We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Rotterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My girlfriend and I had received a voucher from some friends to spend a night at this hotel. Location is very good. The other side of the hotel probably has magnificant waterfront-views with the Erasmusbridge. But as we stayed there with a voucher, we were not that lucky. Room was clean. Not too big, but we really don't care. Clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yannick W
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel for a weekend stay in Rotterdam based on other's reviews and it was spot on! Friendly front desk personnel, excellent location, beautiful view of canal and Erasmus bridge and their delicious breakfast is why they are getting a 5 star review from me. Thank you Thon Hotel for helping to make our weekend in your beautiful city... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna G
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, This is what we do it for! Thank you for your nice and kind review! We find it very nice that we could contribute to the success of your visit to Rotterdam: gladly till next time! Kind regards Team Thon Hotel Rotterdam More 

utrec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice budget hotel. Good size clean rooms with a view. Nice staff. Nearby .... well everything! Kop van Zuid on the other side of the Erasmus bridge. Boatride through the harbour on your doorstep. Rent a bike from the hotel and enjoy Rotterdam by bicyle!

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Carlavan
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review about your stay at this hotel! Good to experience that you enjoyed it! Kind regards Eric Slabbekoorn More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took the smallest room, but enjoyed every minute: the view to Erasmusburg bridge, the clean room, breakfast is not included and not cheap (15 euro) but is very good , the staff is helpful and friendly, hotel location on the water is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Mreshef
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your enthusiastic review about your stay at this hotel! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed it so much! Of course we would love to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards Eric Slabbekoorn More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Poor service and mediocre food. We didn't stay at the hotel. We just had brunch at their restaurant. The server seem frustrated because we were looking through the menu and taking few minutes to make our minds. The food they served was poorly made. Also when you ask for water they will bring you a tiny water bottle that will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Curious C
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Thank you for the brief record of your visit to the hotel restaurant. Unfortunately, I understand that the overall did not meet your expectations. I'm sorry you felt that the server was frustrated by the fact that you took the time for your order: this obviously can not be the intention. Unfortunately you do not give details about what you... More 

Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Smallest room i ever get since i visit Holland, and I do this nearly every week. Standard breakfast is just correct but nothing to get out of the bed for. No parking around so the only option is to park in the street where i had to pay 30€ for 7 hours parked. Definately not a place to repeat.

Helpful?
Thank Josue A
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read that the experience you had with this hotel, was not what you expected. Unfortunately, I can not conclude what type of room you have had in your report. Otherwise, I would probably recommend a Superior type, which is spacious. Also, you indicate that you could only park on the street. Almost opposite the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From check-in, staff were helpful and nice. I went in a university trip to visit the ports of Rotterdam and Antwerp, so staff were patient from the beginning as we a had quite a big group. Me and a friend got a lovely room with a balcony and an amazing view of the river. Beds were comfy and the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leticia S
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice review about your stay at this hotel! It is a great please to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and the staff! We certainly would love to welcome you back on a next trip to Rotterdam! Kind regards Eric Slabbekoorn More 

Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Hotel rooms are great - ours had view waterfront. It was compact, very clean and functional. We booked because of location. We were taking Holland American cruise and were able to walk across bridge with luggage in tow in under 15 minutes. Breakfast is pricey so look for other options.

Helpful?
Thank joyce d
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay at this hotel. It is nice to read that you have enjoyed it! We would love to welcome you back on a future cruise trip or visit to Rotterdam! Kind regards Eric Slabbekoorn More 

Lillesand, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

We had an excellent room - with a view, quite to our satisfaction, and a writing desk. The location was acutally better than we expected. We could rent bicycles and all of Rotteram was in walking distance, and being sailors, it is always nice to stay on the river bank.

Helpful?
Thank vivere2016
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor! Good to experience that you have enjoyed your stay and the central location of the hotel on the bank of the Maas river! Kind regards Eric Slabbekoorn More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

I booked my room on the same day as my arrival, and stayed for three nights. Since it was the cheapest alternative at the time, I ended up here. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised! The location is really great. I had booked a single room, and was placed in a room with a fantastic view over the Erasmus bridge.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mifase
Eric S, Manager at Thon Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your enthusiastic review about your stay at this hotel! It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location, the room and the staff. I thanked the receptionist on your behalf: she was happy to be able to do you a favour. I hope we will be able to welcome you again in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maritime Hotel Rotterdam
#33 of 53 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#19 of 53 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thon Hotel Rotterdam is a modern hotel offering breathtaking views of the famous Erasmus Bridge and Maas River in the centre of Rotterdam. We boast 92 air-conditioned guest rooms with full en suite facilities, free Wi-Fi, 2 meeting rooms, a bar and a restaurant. With our friendly service and large choice of packages and special offers for business and leisure guests our hotel is the ideal base to explore Rotterdam. Thon Hotel Rotterdam Hotel assures you a good stay in Rotterdam. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Willemsplein 1, 3016 DN Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Price Range: $84 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Thon Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Rotterdam
Rotterdam Tulip Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay