We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Van der Valk Hotel Leiden

Show Prices
#2 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Start your review of Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
 Click to rate
Waalwijk, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been here several times. Always a good place to stay. Wonderful location, very close to The Hague. Superb room (very clean) and a very complete breakfast, including salmon and various hot/cold dishes, various types of bread, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roel v
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you have always enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again when your travel brings you back to Leiden. With kind regards, Guest Relations

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very good quality, services, location, quiet. extra points for the brasserie, very good food and service. highly recommended if you want to escape from crowds. close to commercial centre and shops. keep up the good work!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank monicaanas
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review regarding your recent stay in Van der Valk Hotel Leiden. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. The next time you are in Leiden, we would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel. With kind regards, Guest Relations

Beijing, China
Reviewed February 5, 2017

Riverside, beautiful view. The room's decoration is modern. Breakfast is full of choices, very nice. It could be better to stay this hotel in summer than in winter, as it would allow more water activities. The hotel is not very close to the Leiden Central station (35 minutes walk) and the city. Therefore it's very convenient to people who will...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lfang2017
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you have had a pleasant stay in our hotel. During summer it is indeed possible to enjoy our outside terrace as well as a boat ride to the city centre of Leiden or the beach of Katwijk. Furthermore we have...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed February 3, 2017

The hotel has a few redeeming features. The rooms are not awful, though mine was half underground (not so rare in the NL), and very dark/gloomy lighting. The breakfast is really pretty good - quality of products is rather high. The staff is friendly and helpful. Location is really bad (far from everything), though there is a shuttle. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mithrandir84110
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the bed did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is of great value for our quality and services. We will discuss your feedback internally and take action where needed. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast and the hotel's staff. We hope to...

Reading
Reviewed January 26, 2017

Quiet and spacious room with balcony (most rooms seem to have them). Check-in and check-out were fine. Breakfast is good. Did not try free wi-fi. The hotel is in a residential area in the outskirts of Leiden. Had dinner in hotel one night which was OK. Minor niggles - didn't like "antiqued carpets" in rooms, although there is a note...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reatigger
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your extensive review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Leiden. All rooms indeed have vintage carpet. We will discuss your feedback regarding the dinner you have had in our restaurant in order to improve our quality. We are sorry to hear that...

Reviewed January 22, 2017

The Van der Valk hotel chain is well known in the Netherlands. The chain strives to offer quality rooms for an affordable price range. Compared to the several recently opened Van der Valk hotels, the Leiden branch is a dated. The room was a bit run down, with a small bath tub, small shower and flimsy plastic shower doors. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is highly appreciated. We will discuss your feedback internally to improve our quality and service level. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in...

wiltz
Reviewed December 28, 2016

good hotel, well situated (calm an nearby the interesting places of Leiden and Den Hague), good parking facilities, modern and clean rooms, good restaurant and friendly people (except for one arrogant guy at the desk). Maybe a little too much over-priced

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucv830
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. Your feedback regarding the front desk representative is highly appreciated and will be discussed internally. We hope to have the chance to welcome you...

Arnhem, Nederland
Reviewed December 25, 2016

After a Christmas party on 24/12/2016 we stayed with our family in this very friendly, nice hotel. The room was excellent , big enough with the extra bed. Very good beds. The Christmas breakfast was huge and great with champagne served as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald1970
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay during Christmas in our hotel. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future in our hotel. With kind regards, Guest Relations

Almancil, Portugal
Reviewed December 18, 2016

we had party with overnight , everthing wa perfect . The service , food on time no mistakes . The room and the breakfast ,was good organize . the location , old restaurant with a perfect vieuw over the water , the set up and decoration was in Xmes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23harmt
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future in our hotel. With kind regards, Guest relations

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable one-night stay at the lovely Van der Valk Hotel in Leiden. We ordered room service and liked the meal, and more importantly, the beds were very comfortable. Staff were all very helpful and professional and the room was big and nicely decorated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marielouisea790
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your beautiful feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We will share your feedback with our team and hope to welcome you again in the near future in our hotel. With kind regards, Guest Relations

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
825 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#5 of 15 in Leiden
577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#6 of 15 in Leiden
610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Fitland Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
80 Beautifully modern rooms & suites with bath and separate shower. A weekend, filled with relaxation and luxury, starts at the Hotel Leiden. A charming a la carte restaurant and cosy bar 'The Old Inn'. Culinary dishes in a pleasant setting, full of atmosphere. 10 Multi functional function rooms with daylight, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Your guests will lack nothing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 14, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Price Range: $92 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leiden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leiden
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
#2 Business Hotel in Leiden
#3 Family Hotel in Leiden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Van der Valk Hotel Leiden staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Wakefield

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Van der Valk Hotel Leiden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms in back may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles reatigger, Jan 26, 2017 | Read review
“I believe all rooms are great and no difference. Ground floor rooms are more easy accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles Ronald1970, Dec 25, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the first floor and above. There are rooms in the basement missing light and the ones at higher floors have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles AudreyG0202, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“avoid the rooms starting with 4”
 of 5 bubbles Tinkerbelle1983, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
“I heard from colleagues that some of the hotel rooms feature a jacuzzi tub.”
 of 5 bubbles Robin_from_Kent, Jun 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question