We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP, The Hague The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
$118
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$117
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel$123
Expedia.com$118
Travelocity$118
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (343)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (44)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 07/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 76 hotels in The Hague
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Charming boutique hotel located in the city centre of The Hague.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
93Great for walkers
Grade: 93 out of 100
64Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
17Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1006Reviews2Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 646
  • 268
  • 65
  • 13
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RP-12 wrote a review Sep 22
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
After an initial hiccup with our room in The Residence we’re were moved to a suite on the top floor of the main hotel…so spacious, light, airy, quiet and well appointed….truly, we didn’t want to leave! The entire hotel was spotlessly clean and well maintained and without exception all of the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, I could even order my favourite porridge made with oat milk! Den Haag itself is charming and we hope to visit again one day…..when we do we will definitely stay at the Carlton Ambassador.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mireille Hoog, Sales at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear RP-12, Thank you for sharing this great review with us and other travelers. We will gladly share your kind words with our team and look forward welcoming you back at Carlton Ambassador! Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Mireille
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erwin D wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates126 contributions108 helpful votes
Very large apartment room, strangely decorated, however lot of space. Entree and intake bit awkward, newly trained staff. Hotel very beautiful outside, inside mismatch, wrong interior decorator. Being stalked with emails, extra’s, offers, parking 20 usd extra. Asked champagne in room, they forgot. All bit inattentive and clumsy. Small lunch poor, breakfast decent not great. All very tired and missed last 5 years of developments in hospitality. Nevertheless one of the better hotels in sleepy The Hague. Price around 250 usd a night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mireille Hoog, Verkoop at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Dear Erwin D, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travellers. We appreciate your feedback! I am so sorry that it went wrong with the champagne. It was an error from our side. We do hope to welcome you back in the future so we can make up! Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Mireille
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DJCJ74 wrote a review Jun 2022
Melbourne48 contributions45 helpful votes
A very warm and inviting place, in a really central, convenient and quiet part of town. Walking distance from most things and close to the tram to get into Centrum or the beach. The staff were most friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious with good facilities. Perhaps a little on the expensive side however, and I may have baulked at the price if this was not a stay for business. If/when Im back in The Hague I'd be glad to stay here again. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mireille Hoog, Verkoop at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Jun 22, 2022
Dear DJCJ74, Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward welcoming you again in the future. Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Mireille
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabel Maria wrote a review Jun 2022
Andujar, Spain30 contributions10 helpful votes
This hotel is handy for the diplomatic quarter of The Hague. The staff were welcoming and friendly. My room was well-equipped, clean and comfortable although there was a bright light shining under the door and through the peep hole from the corridor in the middle of the night which woke me up. Bathroom was great with a nice bathtub and Delft tiles on the wall. The cooked breakfast options were disappointing - only eggs! Maybe have some bacon and pancakes too?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Jansen, Marketing at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Dear Floofers, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us & other travelers on Tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Delft tiles on the wall are actually hand painted, we appreciate you pointed that out! We are constantly trying to improve our services, therefore as well our breakfast. Thank you for your feedback regarding the eggs, we will discuss that with the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future! Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Romy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katerina Y wrote a review May 2022
16 contributions1 helpful vote
I spent just one night there but I had a great experience. Perfect location. Everything was spotless clean, the room was spacious and well-equipped. The breakfast could probably be improved but this was the only minus. I have personally never experienced better service. The staff went above and beyond being helpful and friendly. I sincerely recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Jansen, Marketing at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded May 17, 2022
Beste Katerina, Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and team! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We cannot wait to welcome you again in the future! Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Romy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeggyB3719 wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina118 contributions79 helpful votes
My cousin and I had a Viking cruise cut short by a positive Covid test for one of us. We were taken to this hotel for quarantine. There is no way to express how kind and caring the entire staff was. The hotel is lovely. In a nice neighborhood. Beds comfortable. Food good. We weren’t happy to be there but they made it as pleasant as it could have been. I will go back to the Hague because we didn’t get to see it and will certainly stay here. Ten stars.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Jansen, Marketing at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear Peggy, Thank you so much for your kind words. I will happily pass on the compliments towards our team! We are so glad to hear that despite the situation you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We can't wait to welcome you again at Carlton Ambassador and in The Hague! Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Romy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ibjpam . wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Excellent experience at the Carlton Ambassador! The accomodation was warm, comfortable and clean. Felt like home! The food was great and the service was courteous and friendly. Best of all was the staff - genuinely welcoming and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The hotel is a 10-minute walk to the Centrum where you will find The Hague's best restaurants,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Jansen, Marketing at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Dec 20, 2021
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful experience! It is especially great to hear that our hotel felt like home. Also due to our team. I will happily pass on the compliments! We hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Romy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sanna wrote a review Nov 2021
Brussels, Belgium29 contributions26 helpful votes
The small, beautifully decorated room was spotless and comfortable. Some noise came from the street. I loved the bathroom. The staff helpful and friedly. The breakfast was a kind of disappointment. Scrambled eggs were tasteless, self-service coffee from an automat bad and gluten-free bread frozen.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Romy Jansen, Marketing at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We are glad to hear that our staff has been helpful and friendly! I am sorry to hear that our breakfast offering did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the feedback and will definitely discuss this further with our team. We hope to welcome you again. Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Romy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stewart m wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
We went for a birthday treat from the moment we arrived we were made very welcome all the staff we met from the reception , restaurant, housekeeping were very friendly ,the room was clean and spacious the free mini bar was a bonus, also the surprise gift for my wife on her birthday was a great touch
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mireille Hoog, Verkoop at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Oct 10, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that our team has been exceptional! Hope to see you again in the future. Warm regards, Team Ambassador
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joyce C wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I spent 199 euro per night to stay in This hotel.The room was not same as hotel website description. The room was really dirty, unbelievable dirty! They deducted few different costs from my credit card after I have checked out from the hotel few days later, I was really confused, because they didn’t told me why until I discovered it myself! What terrible!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mireille Hoog, Sales at Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Responded Sep 13, 2021
Dear Ms. Cai, I am so sorry to read this review after all the personal contact we had after you shared your experience with us after your stay in July. We have tried to solve everything to your liking, at the moment itself and afterward. We have tried to explain everything about the different roomtypes and the fact that we have different designs. Our hotel is based in a monumental building and all rooms differ when it comes to size and design. We have used several colors in our rooms and the colors can be found on our website. We have offered to show you around our hotel and make notes for future preferences. We have acknowledged that the room wasn't properly cleaned and apologized and solved it immediately. Also the authorization charge was released by us directly after you pointed this out. Unfortunately, the bank can take some time to process this. If there is anything else I can do for you, please let me know. You have my personal contact details. Warm regards, Team Ambassador - Mireille
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel carlton ambassador, carlton ambassador the hague
LOCATION
The NetherlandsSouth Holland ProvinceThe Hague
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Panorama Mesdag (0.07 miles), Peace Palace (0.3 miles), and De Mesdag Collection (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Villa Coucou, La Passione, and Restaurant Publique.
Is Carlton Ambassador Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of The Hague.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Carlton Ambassador Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Carlton Ambassador Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Madurodam (1.0 miles), Museum Meermanno (0.6 miles), and Old City Hall (0.6 miles).