We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Overhoeksplein 7, 1031 KS Amsterdam The Netherlands
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$173
View deal
Expedia.com
$191
View deal
Priceline
$157
View deal
Travelocity$191
Hotels.com$191
Official Site$192
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (970)
Room & Suite (270)
Dining (77)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sir Adam Hotel
Updated 06/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#40 of 419 in Amsterdam
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
With its bold presence in Amsterdam’s A’DAM Tower, Sir Adam resonates with the vibrant energy of the building’s present occupants, including MassiveMusic, ID&T and Gibson. It’s just behind the city’s Central Station and overlooks the IJ River. Make sure to check out the rooftop for 360-degree views of the city. Rooms & Suites The rooms at Sir Adam were designed with more than sleep in mind, though when it’s time to lay your head, you’ll be doing so on crisp 300-thread-count linens and a pillow from our Sir pillow menu. THE HUB It’s the creative locals and visitors who make The Hub one of Amsterdam’s favorite destinations for quality conversation, a quality beer and quality music. THE BUTCHER SOCIAL CLUB Sir Adam’s in-house destination for those four important B’s that bring bon vivants together—burgers, booze, beer, breakfast—is THE BUTCHER Social Club.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
825Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 591
  • 159
  • 47
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kai-Qiong T wrote a review May 15
Bilzen, Belgium1 contribution
Choose this hotel because of the location and the view. Loved it because of the friendly staff and the superclean rooms. Next time I need to stayover in central Amsterdam this is the one place I am going to book again. Ps. Ask for a room with a view
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Reviewer_2209 wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
I stayed at Sir Adam with a friend for 3 nights last week. We paid for a river view room which looked across to Amsterdam Centraal station with great views of the city. It was also in a really convenient location, as despite being across the river we were only 3 minutes away via the ferry which was free. We initially enjoyed the style of the hotel and the music theme, in particular the themed lifts and record player in the room. Unfortunately there were a few issues which let the hotel down: On checking in we were expecting to be charged city tax and a refundable deposit (subject to use of the mini bar), however on getting to our room we realised we had been charged the full price of the room as well, despite having prepaid for the whole holiday via EasyJet. We highlighted this to someone else in reception and they advised the person who checked us in was new and had made an error, and they immediately agreed to refund me the full amount and charge the correct amount on my friend's card. The issue with this is that there are fees for using your card abroad, meaning that I ultimately ended up around £20 worse off for no reason due to this error (as my friend then had to complete the transaction again for the deposit/city tax) We also noticed that one of the bottles of water in the minibar had been opened and used/not replaced which we also highlighted to reception to ensure we wouldn't be charged for this ourselves. While the room was visually very nice, functionally there were a few things that could have been better - for example the bathroom door didn't seem to latch closed properly no matter what we did, so we just had to ensure it was pressed up against the doorframe as firmly as possible, the bed creaked quite loudly at times so we had to be careful when getting up in the night so we wouldn't disturb each other, and there were small reading lights just above the beds which would have been great, however they made a noticeable buzzing sound whenever they were switched on which made them unusable. While these things were inconvenient, the biggest issue was the noise. We were undisturbed by any outside noise or voices/music from other guests etc, however we were abruptly woken up at 7am after our first night by a startlingly loud banging noise. This continued throughout the morning (making us jump every time) and we quickly realised this was coming from other guests banging their doors shut, including those immediately next to us (we struggled to get ours closed properly at times too) - as we were only staying for 3 nights we didn't want to waste time moving rooms, especially as it seemed this was happening along the entire hall on our floor, however I haven't seen other reviews mentioning this so it may have been particularly worse where we were situated (room 606). This continued on our 2nd and 3rd mornings as well (thankfully I brought ear plugs with me) Overall our stay was fine for 3 nights, but not worth the hype - I'd trade in the record player for some peace & quiet any day!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Dear reviewer_2209, I am very grateful for you sharing all this. You have explained in great detail everything you have experienced and this really helps improving our service. Just to let you know, if your neighbors are too loud we really like to help shushing the situation. We really like you to enjoy your vacation of course! Kind regards,
Read more
Sarah M wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The service we experienced was off the scale brilliant.The staff were very welcoming and friendly and were welcome to share knowledge about local activities and places to eat.Also when we arrived they took time to find to rooms near each other which was no problem .Also the hotel is brillant it is up to date with arcade games and pingpong and pool and the elevators that include disco and karaoke. The rooms are a perfect size with a luxurious shower and a very comfy bed and a brillant view. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!❤️❤️❤️
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: High up room for a good view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Hi S Mead, Thank you so much for your great review! Which song was your favourite in the Karaoke Lift? Looking forward welcoming you again Kind regards, Pieter-Jan Massoels, Hotelmanager
Read more
Sjier wrote a review Mar 2022
Tagerwilen, Switzerland15 contributions3 helpful votes
Lovely unique hotel. Lots of nice details. Well reached from the central station. Amazing views of the city from the city facing rooms. Only complaint... the sound of the case record players is terrible. But still a nice gimmick. Staff more the hostel type and standard. Not really befitting this kind of hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We will have a look on the sound of the record players, they should sound enjoyable Kind regards,
Read more
Claire W wrote a review Mar 2022
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at this hotel to celebrate his birthday. It’s such a wonderful place. The check in was straight forward and efficient. We arrived early and we’re able to get into our room pretty much straight away. Prior to arriving we had to rearrange our travel dates due to storms at home and in Amsterdam, this was a really easy process, and communication back and forth was great. The rooms are very stylish and comfortable, and the lifts are lots of fun. Every staff member we encountered was super friendly. The location of the hotel is great. From central station you need to head to ferry point F3. There are 2 ferries running back and forth all day and night (these are FOC). Once over the river the hotel is right there 👍🏼 We went up to the Lookout which was at discounted price for hotel guests (€12pp). The views were fantastic and the lift was fun. But I’m glad we had a discounted rate because otherwise I think it’s quite pricey for what you get if that makes sense. We didn’t try the swing, it was a bit windy 🙈 All in all, we had a fantastic stay at this hotel and I would 100% recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Mar 7, 2022
Wow Claire! Thank you! You said it all! Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
Read more
yvarvanachthoven wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Truely a wonderful night spent at an excellent hotel. Extremely friendly, helpful staff who went the extra mile for us to ensure we enjoyed our night and were made to feel special. Would recommend this to everyone!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Ah Yvar, we are so happy to hear that! At Sir Adam, you're definitely in the right place to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for sharing that with us. Kind regards, Pieter-Jan Massoels,
Read more
SolarPoweredDave wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom40 contributions21 helpful votes
We (a family of four - children aged 12 and 9) have just spent four days in Amsterdam, staying at the Sir Adam hotel. We really enjoyed our stay - the quirky, music-themed decor was fun and everyone loved the guitars on the walls, record players in each room, vinyl library in reception, denim robes and novelty lifts (karaoke, disco etc). Staff were all really friendly and helpful. The Butcher Social club on the ground floor is a great, flexible space with cool lights and views across the river, catering equally for lazy breakfasts, relaxing afternoon ping pong and a more buzzing atmosphere in the evening for drinks and food. For our family, the 'Sir Residence' was perfect, two rooms with connecting corridor meaning some separation/independence for the kids and plenty of space to spread out. Full height windows provide lots of light and views across north Amsterdam. Whilst on the north side of the river, the hotel is really handy for Amsterdam Centraal station - the free ferries across the IJ run constantly and provide a quick, simple connection to the rest of the city. Would definitely recommend and looking forward to trying other 'Sir' hotels in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Hi Dave, Wow, it is so nice to read about your experience! Thank you, for spending the time to decribe it in such detail! We are looking forward welcoming you back as well! Kind regards, Pieter-Jan Massoels, Hotel Manager
Read more
Alice06110 wrote a review Jan 2022
Le Cannet, France6 contributions
We booked 3 rooms for 3 nights. The hotel rooms are beautiful and we loved the decoration. The pillows of 2 rooms were too thick, but when we asked for smaller pillows, the reception brought us some. The location is ideal, just behind the railway station and close to the city center. The receptionists were very kind and helpful, but it took quite some time to check-in and check-out even though we were the only ones at the reception. Apparently the receptionists were hired recently and not yet completely familiar with the check-in/check out procedures. Great cocktails at the restaurant the Butchers downstairs!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Jan 7, 2022
Hi Alicee06110! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and your fellow travelers. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you at our property and indeed we have an ideal location with a beautifully decorated rooms. Our team does their utmost to assist you, our guests, as best as they possibly can so thank you for your wonderful words regarding or kind and helpful team; we very much appreciate it. We can't wait to see you again soon for another rocking stay! Kindest regards, Pieter-Jan Massoels Hotel Manager
Read more
Armin Boehm wrote a review Dec 2021
Salt Lake City, Utah1 contribution
I recently stayed at the Sir Adam Hotel for an extended time, and had the very best experience. The high service standard, professionalism and friendliness of everybody at the reception is exceptional. The rooms are very clean. The hotel design and features give it a great styling character. I even had a Gibson Les Paul guitar on the wall of my room. There was a record player in my room and I could select my most favorable records in the lobby library. I also want to give a shout out to the most friendliest personnel of the The Butcher Social Club, which is a great combination of restaurant, bar and social lounge. Go for the Granola in the morning, or have a bunless burger, it is worth it. Watching the F1 final race of the season on a big screen at the Butcher was just another highlight. Being located so close to Central Station makes it easy to access and explore the city center.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Dec 25, 2021
Hi Oberaurach! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow travellers! We truly appreciate your review and are overwhelmed to learn that you found everything perfect! We are happy that you enjoyed our records and electric guitar! We can't wait to welcome you back for another rocking stay! Happy holidays! Kindest regards, Pieter-Jan Massoels Hotel Manager
Read more
yMiHere wrote a review Dec 2021
Tel Aviv, Israel96 contributions61 helpful votes
Loved the music, loved the staff. Such a wonderful location and I had a room overlooking the waterfront, it was so much fun to put on a record and dive into this place. I had a great time in the restaurant area, worked in the working zone with my laptop... just bliss.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get a waterfront room :) worth the extra $
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pieter-Jan Massoels, General Manager at Sir Adam Hotel
Responded Dec 21, 2021
Greetings Yelephant! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow travellers! We truly appreciate your review and are overwhelmedto learn that you found everything perfect! We are happy that you got to play some record and boogie the night away! We can't wait to welcome you back for another rocking stay! Kindest regards, Pieter-Jan Massoels Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamNoordelijke IJ-oevers / Overhoeks / Amsterdam North / Oud Noord
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sir Adam Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sir Adam Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Centraal Station (0.3 miles), A'dam Lookout (0.01 miles), and EYE Film Institute Netherlands (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sir Adam Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sir Adam Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sir Adam Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sir Adam Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sir Adam Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moon, Café ONS, and Eye.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sir Adam Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sir Adam Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sir Adam Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sir Adam Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Sir Adam Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (1.0 miles), Concertgebouw (2.2 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (1.1 miles).