there are clearly some internal problems. Also, when we checked in, the staff seemed to be laughing at some internal joke which seemed quite insulting as I was not sure if they were laughing at some of the guests. All in all, the location is a 5* and the public areas are too. The spa area is nice but call to make an appointment. If you are fine with a tiny, 3-star room and frankly weird service the you will be fine here. We were disappointed with the hotel but not with Scheveningen. It is almost like they feel they do not have to try because of their fabulous location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Caveat emptor - buyer beware - standard rooms seem to be no more than around 16m2 and they are...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Officer, Gastenservice/Front Office at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Responded Jun 26, 2021
Dear Bry K, Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. This is the only possible way how we are able to improve our service and products. We are glad that you enjoyed the side sea view from your 2nd room and we would like to apologise for the inconvience during your stay due to the new system. Your feedback will be shared internally with the responsible departments and we will have a deeper insight to fish out the problem. We still look forward to welcome you back to our hotel when the bug has been fixed. Warm regards, Guest Service
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$119 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
steigenberger kurhaus the hague, hotel steigenberger kurhaus
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel
LOCATION
The NetherlandsSouth Holland ProvinceThe Hague
NUMBER OF ROOMS
265
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Nearby attractions include Skyview De Pier (0.2 miles), Scheveningen Beach (0.09 miles), and AFAS Circustheater Den Haag (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie the Beachroom, Steam Scheveningen, and Santos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a heated pool, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.